We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Father’s Day lunch”
Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #1 of 24 Restaurants in Henfield
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Country lane Pub serving Modern European and English cuisine with an Brazilian twist using locally sourced ingredients freshly cooked daily and also some of our own produce from our vegetable patch. Fine selection of local and world lagers, ales, spirits and wines. Everything we do is simple and unpretentious, we even bake our own bread daily! Our aim is to provide all of our customers with an unique experience by offering excellent food and service in a friendly, relaxed environment and make everyone's visit worthwhile.
Restaurant details
Description: Country lane Pub serving Modern European and English cuisine with an Brazilian twist using locally sourced ingredients freshly cooked daily and also some of our own produce from our vegetable patch. Fine selection of local and world lagers, ales, spirits and wines. Everything we do is simple and unpretentious, we even bake our own bread daily! Our aim is to provide all of our customers with an unique experience by offering excellent food and service in a friendly, relaxed environment and make everyone's visit worthwhile.
Reviewed 19 June 2023

My wife booked a table for 4 for Father’s Day lunch. We also had our two small children.
The landlord & landlady were so friendly & I even got a token Father’s Day present which was a nice touch.
I had a lovely pint of Harvey’s & had fantastic roast beef dinner. The food was amazing & one of the best roasts I have had in a long while.
I couldn’t fault the food & the kids loved theirs too.
The young girls doing the table service were so lovely. They were polite, friendly & attentive. They checked to make sure we were ok & I wasn’t ever left waiting for anything.
The kids play area in the beer garden was great too.
It really made a great Father’s Day & I cannot thank all the staff at Wheatsheaf enough.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank 939bradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2023 via mobile

I've given this pub 2 visits, and both have been a total disappointment.
Last year, we were on a camping trip nearby and popped by for drinks and on the off chance of some food. We were told that we should have prebooked and could sit in the garden but only for 30 minutes.
This year, we planned ahead, booked a table, and turned up with plenty of time to spare. We were seated at a table on uneven ground with mismatched seats, dirty napkins,cutlery on the floor, and 2 tables of different heights and no mention of a high chair despite us having 1 small child. The waitress who served us didn't seem pleased to be there, and when we did approach her for different seats or to take our order, we were advised she takes drink orders only. The food was overpriced and underwhelming! We decided this wasn't the place for us, so we asked for the bill early and were left a considerable amount of time, despite us saying we were paying by card when the bill arrived. The children's play area was unsafe and in serious need of an overhaul.

We won't be returning or recommending !

Date of visit: June 2023
1  Thank travellingtrio2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2023

The worst pub I’ve ever been in .. food was terrible the whole place felt dirty toilets were disgusting ..
however the landlord was helpful as very hard to get a taxi he did help us otherwise would of been stranded .. also must say photos on website did not match what we experienced would not go back there

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank margaret r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nilton Campos, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2023

Sorry you felt let down. You send your fish back because it wasn't cooked in the middle and we cooked another one. The manager went back to ask if everything was okay and the response was "great thank you ". As for the toilet, the man's one got broken that night and we had no alternative but to turn the ladies into a mixed one...just an emergency, not pleasant to anyone involved! As for the pictures, it's like the pub; no difference, I don't know why you think they are different!. As for the place been dirty, we open all day Saturday and it can get messy by the end of a busy day. You had an opportunity to rise any issue when the manager went back to check on your table and after all the service and attention you received you decide instead to raise it here which it's to late for us to rectify any issue. We did the best we could with the information we had at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2023

Sunday lunch the best in the area m. Beef and lump are the bes. The roast potatoes are incredible. Amazing meal

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunshine209826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 May 2023

Turned up for my sister's 77th birthday. With two bored teenagers was expecting the worst but the service and food made up for that, The food was fabulous and the attention of the waitress really great. The attention to my very fussy grandchild by the lady in charge was so good. She seemed to realize there was a bit of a problem and I will always remember her sympathetic attitude to this. She is to be congratulated on her patience. The service and food were great and we sat out in the delightful garden. A really great meal and service.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Henfield, West Sussex
Henfield, West Sussex
 
Henfield, West Sussex
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.