We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good resort to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Russia, Moscow
Level Contributor
171 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A good resort to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed at this resort in January after a cruise. Won on Priceline for a very reasonable price (around 89 dollars. per night ) . Additional paid for parking ( $ 15 per day) and resort fee ( $ 12, but I do not remember - per person or per room) .
The rooms are located in two-storey houses surrounded by gardens. The hotel area is very big, so you can call and order the electric car or catch it on the way , if you do not want to go far. Some people can play golf - around a golf course , tennis, or simply relax by the pools (very big and clean - we liked it) . The beds are very soft for us - not easy to sleep. Also the breakfasts are very expensive. $ 23 per person - this is too much .. Was not recommended to swim in the sea near the hotel - a strong current . On the territory of strolling large monitor lizards (as cats:)) .
A little bit far to the airport and San Juan - 45 min. by car.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank uma_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,749
    1,622
    1,091
    812
    768
See reviews for
1,944
2,326
89
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Our first trip to Puerto Rico, so glad my husband chose this place. We pulled into the resort, we were greeted by this beautiful marble column entrance and the valet. He asked our name, we told him. He called someone and immediately another man came to greet us, he told the bellman to watch our bags as we checked in. We saw a desk where others were checking in. He led us passed them for a private check in, in the Red Level lounge. You see we upgraded to the Red Level and it is totally the only way to go! We went into a very nice lounge, were offered drinks, given these cool bracelets, checked in quickly. Went to the front of the resort, were taken by golf cart to our room along with our luggage. Beautiful property, very colorful, well manicured, palm trees, gorgeous flowers. I mean really I can go on and on about the property. They have a private Red Level pool, you get a butler, they have a HUGE pool for everyone, they have a wet bar, etc. The resort has so many places to lounge around. Oh did I mention Red Level guest get a COMPLIMENTARY HAPPY HOUR every day! SOLD! Our room was very clean, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom had a deep tub, and the shower's water pressure was wonderful! The view from our room looked so beautiful and perfect...just like a desktop wallpaper of some beach you may have at the office. The sound of the palm trees swaying at night and the coqui frogs singing their sweet melody was just awesome. Everyone was so nice! The beach was so close to walk to at any given time. The water was so clear. We loved the buffet breakfast at Café Solei every morning. The wet bar was expensive, but who really cares you are on vacation. The resort is fun for couples, friends and families. They have an arcade for kids and they also offer 24 hour babysitting. They have Bali beds EVERYWHERE. The only thing I did not like was the food at the resort (not including the buffet at Café Solei). We ate at Passion a restaurant of theirs and it SUCKED. It was expensive and just plain SUCKED. DO not eat there. Other than that I TOTALLY WILL COME BACK HERE!

Room Tip: UPGRADE TO RED LEVEL. Be sure you have a rental car or better a jeep. The roads in Puerto Rico can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meena114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plantation, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had a great experience this past weekend here at Gran Melia. The breakfast buffet was amazing, when you walk in it feels like entering palace. The place is huge, secluded, and the pool and beach are beautiful. I went with my friends, but I want to come back with my girlfriend. ALL if the workers were over the top nice and went out of the way to help. Particularly helpful was a bellhop name Christian, who helped us above and beyond what we expected, when we had a bonfire, he helped us take the pits back clean them up and make sure that we were set even though we only want a ride to get back to the bonfire pit the next morning, he made sure that everything was set, I could not tip him enough. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, Resident Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Jeremy W:

Thank you for your review. We truly appreciate your comments about your recent experience at our hotel. It does feel like paradise here! We will commend Christian for proving such great service. Please consider the Gran Meliá Puerto Rico your second home when planning your next vacation.


Sincerely,


Tomás Giménez - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

From the moment we checked into Gran Melia's Red Level and were met with a glass of champagne to our final night dinner in Nami, we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel, staff and services. We were there to celebrate my wife's birthday and to totally "chill out". We spent our days reclining in a Bali Bed reading, resting and cooling off in the pool...at night we enjoyed great meals in Tempo & Nami...We were only there for 4 nights and left wishing we could stay longer and looking forward to our next vist.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

After traveling 8 hrs to this resort . They took 3 hrs to get me settled in my room and it wasn't the room preference I requested . Management really sucked when they were supposed to b fixing the problem made it worst . Never followed up , made me feel like I was doing there job .had to stay on the repeatedly about things they were supposed to be fixing . Would spend my money else were.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, Resident Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Jessica D:

Thank you for sharing your experience during your past stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that despite our efforts to turn around your experience we were not able to meet your standards.
My apologies for the inconveniences you encountered upon your arrival.


I hope you can give us and Puerto Rico the opportunity to show you the true first class service that Gran Meliá is known for. Please contact my team at GMPRguestexperience@granmeliapr.com


Sincerely,



Tomás Giménez - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We just returned from 4 days at the Gran Melia and it was beyond perfect. We upgraded to the Red Level which was worth every penny. We were welcomed with a glass of champagne and an incredibly cordial and efficient check in on arrival. The restaurant manager, Philip, gave us great suggestions for our dinners at Tempo and Nami...both were excellent. It was my birthday and Rueben Llanos at the pool had our towels set in the shape of a heart with lovely flowers on our Bali bed which is the ONLY way to relax poolside. Our butlers, Joshua and Daniele, were extremely attentive. We were so sorry to have to leave but that's the sign of a great vacation!

Room Tip: Go for the Red Level...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, Resident Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Kathie S:

We strive every day to provide our guests with the experience you had at our hotel and appreciate you taking the time to share in detail your satisfaction. It is an absolute pleasure to hear that the Red Level staff, the service, the amenities and the food had such an impact on your stay. We look forward to welcome you back for another Gran Meliá Experience!


Sincerely,



Tomás Giménez - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our first trip to PR and we chose the right place. We are in love with this place and will definitely come back. I've actually been trying to figure out what type of pillows the resorts uses. If anyone has any info can you please reply? Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Stay in a room close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annakin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, Resident Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Annakin2013,

Thank you for your great feedback! Your loyalty to our property is very much appreciated. Actually, our pillows are from the T-Y Group: Traditional Collection.

We are more than happy that you had the Gran Meliá Warm Experience and we will work hard to make sure you'll feel the same on your next stay with us.

Sincerely,


Tomás Giménez - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
19.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,663 reviews
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Property: Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing