We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and stay at the St Regies Bahia” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service and stay at the St Regies Bahia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

My wife and I, along with our 5 year old daughter, spent a week at the resort over President’s Day holiday. I was somewhat apprehensive about going after reading some of the postings regarding the service levels. I can only speak for our experience, but let me say that we had excellent service throughout our stay. Although we don’t stay exclusively at 5-star properties, we have stayed at many, including a half a dozen Ritz Carlton and St. Regis properties. I can say without hesitation that the service we received was as good or better than any of the other places we’ve stayed…and that is to say it was great. I previously mentioned the particular week traveled to let everyone know we were there on a very busy week when the hotel was completely sold out.

The Service:

The butler service was there with coffee in the morning each day at exactly at 8am when we requested it, and was always very responsive to provide a DVD for our daughter to watch or sending a cart to pick us. One of the guys in particular who took us around on different occasions is worth making special mention of – Edwin you were great and helped make our stay a special one. We further requested the cleaning service come do our room at 10am each day, and all but one day it was perfectly clean when we returned from our morning by the pool.

The concierge service, unlike many reports to the contrary, picked up the phone every time we called within a few rings and was always prompt in getting back to us whether making arrangements to eat on/off the resort, or planning activities like horseback riding. The kids club was fantastic as well. We generally feel guilty leaving our daughter at a club while on vacation and don’t do it often, but she was clearly bored hanging out with us after day 4 and saw the large group of kids from the club traveling around the resort together during the day. She asked if she could go one morning so we dropped her off. For the following three days we were there, she asked if she could go back because she had so much fun doing crafts, swimming with the other kids, and feeding the turtles! Special thanks to the club’s director David; both for providing our daughter with a great time and making us feel so comfortable leaving her in your capable hands.

Every place can use some improvements, so to mgmt I would suggest two areas to focus on:

- Pool: Purchase a heater to pump warm water in, at least for a few hours before the sun comes up, it is teeth chattering cold until about 11am and longer if not a particularly sunny day. Also, seating is an issue. There are not enough seats for the guests so we were forced to play the “wake up and save seats game” each day, and for a 5-star resort that is somewhat unacceptable. I would like to acknowledge Freddie and Anthony who do a great job managing the guests fighting over chairs. Suggestion – get rid of one of the two cabana sections as they are almost never used and you can add at least 20 seats for the guests in just one of those sections.

- Food: Although I am from Manhattan and can take high prices, two sandwiches and a kid’s meal with no alcohol shouldn’t cost $100. Shave 10-20% off the prices, at least at the poolside restaurant Seagrapes.

Overall I will, and have to friends, highly recommend the resort. Take advantage of all the sprawling resort has to offer. We are certainly not your active type of vacationers, but we took the bikes out for a ride one day, a kayak the next, played some golf, and walked the secluded beach each evening at dusk collecting shells. It is truly a unique resort and wonderful experience.

Mgmt – keep the focus on service and you will have a top Caribbean destination for many years to come…and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E36traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    291
    110
    43
    29
See reviews for
379
655
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

We decided to spend a long weekend at St. Regis Bahia at last minute and we're so glad we did. The hotel had everything we wanted and more. From the moment we stepped onto the resort, we were greeted by a very warm staff and a glass of champagne at check-in (FABULOUS!). Then our butler walked us to our room and offered to make us complimentary mojitos with local rum later in the day. He was informative, resourceful and very accommodating - all that you expect from a hotel of this caliber. Every interaction with the staff was very pleasant.

Being frequent Starwood Hotel guests, we were easily upgraded to a beach front suite. It was clean, quite and beautiful. The bathroom was huge and amazing and bed was very comfortable. The beach was close yet far enough from our suite that you can hear the waves, but not too loud. The swimming pool was as expected - well kept and clean, and the staff was attentive, but not nosy.

We would love to go back and spend another weekend here. Highly recommend it to any couple or family looking for a luxurious getaway, with first class service and accommodations.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yleecayote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We booked this hotel because we had very good experiences with other St. Regis hotels. We were aware that it had opened just one month before but thought that a chain like this should be able to handle it but we were absolutely wrong.
We wanted to stay for a week of relaxation but were so disappointed that we left after 4 days. When we arrived (it was already dark) everything looked nice and beautiful. We had dinner at the seagrapes and when we ordered our wine were told that they only have 3 different types of whitewines because their wine list was renewed (after one month?) The food was absolutely not good and they had a band playing that was much too loud. They stopped after a while and we were happy to enjoy the sounds of the ocean but then they turned the music system on and again it was so loud and just annoying.
The next morning we were woken up at 7 in the morning by a family with 3 little kids and they let them run around and shout and scream.
During our entire stay we had the experience that the food was not good at all, the restaurants were closed and open only 2 days a week, the staff was friendly but totally unexperienced, many things did not work, they had still construction work going on at the pool and at the beach so it was so loud that we couldn't stay there. Every evening after an unpleasant dinner we had troubles at the bar. They recommended a wine and when we didn't like it they didn't want to take it back because it was not their politics! Their politics should be to serve the guests and to make them feel comfortable!
We left after 4 days instead of 7 days because we were so disappointed. We checked out and later on they debited our credit card with the full amount of the stay and when I tried to get hold of them it took me one week to get a manager and to get the money credited back to my credit card. So all in all it was the worst experience ever and we will definetely not go back or go to another St. Regis Hotel.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ross1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We spent a long weekend here in February and too many times the staff just missed the mark on some of the real basics of customer service. The property is very pretty and our suite was gorgeous but the service was so poor (which, in my opinion is what your really paying for at a hotel like this) that it's just not worth the aggravation. In contrast to our expeience in PR, we just retuned from the St. Regis in Deer Valley where the service couldn't have been much better.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nytonashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

my friend and i decided to take a girls trip over the winter and as gold starwood members we decided it would be worth it to splurge using our points. it certainly did not disappoint. we rented a car beforehand (budget is probably your best option as it is on the airport grounds, as opposed to enterprise which is a bit further of a driver, especially if you are arriving late like us [11PM - 12AM] as budget is 24hours and others close by 11 or midnight. it is worth noting that you can get a better weekly rate at enterprise if cost is a consideration for you). we were glad that we had a car for excursions outside of the hotel. the st. regis is non-negotiable with the $22 per day valet parking so just expect to eat that cost. the $60 per day resort fee is also non-negotiable.

when we arrived after 1am and getting lost due to poor directions (head concierge is working to fix this) we were greeted warmly and offered champagne...even though i dont drink champagne they gladly switched it out for some white wine, which was much needed (and appreciated) after a long day! because of our status we were also upgraded on arrival (second floor and larger terrace/balcony). when we got to the room there was also a cake and bottle of wine from the hotel wishing me a happy birthday!

based on the other reviews we had somewhat low expectations for this new property but it does seem as though they take these trip advisor reviews seriously. there was no obnoxious music around the property, butler service was essentially on time every morning with the complimentary french press coffee, and we didnt hear the leaf blowers save one day. we didnt use the golf facilities so cant comment on that. but the nature trails for bike rides and running were great. i was able to do a 5 mile run along the roads into las estancias and through the nature trails and it was beautiful! there is a fairly decent gym as well.

we were really happy overall. the food was amazing. up to our nyc and chicago standards, albeit pricey ... $100 per person at Fern for two appys, two mains, a side dish, a dessert and two glasses of wine. We also had breakfast here every morning which was delicious with gorgeous views. Molasses, is another restaurant on the property which was good, but we liked our appetizers much better than the mains. dont forget to make reservations using opentable...an easy way to rack in a couple hundred points! a trip to the kioscos (Tapas 13) on Ruta 3 is a must.

as far as excursions, we would HIGHLY recommend going on the bio-bay late night tour at 830 with http://www.kayakingpuertorico.com/. and a catamaran day-trip with Castillo for a beach/sailing day and some snorkeling.

at the st. regis pool, there were a lot of young kids, but for the most part not really a bother. it was the end of president week vacation so most of them were gone for the back half of our trip and it got noticeably more quiet. if you are an early riser, i would suggest heading to the pool before your morning workout or breakfast to reserve chairs...when we got there at 930 the first day most of the chairs were already reserved, despite the fact that noone was sitting in them. we loved Freddy on the pool staff. he was beyond friendly and helpful with us even planning our next vacation back to PR!

all in all, ive traveled a lot... 50+ countries... and this is BY FAR AND AWAY the most ridiculous place i have ever stayed. i can understand that with paying a great deal of money you have certain expectations, but mistakes happen and it is a new property. just relax like you're supposed to and roll with anything. youll be much happier than if you demand perfection and feel that sense of entitlement (you will always be disappointed you with that attitude).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brpack2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

I can't begin to describe the utter incompetence of a resort that dares to charge the rates it charges. As MANY, MANY others on this site have previously reported, the concierge and other services are PITIFUL. They have no idea how to run a hotel and it's an embarrassment. I will never return to this hotel. I've stayed at many first class hotels in Puerto Rico, the Caribbean and around the world. This was, HANDS DOWN, the single worst experience I have ever had. Left more stressed than I was when I arrived. AVOID IT!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BahiaAwful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

My wife and I recently visited the St. Regis Bahia Beach in Puerto Rico. The hotel was outrageous. It is a luxury resort with spectacular views of the beach and golf course. Our accommodations were elegant and lavishly appointed featuring private butlers. The staff was extremely attentive to every need and all spoke and understood perfect English. We loved the hiking trails and kayaking as well as the 18-hole golf course. It was a real romantic setting with the utmost in luxury.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesseidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
12.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
16.7 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
13.2 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort

Property: The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, it is nestled between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast of Puerto Rico. Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach boasts 139 rooms including 35 suites, where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations, service levels and facilities for the Caribbean. An indulging Remède Spa and the exquisite dining options will delight all senses, including Fern Restaurant, featuring culinary creations by world famous Chef Jean-Georges Vongerichten, Molasses Restaurant, St. Regis Bar and Seagrapes. In addition, abundant banquet space is available to accommodate a variety of outdoor or indoor events. Featuring amazing ocean or garden views, it is the perfect setting for small or big gatherings as well as weddings. The elegant tropical magnificence of The St. Regis Bahia Beach creates a world for its guests that they will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort Puerto Rico/Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing