We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from everyone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Recently there for a meeting. It's a beautiful place as you would expect but what stood out for me was the friendliness of staff - virtually everyone! I was also glad that the staff was bilingual. I would certainly go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astortrek1649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of the entire team thank you for taking the time to tell us about your overall experience during your visit. We truly appreciate having an opportunity to improve and become the best hotel possible.

I am glad to know that the highlight of your stay with us was the interaction with the team. I believe without a doubt that the team is what makes us special and a great success.

We look forward to your next visit!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,951 - 2,957 of 7,253 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank ErikR810
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Congratulations on upgrade by Wyndham at Rio Mar Grand. Personnel very polite, accomodating, newly renovated rooms a refreshing change. Have stayed at Rio Mar many times over past 15 years. This year one of the best. Special thanks to Juan in breakfast dining area, Marabella. One of your best ambassadors. People like Juan keep the place going and keep vacationers coming back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank FredK944
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The food was ridiculously below par. Definitely not 4 star quality. Too many people, loud, obnoxious overweight tourists.Wish we could get our money back. Everything was so expensive. Do yourself a favor if you have an ounce of class, stay ANYWHERE else.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nmtrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. As we surely appreciate your comments regarding our Food and Beverage option, the experience you describe is not typical or consistent with the produce and service we deliver. We are very proud of the restaurants and work very hard to deliver on our guests’ expectations.

Regarding your opinion about the service we are truly sorry. It is disappointing when we don't meet expectations and I can assure you this is not the norm. Our scores are consistently high compared to other properties. Even more, every year we are recipients of awards like Gold Key, Pinnacle, and Triple A, among others which are given to hotels who provide high level of service.

I hope you give us another chance and visit us again in the near future.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at the Rio Mar and while it was a last choice in destinations we were not disappointed. In fact, we were quite blown away by the splendor/beauty of the resort. Although the rooms were outdated and needed some remodeling (which they are currently in the process of performing) we enjoyed all that was offered at this location. The staff was also very courteous and welcomed us with warm smiles throughout the property. Richard at the Lobby Bar was one of our favorites.

I would recommend renting a car from San Juan so that you may do some shopping and exploring while visiting the resort. It saved us some pennies by loading up on snacks, beer/rum and bottled water which can get pretty expensive otherwise. Plan on visiting the El Yunque rainforest and make plans to snorkel about the many catamarans located in Fayardo. We went about the FunCat and had an awesome time.

We may return someday and look forward that trip. I suggest staying for a day or two in Old San Juan prior to relaxing at the Rio Mar. It is a great way to get a feel for the Puerto Rican culture.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay! Your compliments to our staff and especially Richard are appreciated. I'll make sure to share your comments with them.

On your next visit, make sure to try our two 18-hole championship golf courses or tennis facilities. I'm sure you'll have a GRAND time!

Thank you for your review.

Looking forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The rooms are a little dated, but otherwise fine. The staff was overwhelmingly excellent and consistently friendly and helpful. The restaurants varied from good to very good, but not completely top notch. The major drawback was that the hotel wifi was very poor and often nonexistent even when signed on. This is a big issue at a business meeting. The outside spaces, pool, cabanas, etc. were wonderful. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgbasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are glad you enjoyed the grounds, restaurants, pool, cabanas and the friendly service of our staff. We apologize for the Wi-Fi inconvenience. Please, rest assured that your concern has been relayed to upper management and we have followed up with the service provider to ensure such a situation does not recur.

We look forward to your next visit!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
8.6 mi away
The Fajardo Inn
The Fajardo Inn
#3 of 4 in Fajardo
1,001 reviews
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
79.9 mi away
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
InterContinental San Juan
InterContinental San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
2,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: £139 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing