We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to a Wyndham resort experience in the future!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We are Wyndham owners and will return once 2-3 bedroom units are constructed. Service was pleasant though prices were a bit high for food and drinks. Location almost requires you to rent a vehicle, which are rather pricey whether you rent on site or before you go (we were quoted a rental price of $380 for a 4 day rental 3 mos before our arrival). $100 a day is held for incedentals, so be prepared for that. We look forward to another visit in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaime B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! I hope you decide to stay with us after the renovations are completed. Make sure to visit our website and sign-up for free for Wyndham Rewards, you can earn free stays!

Looking forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,682 - 2,688 of 7,249 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

Upon arrival, Yamaira at the front desk told us there were no renovated rooms available. However, she found us one on a high floor with a rainforest view, after some persuading. The rainforest view is nice, but the beach view is much better and there is no chance you will get a view of the parking lot. The room was clean, although our comforter had weird orange stains. One night, the maid service failed to provide fresh towels. The food is overpriced and not very tasty. Your best bet is to grab food from the bistro next to the casino. It is the best value. The breakfast croissants are delicious there. Tried the muffins on two different days and both times they were dry, and stale! The banana smoothies at the pool bar are delicious. $5 each (virgin) in about a 10oz plastic cup, though. There are two large pools and a decent-sized hot tub. One of the pools is (18+). The beach is steps away from the hotel. It is clean but it is public. The umbrellas, tables, and chairs are free to Wyndham guests, though. The water sports are basically a guy with a two jet skis, two kayaks, and two stand up boards. Everything except the bistro, the bar, and the casino shuts down at about 7PM. There is nothing to do at that point. The excursions are over-priced. We, a family of four, paid $80/each for a rainforest excursion when we could have just driven there and paid less than 5 bucks to get in. Rent a car and drive to where you want to go. I suggest Old San Juan, the rainforest, the Bacardi plant, and the bioluminescent bay. The car will also give you access to local food options and allow you to pick up things from the close by grocery store and Walgreens. As far as hotel staff, the front desk folks were terrible...particularly the guy. The beach guys were not too, bad. The pool staff was great.

Room Tip: Get a renovated room. Ask for a high floor so you can take photos from your balcony. Rainforest view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our goal as a team is to create memorable experiences for our guests. Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit!


GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We visited here in month of February from NYC, so the warm climate of Peurto Rico itself was a blessing from the snow storms and bad winter that we had this year.
The property is good and huge and very well maintained. It is very close to the El Yunque national forest. The property is a little off the highways, so if one has to find good dining options apart from what the hotel provided, it would be a bit difficult.
The hotel does have variety of dining options with various price ranges.
It was a family trip, and my 3 year old kid just loved the swimming pool and beach. They do have a few activities happening around the pool area.
However, the room that we got was a little disappointing with no view at all. There was a wall next to the window.
The rooms do need renovation as their look and feel is little old.

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea facing or pool facing view, so that you can sit and relax in balcony in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaitreyiS2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We apologize for the room inconvenience, but know that we are currently undergoing a renovation and I am sure you will be very pleased with the result.

We look forward to your next visit,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Rent the car at time of booking! They charge 75 per day and Valet parking Insist on keep your keys They take the cars out at night joy riding No night life boring! Split meals costly! we won't return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We apologize for your disappointment and will review your comments with the appropriate departments to make the necessary improvements.

Thank you for sharing your experience related to our restaurants. We are extremely proud of our culinary team and they provide high quality offering to our guests. Our menu items and related costs are consistent with those you would find at comparable resorts in the Caribbean. We receive many compliments and positive feedback due to excellent work done in our kitchens and dining rooms throughout our resort.

Thank you for the gift of feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
2  Thank Timothy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank iamasaint72
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
4.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
18.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
21.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
20.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar

Address: 6000 Rio Mar Boulevard, Rio Grande 00745-4661, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#2 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: £165 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between El Yunque Rainforest and a mile stretch of secluded beach, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa is Puerto Rico's most exotic beach, golf and spa resort destination. 500 magnificent acres with spectacular ocean, rainforest and lush tropical views serve as backdrops to 400 newly renovated guestrooms and suites and an exclusive renovated 48,000-sq.-ft. Oceanfront Conference Center. Located on the N.E. Ecological Corridor of Puerto Rico's shoreline, the Wyndham Grand Rio Mar is a haven for fun, sun and forging memorable experiences. The new guestrooms exude traditional Puerto Rican architecture and feature thoughtful indigenous touches. The resort boasts two championship golf courses & tennis center, Mandara spa, 10 lounges and restaurants with award-winning cuisine, an exciting casino, two nature reserves and a guest experience program that encompasses the beauty and nature of its magical surroundings. And since Puerto Rico is a US Commonwealth, no passports or visas are required for US Citizens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Mar Beach Resort And Spa, a Wyndham Grand Resort
Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa, a Wyndham Grand Hotel Rio Grande
Wyndham Rio Grande
Rio Del Mar Puerto Rico
Rio Grande Wyndham
Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Westin Rio Mar Puerto Rico
Wyndham El Yunque National Forest
El Yunque National Forest Wyndham
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing