We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family vacation...”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Beautiful hotel, grounds, excellent service and fantastic food. We stayed over the Thanksgiving week, and they had activities every night. The lighting of the tree was so much fun, with live music, drinks, cookies etc. The decorations were beautiful. We had 2 rooms, with beautiful views, my three kids enjoyed themselves, my hubby and father had a great time at the Casino and I truly loved the Spa... Something for everyone! We tried Marbella for breakfast (a bit pricey for what you get) and Shimas... Loved loved loved! We stayed 5 days and after the first breakfast at the hotel, we asked for recommendations to the Concierge on a local place to go for breakfast each morning. We tried a local bakery called "La Familia" very close, although not walking distance. Soo good! Very inexpensive and freshly baked breads and pastries. A plate of scramble eggs (or fried eggs) ham and local bread was $2.75. We also tried "Antojitos Puertorriquenos" a restaurant right at the entrance of the road leading to the hotel. Very cute place, clean and with a lot of variety of local cuisine. Prices are mid-range...$9-$25 per plate... The hotel is sort of secluded from everything and if you dont have a car or if you just want to chill, you will find everything you need in there, but you will pay a premium for it... The resort fee includes 2 bottles of water per stay, and if you want to buy additional bottles, prepare to pay $4 a pop. We are the adventurous kind, so we ventured out of the hotel, and rented a car for our stay. We visited Fajardo (next door town) and went for dinner to The Metropol, great cuban food at great prices! Ponderosa steak house is also in Fajardo, offering a buffet style restaurant, with steaks, seafood and local dishes. You dont want to miss Luquillo area, with one of the most beautiful, clean, beaches in the USA, and since you are there you need to try "The Kioskos" a row of small/locally owned kiosks featuring fresh seafood, cod fritters, turnovers etc... Lots of fried but delicious snacks...Going back to the hotel, it is under renovation right now, with 200 rooms out of inventory... however we didnt see anything or were interrupted by noise or such... Is true that our rooms were not renovated and perhaps the furniture was a bit tired, however, they were very clean, good service, well appointed and everything worked in order. No complaints really! The common areas (lobby, pool, entrance, grounds) were absolutely beautiful and well maintained. We got great service from everyone! Front Desk, Concierge, Car rental desk, restaurants and room service! Everyone was very helpful, friendly and courteous. We will definitely return someday!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Ocean View Double rooms, and they were spacious and with a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Worldhopper1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our resort. We are elated that you thoroughly enjoyed your vacation!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon, so that we may treat you once again to a flawless vacation experience.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Kind regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,173
    2,384
    1,376
    699
    383
See reviews for
2,465
2,347
113
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,316)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toa Baja
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The Wyndham Hotel was not a great experience for vacation, the hotel needs to be remodel in order to compete with other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Edgardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at the resort. Your review is very disappointing for our team since we work continuously to make sure our guests feel valued and appreciated during each of their stays. Although in your review is not clear the issue you encounter with the staff, I understand you are very frustrated with the service. On behalf of the entire team, I sincerely apologize if your expectations were not met.


We realize that our property is ready for a refresh and our modest rates reflect this. I would like to mention plans are underway for the resort that will address and improve the areas you have mentioned.


Please give us an opportunity to make things right by you I guarantee you will receive a perfect service.


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, CO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This resort needs to decide what they want to be....I think they would be better served as an all-inclusive resort. I think the most disappointing thing was how unfriendly some of the staff was. We spent a ton of money on this trip (my sister was getting married) and I felt the least that people could do was smile and be friendly? The food overall was okay....pricey for what you get. We had one night where we ordered sandwiches as the lobby bar and over an hour later our food wasn't there. Our friends were waiting on us so we told them just to cancel it.....they apologized, but offered us a free round of drinks? We did have a fabulous meal at Palio and it was worth it. The food and service was fantastic in Palio.

The beach is beautiful at this resort. That was by far, the highlight of our trip. I thought some of the bartenders at the Tiki Bar were the rudest people we ran into. Not friendly at all.

My Husband and I agreed that we would not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjcarricato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay.


We are pleased that you enjoyed our beach and a delicious dinner at Palio Restaurant.


We do apologize however, regarding your disappointment with various service issues. This is certainly not indicative of an uncompromising experience and we have taken the liberty of sharing your comments with the appropriate departments.


We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon, so that we may treat you to a flawless vacation experience next time.


Thank you for the gift of feedback, and the opportunity to respond to your concerns.


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel smelled like mold. There were actually mold spots all over our bathroom door. It also smelled of sewer gas.

Even the closets and dresser smelled bad. My clothes smelled horrible from using the dresser and closet.

The rooms were also very outdated. So, I felt like it was not worth the money we spent on the room.

The actual resort area (pool, grounds, lobby) were very well maintained. The staff was excellent and very helpful.

Overall, we were disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alg1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay with us. I am certainly aware of some items reported on your review and I apologize on behalf of the associates and understand how you feel. However I would like to mention some plans are underway for the resort that address some of the areas you mention that appear to need improvements.


I hope you can accept our sincere apologies and give us an opportunity to come visit us again.


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We were there 6 nights. The first night (a Sunday) at Marbella the service was HORRIBLE. Took an hour just to get the kids meals.
The kids club was only okay. They let them watch a lot of TV. They had a PG-13 movie playing when we dropped off our kids at 6pm. When the arrows started flying and the bodies started dropping, I asked if we could change the movie as this wasn't appropriate for a 4 or 7 year old.
It took several minutes for the hot water to come in our master bathroom, we had an Atlantic suite with 2 bathrooms.
The rooms were aging a bit, but were otherwise nice.
The beach is nice but the water is rough as it's the Atlantic side of the island, as opposed to the Caribbean.
Overall, it's a nice resort with lots of different restaurants (the sushi, Italian, and iguana pub were great), a great pool area, great access to beach, but was showing a few signs of aging.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our hotel. We are delighted that you were pleased with the location, pools and restaurants especially. However we are apologetic for the areas where we fell short. Once we are made aware of any dissatisfaction we make every effort to resolve the problem immediately and/or make amends in some way.


We will continue to improve and make every effort to ensure that our guests are completely satisfied with their stay with us. We hope that in future you will decide to stay with us once again in an effort to provide you with a perfect stay.


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
3.2 mi away
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing