We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Coco Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Pearl(Luquillo)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (6,547)
Filter reviews
6,547 results
Traveller rating
1,871
1,727
1,195
891
863
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,871
1,727
1,195
891
863
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelbali bedscafe soleilpuerto ricobeautiful resortprivate poolwet barmain poolpuerto rican restaurantrented a cargarden viewbutler serviceswim up barold san juanel yunque rainforestocean frontlounge chairs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,482 - 3,487 of 6,547 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

My friends and I started at this resort for a girls trip and it was amazing. It was relaxing and quiet. The resort was beautiful and very well kept. The rooms were also nice. All 3 of us shared a room and did not feel like we were on top of each other. The pool bar was probably my favorite part of the resort. I just wish it stayed open past 6pm. This only reason I can't give 5 stars is because we were constantly asking for things for our room like towels. The maid would come and clean and take the towels but then would not leave us with new towels. The front desk was very polite when we asked for more but then it would take at least 45 minutes for the towels to come. Other than that minor issue we had an amazing time and would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this resort. It was very romantic and really allowed us to relax. We were upgraded to an ocean front room, which had a stunning view of the beach. The room was very spacious with a large private balcony. We definitely recommend the "red level", which allowed us access to a separate pool which was practically private, and free use of their luxurious cabanas. The staff was amazing, so very helpful. Also included with red level was a free happy hour, where we enjoyed free drinks, but I wished that they had an outdoor area. It was held in a darkened room with dark wood, but I would have liked something more tropical. We enjoyed the brunch which was included with RL, it had everything you could want and more. We struck out at the restaurants for lunch and dinner. Our lunch at the poolside restaurant was especially bad. Tasteless, yet expensive food, with stray cats at our ankles. But we loved having a cocktail at the open air bar in the evenings. The bartender, Juan Rivas, made a magnificent coconut mojito! We had one every night!

Room Tip: We booked red level ocean view, but were upgraded to ocean front. The red level was definitely worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our reservation was messed up, the rooms smelled like mold and the room furniture had mold on it. The grounds and beach were beautiful but rooms and management were disappointing. We had reserved two rooms, one with two doubles and one with a king. They said they couldn't provide two rooms together like that and to use the pull out couch. Which was full of mold. Altogether not a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Gran Melia is a beautiful tropical paradise! Grounds are immaculately kept with lush vegetation and those gorgeous, harmless, add-to-the-ambience iguanas! All rooms are spacious suites with balconies. If you can afford to upgrade to ocean-front, the views are fabulous, with the whirlpool tubs on the balcony! But even the standard suites are well worth their money! We have stayed in both the standard and the ocean-front, and both are wonderful! With the upgrade to ocean-front, you get the Red Level amenities, which include breakfast buffet, Red Level pool access, and Happy Hour!
All employees that we encountered were friendly, helpful, and very professional. Could not do enough for us!
My favorite part of the vacation was just walking the beautiful beach with palm trees, hammocks, lounge chairs, ocean "bath" water, and incredible tropical views! Oh, yes, and the Bali beds around the pool! If you want a TOTALLY relaxing, do nothing vacation, this IS the paradise for you! You can also have massages at the Red Level Pool, or at their relaxing Spa.
We will be back next year! Loved it!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful suites! Upgrade to ocean-front, if you can! Views are fantastic!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAO738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

First let me say that the hotel grounds, pool and rooms are lovely. Spacious, tropical and beautiful. The staff were polite and helpful.

However, we found the food to be far, far below a 4 star hotel. We went to their breakfast brunch the second day we were there and the only edible item was the handmade omelette which the station chef did to perfection. The coffee was plentiful and robust. BUT The fruit was bland and blander. The pastries were pale, tasteless and dry. The pancakes and French toast were soggy. The fatty bacon came congealed with fat and was in a big pile stuck together. We didn't dare try any of the meats which looked dry.

And we paid $53 with tip for that buffet. Way too much for our budget for a decent omelette.
with that disastrous and expensive experience we did go to another restaurant in the place.

Our tip, DON'T BOTHER.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthweissart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, Resident Manager at Melia Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear pleinairruth:

Thank you for your comments; we are disappointed that your recent visit was not up to your expectations. We have taken notes of your comments and have discussed them with our Executive Committee to ensure improvements in all areas of customer care, service and food quality.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and would be grateful for another opportunity to extend to you our traditional hospitality and excellent customer attention on your next visit to Puerto Rico.

Please contact my Guest Experience team directly to handle your next reservation GMPRguestexperience@granmelia.com. It will be our pleasure to welcome you and your family.

Sincerely,


Tomás Giménez - Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews