We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$984
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Luquillo Sunrise Beach Inn(Luquillo)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$251
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$243
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$438
US$371
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Melia Coco Beach(Rio Grande)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,366)
Filter reviews
7,366 results
Traveller rating
2,400
2,447
1,417
708
394
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,400
2,447
1,417
708
394
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarbella restaurantiguana feedingpuerto ricoiguana pubtiki hutrainforest viewadult poolfamily poolrented a carold san juanocean suiteself parkinglobby barconcierge deskocean frontminute drivegreat beach
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,660 - 2,665 of 7,366 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I recently stayed at this venue for a convention. Currently undergoing renovations, the room I was assigned was certainly dated, with scuffed furniture. I had breakfast at the two venues available, good but not impressive, with the smaller coffee shop having too few choices.
The food provided for the convention dinners was definitely lacking. It arrived cold and not appealing at all.
Regarding the amenities, for a family it is great! There are pool areas for adults and a separate for children, with a water slide and attentive personnel watching over them. The beach area is very expansive, although the surf in the area was pretty rough. Beach loungers were available and the area was well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LornaIsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We support Trip Advisor because we think it is an outstanding communication vehicle for our resort.

First of all, thank you for your review and the gift of feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our beach and pool area.

As we surely appreciate your comments regarding our Food and Beverage options, the experience you describe is not typical or consistent with the produce and service we deliver. We are very proud of the restaurants and work very hard to deliver on our guests’ expectations.

I hope you decide to stay with us in the near future.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The resort itself is very nice, but secluded. We visited during the week and the place was devoid of night entertainment. We had hoped to listen to local music and do some dancing since we don't really do the beach or water activities. They should look at getting some music during the week, even if it's the piano bar or even a DJ playing in a ballroom or outside. The A/C in our room couldn't keep up with the humidity, so we had to turn it down to 68 and still had dampness on clothing and floor overnight. We had an earthquake at night during our stay. We had to call the front desk to find out if we were in danger. They should have some way to notify guests in case of events such as this. Overall, I would stay closer to Old San Juan on our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank BuckyDent1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the gift of feedback. Our ultimate goal is satisfied guests and we are truly sorry this was not your experience. I can assure you this is not the norm. We enjoy a high percentage of guests with good experiences who then decide to visit us again.

I hope you decide to visit us again.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at this place for two nights before a cruise in September 2011. We choose this hotel as a result of it being a part of Wyndham and us owning a time-share... but the nightly cost is very fair regardless. The hotel was ok, but there was nothing that stood out for me, or made it memorable. Definitely not a place for fun or excitement as it appeared to be just older people or military personal there (may have been some type of promotion for the military as they were over represented). The rooms were clean, but the dining options are limited at best. Also, it’s kinda out of the way from San Juan so be prepared to drive 30-40 minutes into San Juan.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry your opinion is mixed regarding your stay. Our staff works really hard to deliver a great level of service and usually we have a high percentage of guests with good experiences. It is disappointing when we don't meet expectations.

Many things have changed since your trip on 2011, so I do look forward to having a second chance to show how much we value you as a guest.

GRAND regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The grounds of this hotel is very nice. It is in the same area that we stayed at before so we had access to the food shops near Fajardo, and the roadside smoked meat and Mabi, but the relaxation and elegance factor of the resort made it hard to leave. We took a flight in on Friday afternoon and took the long drive out to Arecibo to eat in town and Aguadillo to visit the monument to the Surfing Expo from 1973 (I believe that was the date). After that much driving we were whooped by the time we arrived at the Wyndham. Look very carefully because you have to make a left turn into the road that takes you up to the resort and it is catchy the first time. Once you arive you know you are in for a treat!

The lobby and downstairs area is open and airy. Very clean and nice. There are a bunch of family-friendly activities, and the water is very nice.

One thing I would improve - the floor has tile on it in the rooms. I had to buy slippers to wear in the room becuase the floor was frigid. That did not take away from the stay though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are pleased that you enjoyed our guest experience, and discovered that almost every aspect of our little paradise met your fulfillment.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our resort.

Warmest regards,
Danny Williams
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Wyndham traveler
12
Reviewed 19 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RioMarPuertoRico, General Manager at Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews