We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Henfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A charming 16th Century coaching inn within the heart of picturesque Henfield. Offering traditional home-cooked food, A fantastic selection of beers and wines, and stunning log fires. Children and dogs are welcome.
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

If there’s one thing better than the food here, it’s the staff!!! Come for the pan haggerty (it’s basically potatoes baked in egg and onion - but is nice) and stay for the people who work here. So helpful and always smiling.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank thehonesttravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2018

Met my cousin for a meal early evening. Staff were very attentive and polite, meal was very good, large portions, I couldn't manage all mine. Set menu was excellent value, and overall was very good.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 480John_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Arriving a little early for coffee prior to a guided walk around Henfield we were greeted warmly and coffee/tea/hot chocolate orders were taken and delivered in such a pleasant and efficient way. We deliberated over the menu for lunch - so many tempting things to choose from - and our orders placed. On our return from a most interesting walk we were shown into a lovely light room where we were seated all together around a large table, all set and ready for our arrival. Our pre-ordered lunches were served without delay and soon there a lot of empty plates! Dithering over the scrumptious sounding pan haggerty I plumped for a starter as I was eating later. However, my neighbour did succumb so I just had to try it and, boy, it was so, so scrummy. On our next visit to Henfield we will definitely make a point of calling in to the White Hart. Welcome, service and food all just spot on. Thank you so much.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We popped in on the way from a walk around Devils Dyke.
The pub was quite busy but didn’t feel it.
The staff were absolutely lovely and friendly. They were helping guests of all ages with their requests.
The tuna melt was delicious. Rustic bread with chunks of tuna. Not your average pub smooth offering.
The ploughman’s was just as good. Tasty cheddar and ham, with warm ciabatta, salad and pickles.
Overall a great relaxing lunch.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank CoxClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

We popped in today on a very wet Sunday and were told that they weren’t accepting walk ins. We were really disappointed as we were in a holiday cottage for the weekend and really wanted to try this local pub.
The girl behind the bar spoke with a gentleman who said yes they could and they found us a table.
It was very busy but the service was excellent. We ordered the fish and chips and it was huge and cooked perfectly.
After we finished our food we heard a band and noticed there was a jazz band playing the other end of the pub. They were fantastic.
A lovely pub with a nice homely atmosphere with great service.

Date of visit: August 2018
2  Thank joannabH3686DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Henfield, West Sussex
Henfield, West Sussex
 
Henfield, West Sussex
 
Henfield, West Sussex
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing