We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Not Be Returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will Not Be Returning”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had family of eight and stayed on 5th floor of newly remodeled rooms. The following are my pros and cons:
Pros
Grounds were very nice including pool
Employees were very polite and nice
The rooms we stayed in were newly updated
Hotel was convenient to rainforest, San juan, and catamaran tour
Fun to have a casino
Cons:
Food was not worth the high prices at all
Construction noise was totally ridiculous (busting tile at 9:00am) meetings in adjoining room at 8:15am with very loud inconsiderate workers) which hotel manager should not have even allowed.
The hotel pretty much shuts down at 7:00pm with nothing for older teens or twenty-something's to do.
No refrigerators in rooms unless you pay 10 dollars a day. This is done for one reason only, so you are forced to spend more money.
No coolers allowed in rooms they sent security guard up to our room! This I felt was totally insane.
They charge you parking even when you self park as a hotel guest. Once again, ridiculous!
Rude security outside
I believe construction could be handled better by not putting guest on the floor below the working. Not one to complain but this was more than just a little noise.

Puerto Rico needs all inclusive resorts

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else until renovations are complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your opinion is poor regarding your stay. Our staff works really hard to deliver a great level of service and usually we have a high percentage of guests with good experiences. It is disappointing when we don't meet expectations.

I do look forward to having a second chance to show how much we value you as a guest.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,141
    2,367
    1,371
    698
    378
See reviews for
2,437
2,328
110
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed at the Wyndham Grand Rio during the month of April with my family. The location isn't the most pleasant but once you walk into the hotel the lobby is marvelous. The rooms are ok, the bathrooms need updating.There are no refrigerators in the rooms so you'll be taking frequent trips to the ice machine down the hall. There are no vending machines. I suggest you request for an ocean view to know how the weather is on the beach because it changes frequently. The restaurants have great food but not much of a selection. They have a cafe by the casino which is where you will most likely be picking up food and snacks. Rent a car because if you want to leave the resort it's a drive to everywhere. Taxi's are extremely expensive. Renting a car is also economical because the gas prices are very low. Rent your car when purchasing airline tickets. The staff was wonderful and had many activities for children to do by the poolside. Try going to a local Walgreens because the prices will be much cheaper than in the hotel (ex: tanning oil, toiletries, snacks etc.).My overall stay was amazing. I had a great time with my family.

Room Tip: Ocean View is a must! It'll be the only way to know the weather by the beach because of how freq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully on your next visit, you'll be able to try our two championship golf courses, tennis courts or the spa.

Looking forward to providing you with excellent service once again!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Boston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've read a few negative reviews of this place due to ongoing construction and miscellaneous other minor complaints and it is beyond me what some people must expect out of life. We thought the place was fantastic. We had a room on the seventh floor in which we recieved notices all week that there may be some work (painting and pressure washing) on our balcony. It never happened but we weren't bothered by the prospect at all as there was too much to do to hang around in the room anyway. The staff was excellent, and the people at the concierge desk were very helpful despite the fact that we booked all of our own day trips. One night we wanted to do a kayak trip to Bioluminescant Bay in Fajardo and they were all booked up. The woman at the desk spent half of her lunch break helping us get a booking with another outfitter. (BTW, Bio Bay is a must see in either Fajardo or Vieques and fills up fast so RESERVE AHEAD!!). We rented a car so we had to pay for parking (another of those things I've read complaints of) Well look at it this way, if they didn't charge you extra the cost would simply be tacked onto a nights stay and no one would be the wiser. Also you had a choice of self parking which is only $15 a day or $20 for valet service which I think is fairly reasonable, especially since it is a parking garage. It is not like you had to take a hike out to the parking lot to get to your car, you just take the elevator down. The food on site is really good but a bit pricey as would be expected and if you have your own transportation there are plenty of local restaurants around the area were you can eat good and reasonably priced. In fact I strongly recommend "Metropol" in Fajardo, only 15 minutes away from the resort and directly off of the main road, Route 3. There you will also find some fast food places like KFC and McDonald's.
If you like the water as we do the beach is veery inviting and clean. There is a slight shore break which can be a little troublesome to small children and the elderly but it makes for some fantastic body surfing. The pools are nice and well kept, and one night a week they have a poolside movie for the kids, they call it a "Dive-in theater". I think the only major thing needed here is an all inclusive option.

Room Tip: All rooms called ocean front are merely ocean view but a better view than the ones labeled as such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to let me know about your recent stay with us.

From reading your notes I can see you definitely took advantage of some of our 11 restaurants, oceanfront pools, and pristine ocean in front of the hotel. We are much honored to have such assets and privileged oceanfront location by the El Yunque Rainforest and feel much honored to share them with our guests. It certainly fills us with great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and on behalf of our associates at the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar, we thank you once again for sharing and staying with us.

We look forward having the honor to serve you again in the near future!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Upon arriving at the resort after a long flight, the staff took care of us in every way. When we pulled in, they were eager to take our bags and get UA checked in. We booked through an airline travel site, and somehow the king bed request was not conveyed. With only two of us, it made no sense to sleep in two different beds on a honeymoon type vacation. Jose at the front desk promptly accommodated us, and actually upgraded us to a newly renovated ocean view room on the 5th floor. It was absolutely stunning.

The rooms are all redone with tile and beautiful finishings. Don't let the picky reviews sway you. This resort is beautiful. Now to the things that you might want to watch out for:

1. We had a room that was able to be an adjoining room. There was no buffer between the doors, and you could see light under the door and hear everything.

2. The restaurants at the resort are expensive, but not out of line with what you would expect at a resort of that caliber.

3. No refrigerator in your room means if you want something other than a $2.25 cup of soda or $5 or more alcoholic beverage, you will need to go and get a Styrofoam cooler and drinks of your own.

4. RENT A CAR. Unless you want to pay dearly for a cab ride or pay extra for transportation.The downside is that you pay $15 a day to park in the garage.

The pools and beach are beautiful, and the staff are absolutely amazing.More than likely you will see iguanas just walking the grounds. Overall, although I gave you my list of things to watch out for, this resort will definitely be on my short list of places to revisit in the future.

Overall it was a fantastic experience, and I was very sad to have to leave.

Thank you to the staff for making our stay incredibly enjoyable. The ocean view room is worth it. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

our stay at the rio mar was amazing!! its location is beautiful right on the beach! when we got to the resort the guy helping us check in (Josue?) was awesome! he upgraded us and got us an amazing room that we loved! the concierge staff was so helpful and friendly as well as everyone at the tiki bar and other resturaunts. out on the beach we went wind sailing with captain jake and had a great time! if you want to relax have a great time and an amazing view everyday then you need to stay here!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our resort. It gives us tremendous pleasure that our staff made you feel so welcome. I will share this wonderful review with the team; they enjoy knowing our guests have memorable experiences at our property.

We look forward to your next visit!

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We wanted a trip to Puerto Rico that shows the beauty of the island. With views of the Rainforest from our newly remodeled room or eating breakfast at Marabella's overlooking the ocean this place was amazing! The staff at the door were proper, security was so nice with a bite my child indured on a kayak trip to Bio Bay, and Wilford our server at Marbella's was astonishingly informative. Yes! There is construction but its a minor distraction that can be ignored. The Coqui that sing from dust to dawn is louder than the construction crews.

The crazy amount of speed bumps within the resort is nutty. Yes iguanas do wander around but its sit back relax your on vacation and its nature clashed with civilization.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We vacationed at the Wyndham Gran Rio Mar in May of 2014. The hotel is currently being renovated. Even though we stayed in a room that had not yet been renovated we were happy with the accommodations. The staff are attentive and customer service oriented and got us in touch with shuttles to the airport and several other tourist attractions. The hotel has breathtaking views, access to the beach, wonderful kids and adults only pool areas, a variety of dining options and a convenient store on site. The only thing missing was a refrigerator in our room. It would have been nice to be able to keep drinks cool.

Room Tip: Ask to for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natascha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your stay! We have every desire to address your needs and provide the best accommodations and solutions available; that is why, if requested, we provide refrigerators at a small cost. We do not have refrigerators in all rooms because for various reasons not all guests desire or require their use. As with any business like ours, the greatest advertisement we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It is my goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future. Again, I highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
22.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
17.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
20.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
8.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing