We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Staff and Service made our unforgettable stay at Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rio Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My daughters, our great grandmother and I stayed this past weekend at this magnificent resort. As soon as we arrived, from the valet parking staff, bellmen, to the staff that assist us through the process before check-in made us feel so welcomed and comfortable. My grandmother lost her beloved scarf and an amazing bellman, named Ceasar, was so kind with us, that more than assisted us with our luggage, he took care of the missing scarf and even went to our car to search for it and brought it to our room. She was so relief and happy! She is handicapped, and they assisted us with her transportation around the property, so she could experience every part of it. I will really want to thanks Mr. Eric Gonzalez for making our staying outstanding, comfortable and definitely a new "family tradition getaway" for now on. The property itself is amazing, surrounded by nature, with a rainforest at one side and the beach at the other. My two daughters, (10yrs and 13yrs) were never bored, as the used to say. We went kayaking, paddle-boarding, biking (complementary located inside the property), and then again, and amazing staff assisted us at Boathouse, even when it was my first experience paddle-boarding. They just made everything a very fun and enjoying experience. Mr. Eric Gonzalez who assisted us from our check-in process, up to the checkout. Thanks for every detail to make our stay outstanding, comfortable, welcome and definitely a new "family tradition getaway" for now on. Also, Naomi Santiago who assisted us so respectful and kind. It's just a heavenly paradise! complemented with the amazing staff and service that make the difference. The result: made our stay an unforgettable one and planning our next one!

Room Tip: Rooms at first floor, excellent access for handicapped guest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaisyAnn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to our resort.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully luxurious vacation, and that the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings and decadent culinary delights made you both feel so welcome.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the St. Regis Bahía beach in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

708 - 714 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Good news and bad news....First the bad; All my vacations in the future that aren't at the St. Regis are ruined for life. The good, well, that word is clearly an understatement. This resort that is nestled on a 450+ acre preserve, surrounded by plush vegetation, gorgeous beachfront, and a championship golf course, is truly a gem. My wife and I have been to numerous island resorts over the years, and they are all junior varsity compared with this all-star.
First, as aforementioned, these grounds are breathtaking. At times we thought are eyes were deceiving us. This resort provides views to the eyes that seem almost surreal. The grounds are well-maintained and it is not uncommon to see the workers paying attention to the littlest detail. I was able to play the 18-hole golf course, which featured the last three holes along the beach. To say the views weren't a distraction would be a lie. The sand on the beach was cleaned and raked every morning allowing for nice walks and jogs in either direction, as well as the beach lounge area. The walks from the rooms and facilities have both a serene and tranquil feel.
Secondly, the work staff goes above and beyond. We met numerous employees from the easy check-in to the sad but fluent departure. Whether it was providing lounges and setting up towels for you, prompt butler service at the dial of a button, or going out of their way to make sure "no" is never an answer. Our bellman Luis Valez greeted us as soon as we arrived and did not leave our side until we were both settled and satisfied with our room. We then saw him throughout our weeks where he continued to assist us and answer any questions we had. We also wanted to point out Mylee, who was a server at a few of our meals and function we attended. Her vibrant smile and work ethic only enhanced our enjoyment of our meals and activities. I could list more such as Hector at the pool, Nathanial the bartended, who despite a rain storm one night for a few minutes continued to be at our service. Great workers all around who make sure your stay is as pleasurable as it can be.
Third, we were able to utilize most of the facilities. The boathouse provided us with daily bike rides on the grounds, kayaking and even paddle boarding. The views are amazing. The spa provided us with both a couples massage and single massages, allowing us to utilize the facilties (steam room, sauna, cold tub, Jacuzzi, etc.) both before and after your service. The restaurants, Fern and Molasses had great little menus. We never made it to Fern for dinner but my wife loved her breakfast there and the view from the 2nd floor was just amazing. Molasses has a wonderful staff and the beef mufungo will melt your insides. We tried the salads too which were awesome. Seagrapes by the pool has will deliver to your lounge or you can dine by the pool bar. We loved the mahi mahi tacos and the Kobe beef burger melted in our mouth. I will say that the shrimps were just okay. Our friends and my wife said the chorizo pizza was to die for, they offer brick oven pizzas. We never ordered room service but it is available 24-7. They offered daily activities like smores at the fire pit (tried it for the first time and didn't know what I was missing), coy feeding, sea turtles hatching (if you are so lucky) and the noonish ice-tea ritual. So whether you want to relax all day or move around a little, this little world is your oyster.
In ending, I could continue to rave. This resort clearly exceeded expectations. We would return here in a heartbeat. The views combined with the facilities, the food and the amazing staff, all make this a home-run!!

Room Tip: If you want to see the ocean or garden, it's your preference. We had a garden view room with be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joeysal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The St. Regis is a gorgeous resort, and is the most well-maintained hotel I can recall staying at in a long time.
The customer care here is top notch-when you arrive, you are given water bottles, and they take great care to handle your baggage and place it in your closets if you arrive prior to check in. You are personally walked to your room, by Abad, in our case, and are introduced to all the amenities. If you are in a suite, all your preferences are noted, including what time you would like butler service for coffee and tea each morning.
He took great care to follow up, ensuring an air bed was set up, and confirming what times would be best for turn down service and cleaning each day.
The pool is so well maintained, with an attendant setting up chair covers for you when you walk in. There is also a sunscreen and aloe dispenser, as well as fruit infused water at the towel hut. The poolside servers are very genuine and attentive, and take great care to pick up dishes and keep the area clean. Omairy was great, and ensured our food would be placed in time to take back to the room for dinner, without getting spoiled or ruined.
There is also frozen grapes and iced tea service throughout the day. There's quiet music playing, but it's still incredibly relaxing.
Food options are limited, but again the customer service emphasis is excellent. You are given a 30 minute estimate for when your food will arrive...35 minutes past we were called to apologize for a delay, which, compared to hotels where you wait typically an hour for food, was much appreciated.
The foyer door to our room was broken, and several employees requested for help. When security came, the gentleman was determined to solve the problem, and several others came to help him. I appreciated the team effort, and that the group was determined to get us room access come hell or high water. You could tell they were genuinely sorry for the inconvenience which was handled so well it wasn't even a bother.
I can't wait to come back to this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TheLadyJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to our resort.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully luxurious vacation, and that the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings and decadent culinary delights made you both feel so welcome.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the St. Regis Bahía beach in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the gorgeous St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort for five nights in mid-June 2014 to celebrate my 40th birthday. Our Oceanview suite was on the top floor in Building 5 which was next to the main building and closest to the pool - very ideal, we never needed a golf cart....Everything about the room itself was perfect except that there wasn't a coffee maker in the room (Butler provides fresh French-pressed coffee each morning). We spent every day at the pool and/or beach, just relaxing. We went into the bustling San Juan city one day for awhile and also to the El Yunque rainforest (overrated).

Here are a few takeaways when considering this property:
- If staying more than 3 days, a car rental is a must.
- Their Fern restaurant was just okay - we expected a bit more from the menu....
- The resort is in a rain forest so expect some intermittent rain showers and lots of humidity.
- Also, be prepared to guard against the "no see um" bugs in the Caribbean. I was eaten alive.
- Despite reviews, the beach IS swimmable - red flags are up because there isn't a lifeguard.
- The property's "Estate Lawn" which is outside of the main building IS perfect for a wedding.
- There are no sunset views from the resort per se since the resort is on the north side of the island.
- Tons of resort guests are staying at this property on points - and pretty much 2 out of 3 women are pregnant. Apparently this resort is a big draw for babymoons....
- Having lunch and dinner every day at the resort gets to be VERY EXPENSIVE -- we ate out one evening at the "Kiosks", a grouping of small local restaurants in town. The one we ate at was called La Parilla and it was excellent.
- At night the resort is home to the local Coqui frogs (they are super small but make a ton of noise) - it's a pleasant rainforest sound to some but could be annoying to others.
- Be sure to take a property tour. The St. Regis is selling both homes and condos. You truly get a feel for the expansiveness of this property.
- There is a grocery store not too far away in Rio Grande Town called Ralphs and also a Walgreens. You can buy waters, sodas, toiletries, alcohol and snacks for your room there.
- My husband did a day of scuba diving with an operator named Sea Ventures - they were good.
- After leaving the St. Regis after five days, my husband and I then went on to stay another three nights at the Ritz Carlton in Dorado Beach. It is also a stunning hotel but there is NO WAY to compare these two properties to one another because they are completely different in every way!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Globetrotter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The property is amazing. If you're seeking to relax and unwind this is the place to be. The beach is spectacular and you don't share it with anyone else so it's quite and tranquil. The resort is so big that it doesn't feel crowded. It's also a golf resort but I don't golf so I did the biking trail, kayaked, paddle boarded and really just relaxed at the pool and the beach. I stayed for 2 nights and wish I would have stayed longer! The staff is friendly and the service is excellent. The room was clean and spacious. We had a little outside area with a couch to relax and overlook the golf resort/lake. Overall a great relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_Q30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to our resort.

We are delighted that you had such and a wonderfully luxurious vacation, and that the natural beauty of our captivating surroundings and decadent culinary delights made you both feel so welcome.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the St. Regis Bahía beach in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is very nice, but in an aging beauty sort of way. The food was average, kind of a mix of Caribbean and Mexican food that came up short. The rooms are all set back from the beach or pool with a jungle view.
Now for the good things: The Puerto Rican people are all very nice and even nicer at the hotel. The St Regis is a very short drive from the main airport in San Juan and yet very secluded. They have a great pool and 2 miles of beach, we swam in both. It was turtle hatching season and they make sure to rope off all the nests up and down the beach. We did a Scuba trip and there were lots of adult turtles present. If you don't speak Spanish (I do) almost all the natives speak English with a great accent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amywalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahía Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts regarding your recent stay at our magnificent resort.

Rest assured that your comments have been appropriately addressed with our team. Your feedback is crucial for us to continue demonstrating the extraordinary level of service which has become the St. Regis hallmark.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to your home away from home, the St. Regis Bahía beach, in the not too distant future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Two things are most notable about the St. Regis Bahia Beach: the natural beauty of the setting and the impeccable service provided by all employees.

The resort is an easy 20 min drive from the airport on a new expressway. It is a lovely combination of nature preserve, resort, golf course and residences. Wooden walkways crisscross the property, leading from building to building and the pool area, leaving the contours of the natural landscape undisturbed. Great attention is given to the gardens.

The rooms are exceptional; huge, beautifully furnished, and the bathrooms are simply amazing. We had a garden view room, the least expensive and furthest from the beach, and it wasn't that far.

We ate at all 3 restaurants on site and all were good; food ranged from good to excellent. Service was always good.

The St. Regis Bahia Beach is very, very expensive; it is a 5 star luxury resort, and you will pay for it. Breakfast averaged $35 per person, lunch $50, and dinner $100.

The beach is lovely; if you go out early you can find lots of sand dollars and shells. It was filled with about 20 turtle nests; very cool. The waves were very strong in the area right in front of the pool; in fact, red flags were flying advising bathers not to go in. It was good for body surfing. However, the beach is long, and if you walk a bit in either direction the waves were a bit calmer. I'm rather nervous about the ocean, but I enjoyed it (with my husband to hold on to). One should be very careful with children, however. Surf conditions vary daily.

The pool area is stunning; a great place to relax.

My only negative comments:

The room's a/c did not work properly and the room did not cool sufficiently. This was mentioned at check out and the staff member did not seem particularly concerned about it.

The room smelled musty when we arrived, but that went away once the a/c ran for awhile. We live in the Caribbean and are used to it so it wasn't a big deal.

The bellman offered ice when he took us to our room, but he never brought it. He also walked right into our shower while showing us the room, which was strange. Neither a big deal.

The beach attendant on Sunday morning was not very friendly, but perhaps that was in comparison to everyone else, who was super friendly.

In summary, if you want to get away from it all, and can afford it, the St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort is an excellent choice in Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank susanbpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
srbahiabeach, General Manager at The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Distinguished Guest,

Saludos from St. Regis Bahia Beach!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

It gives us tremendous pleasure that our dedicated staff made you feel so welcome, and that you thoroughly enjoyed how our unique eco-design captures the distinctive tropical enchantment of Puerto Rico and its sumptuous culinary delights.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your second home in the near future.

Thank you for the gift of feedback.

Warmest regards,

Terry G. Bechtold
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
31.9 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
17.2 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
31.5 mi away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#1 of 5 in Isla de Vieques
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 48 in San Juan
857 reviews
20 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,800 reviews
4.5 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Puerto Rico Golf & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico

Address: State Road 187 kilometer 4.2, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range: £585 - £794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico 5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designated as Puerto Rico’s first and only AAA Five Diamond resort and the leader in luxury on the island and in the Caribbean, The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico has been designed with the entire family in mind, providing a variety of extraordinary services and activities that will keep all guests entertained from sunrise to sunset. Located on a former 483 acre coconut plantation, our Rio Grande resort in Puerto Rico sits between El Yunque National Forest and the sparkling Atlantic Ocean on the northeast coast. A Certified Gold Audubon Signature Sanctuary, the lush Resort features a tennis center, a golf course designed by Robert Trent Jones Jr., as well as 4 miles of nature trails, 70 acres of lakes and a boat house for water sports. The intimate St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico boasts suites where The St. Regis’ iconic Butler service is available. Most of the guestrooms overlook amazing ocean and garden views setting a new standard in luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Hotel Rio Grande
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort, Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing