We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of No.1 The Laurels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No.1 The Laurels
Ranked #1 of 3 Henfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We planned a weekend away at Brighton, but found Hotels in Brighton very expensive, however this was a blessing in disguise. The village of Henfield and The Laurels is a wonderful place to relax and spend time. We found it was close to Brighton, Devils Dyke and Lewes which were are all fantastic places to visit. If you are looking for a place to eat nearby, then I would definitely recommend The White Hart, which is a 2 minute walk from The Laurels and one of the best restaraunts I have ever been to. We weren´t expecting the B&B and it´s location to be perfect, but it turned out to be the highlight of our visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for No.1 The Laurels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

We booked this B&B because all the Brighton hotels were uber greedy during the Jubilee weekend, and we refused to pay double for my normal b'day treat back to my old hometown. Glad we did, the house is lovely and the owner even more so, kind, friendly and didnt mind my partner decorating the room with decorations for my 40th either!!
Cant comment on brekkie as we are never hungry til lunch, but I bet it was good as the rest of the place. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Hi just a quick review, I recently stayed at this B&B whilst on business in the area. It was easy enough to find and very close to the town. The town offers nice areas to go for a quiet evening stroll after work. I was most impressed by the owners attention to detail and genuine interest in ensuring his guests have a comfortable stay, and indeed by the excellent cooked breakfast. I also agree having free fast WIFI was a bonus too. I wish the proprietor much success and will definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dingsbums2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I don't often like staying in B&Bs, but this one was just about perfect. I had the small single room, but the attention to detail in the room and associated bathroom (towelling robe supplied - lovely touch) meant I felt completely at home. A good standard of cleanliness throughout, and the bed was really comfortable. The real highlights for me were the availability of WiFi, the comfy chair in the bedroom, and the truly excellent cooked breakfast. The Proprietor, Malcolm, is a congenial host, helpful and informative. I would definitel stay at 1The Laurels again, and recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

very clean and comfortable. will definately stay again. excellent full english breakfast so much of it i couldn.t eat it all and piping hot which makes a pleasant change. nice quiet location. owner very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: i chose the double ensuit
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joevans190761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

A wonderful place to stay. My sat nav found it with no problem at all even though it is tucked away a little bit.
The room I had was a single room but was more than adequately furnished. The room is not ensuite but this does not detract from it at all as you have a private bathroom immediately opposite the bedroom itself. The bathroom was also fully user friendly with everything you need from washing, showering or having a bath. The hot water is hot and comes out at a rapid rate of knots so having a shower is a pleasure especially after a long tiresome day.
Tea making facilities were good with a wide selection to choose from, together with biscuits and a chocolate bar which was a nice touch.
The bed was so good I cannot remember falling asleep, it was nice to wake up to the sound of birds singing and the smell of a cooked breakfast wafting up the stairs. The breakfast was delicious and was cooked as required, with other alternatives available.
I can quite honestly say this was the best B and B I have stayed in and Malcolm the owner was a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teejayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

I stayed overnight on the way to visit friends - I got a friendly phone call giving directions and the room was just what I needed. Really enjoyed the breakfast, and the good conversation and friendly approach of the owner Malcolm. Thanks!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Cath7000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henfield
0.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Henfield
104 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Hickstead Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Old Tollgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Castle Inn Hotel
The Castle Inn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bramber
370 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Hickstead
The Hickstead
#1 of 1 in Bolney
489 reviews
5.7 mi away
South Lodge Hotel
South Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lower Beeding
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No.1 The Laurels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No.1 The Laurels

Address: No. 1 The Laurels | Martyn Close, Henfield BN5 9RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Henfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Henfield
Price Range: £48 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No.1 The Laurels 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your No.1 The Laurels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No.1 The Laurels Henfield, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing