We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Second visit just as wonderful as our first time...”
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Private Pool in the Rain Forest Living Area, with AC, Free WIFI, HDTV
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
233 reviews
Private Pool with a View plus BBQ, Fridge, Full Bathroom
Private Pool in the Rain Forest
Living Area, with AC, Free WIFI, HDTV
Kitchen with full-size fridge, dishwasher, stove/oven, AC, WIFI
Indoor Dining Area
Kitchen, with full-size fridge, stove/oven, dishwasher, AC, WIFI
Enjoy Fresh Fruit from our Property Year-round
Master Bedroom, with king bed & ensuite bathroom
Master Bedroom with king bed, AC, Ceiling Fan
Master Bedroom
Master Suite
Master Bath, with huge Rainfall Shower
Second bedroom with Queen bed, ceiling fan, AC
Second bedroom with Queen bed, ceiling fan, AC
Third bedroom with 2 Twin bed, AC, ceiling fan, ensuite bathroom
Third bedroom with 2 Twin bed, AC, ceiling fan, ensuite bathroom
Veranda with views toward the Atlantic Ocean
Private Veranda
Veranda, perfect for breakfast, drinks, or curling up with a good book
Private Swimming Pool
Enjoy a BBQ Poolside
Swim in Our Rainforest
Our Location, in the Foothills of El Yunque National Forest
Located in the Foothills of El Yunque National Forest
View from Veranda, after the rain
View from Veranda
Sunset, viewed from the Veranda
Eco-friendly solar panels
Solar System providing 94% of our electrical needs
A Coqui Frog -- our namesake
Baby Coqui frog on a quarter
Dragon Fruit flower in our garden
Coffee growing in our garden
Fresh fruit bowl of home-grown goodies
After the rain, above our swimming pool
San Pedrito / PR Tody (Todus mexicanus)
PR Lizard Cuckoo (Coccyzus vieilloti)
Antillean Mango Hummingbird (Anthracothorax dominicus)
Bananquit (Coereba flaveola)
Sunset colors
View from the Veranda
Sunset, viewed from the Veranda
Enjoy Hiking in El Yunque National Forest
Nearby Beach in Luquillo
Nearby Beach in Luquillo
Balneario Monserrate in Luquillo
Swim with sea turtles
Fly on a Zipline Nearby
Enjoy Flyboard nearby in Luquillo
Hike nearby in El Yunque National Forest
Cool off nearby in El Yunque National Forest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Rio Grande, Puerto Rico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 233 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Road27908...
1 review
“Second visit just as wonderful as our first time visit”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The location is both ideal for either sitting by the pool enjoying the beautiful grounds and rain forest energy or going out "adventuring" to other parts of the island. Our first visit was "an adventure a day" type of vacation, whereas, our return visit was more about R&R and being content with the spectacular view from our veranda. Ray and Gwen are the consummate hosts, more than generous with their time and expertise, yet allowing us private alone time. Can't wait to go back, already miss the Coqui night sounds and having morning coffee looking out at the rain forest!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jay D
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Lots of amenities and good location for us”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I believe this apartment can only be rented for a week at a time, but I could be wrong about that. At any rate, we checked in April 12 and left April 18 as it was in El Yunque, maybe 8 minutes away driving time. The process was easy and I ended up paying on their website as it was easier for me. Next, I was sent a few emails about the rental agreement and payment. I paid a $250 security deposit and some of the rent to hold the place. A few months later I sent a check for the final amount which I think was about $1500. I believe it was $195 a night.

We arrived in PR and I plugged in the GPS coordinates that were posted on the website. It led me exactly to the place. It was past 3pm check-in and we got in around 9pm or so. I called him because there was a gate and we didn't know how to get in, but it started to open as I was calling the number. We hopped out and met Ray. I don't think I ever saw Gwen, but the cool thing is they have a fabulous blog that has wonderful insight into activities, food, etc.

Upon entering the place, we had to make sure to close the outside gate with a remote and close the doors - two of them to keep insects and animals out. They have 7 dogs or so, but I rarely ever heard them. We stepped into the living room which had a TV and DVDs - to the left is the kitchen which had lots of wonderful goodies (banana bread, chips, how to make a pina colada, condiments in the fridge, sink, plenty of cabinets, silverware, toaster, oven, microwave - sorry no convection oven - and a dishwasher. Wifi password is there in the kitchen area. Ray took the time to explain a few things to us since we had been up since 4am! To the left of the kitchen is small bedroom and straight in front of the kitchen is one bathroom to the right. As we continued towards the master bedroom we saw dryer and washing machine, which we used twice while we were there. There was some laundry soap, so bring your own if you don't want to use chemical brands. The master bedroom is nice and the bathroom is beautiful. The bed itself is not like ours - we own a Sleep To Live mattress - this one was hard, but I didn't care. I was just there to sleep as we were busy, busy, busy with our itinerary. As a matter of fact, we were so busy we never even checked out any of the trails on their home site or the pool. I was able to go on the back porch and check out the view of the sun setting once.

I would highly recommend this place and I would most definitely come back again. If the wi-fi goes off, simply unplug it and plug back in. I have zero complaints about this place. If going to El Yunque, when you are coming out take a right and that will take you to the National Park. Small roads and lots of pot holes so be alert. You'll see a sign that you are entering the park and go past the gate (it's not a main entrance - more of a side entrance). Then choose to go up or down. Down led us to a visitor center where you have to pay $4 to get in (we did not pay) and the main entrance, when we went up we saw many waterfalls and waterfall trails. I recommend Juan Diego waterfalls. Thank you Ray for being a wonderful host and allowing us to come and go as we please (if we didn't see you much!) We hope to come back some day perhaps with our daughter!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tkgreco
Washington Township, New Jersey
1 review
“Outstanding Vacation Rental”
Reviewed 11 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Pictures do not do Coqui's Hideaway justice. Our week there was incredible - Gwen and Ray have set a high standard for other rentals to follow. Each day began with coffee on the veranda while overlooking the rainforest and ended with our family spending time by the pool - enjoying more incredible views of the Puerto Rican countryside. They have made sure you everything you need - a beautiful setting, lots of information for restaurants and excursions all over Puerto Rico, and a clean rental with plenty of room for your family. Gwen and Ray's recommendations for food, day trips, and shopping were spot on - follow their advice. We hope to return soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Piece of heaven peace of mind”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ray and Gwen have thought of everything! The house is equipped with everything you could possibly need for your home away from home. They also provide all the information you could possibly need for planning your trip. They go above and beyond. The house and grounds are so well kept and absolutely beautiful! We all felt at home at the Coqui's Hideaway! We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacul4
Dubuque, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base for family adventures”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed with our two boys (5 and 8) on our first family trip beyond the Midwest. Coquis's HIdeaway provided a relaxing, quiet place to relax (and nap) between exploring the island. The accommodations, and our hosts, exceeded our expectations. We hope to return soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dm00re21
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mountain retreat with ocean views!”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Great place, cooler than down on the coast....we loved the welcome basket with local snacks (and pina colada materials!) and the home was comfortable and well equipped. You can tell that the owners have put much time and effort into the details here and they've anticipated anything you might need to make your stay more comfortable. Great and easy access to El Yunque and the gorgeous beaches down at Luquillo and Fajardo. The grounds are perfection with stunning tropical trees and exotic flowers to see.... Lots of fun birds to watch as well, we saw hummingbirds, bananaquits, and even a lizard cookoo!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmheisler
Jamesville, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Coqui's Hideaway--A very special place to stay close to the rain forest in Puerto Rico”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in March 2016

Coqui's Hideaway presents a unique opportunity to experience rural Puerto Rico in a beautiful setting in the foothills of the mountains that contain El Yunque National Forest. There is just one very comfortable unit that can be rented as a two-bedroom, two-bath unit or a three bedroom unit, which has all the kitchen and housekeeping equipment you may need, including dishwasher, clothes washer and dryer, full-size refrigerator, dishes, etc. just like home. On the spacious veranda you can dine at the large table while enjoying the view of the beautiful grounds and the countryside all the way to the ocean in the distance. The swimming pool is private and has a covered area to relax in the shade on beach chairs or in the hammock, while your cold ones wait in the pool-side frig. Nearby is a bathroom with shower. The pool area also has a great view. Best of all are the proprietors Ray and Gwenn who not only keep everything looking beautiful, and will happily share their considerable knowledge about the unique plants that cover the 9-acre property, but also the many activities and sights throughout Puerto Rico. My wife and I have stayed at Coqui's Hideaway for at least five days in each of the last 5 years, and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing