We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The resort is beautiful but the service is unacceptable. You couldn't get a chair, a drink or food at the Main pool. We were Red Level and finally decided to use the private pool where the service was much better. I would only go back there if we stayed RED Level again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Alyssa S,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to let us know your feedback about your stay. We take very seriously all your comments and we'll take actions on them.

Our resort offers our guests a wide variety of facilities and accommodations for a pleasant vacation. As you mentioned, Red Level has personalize services and we are very glad you enjoyed them.

We'll be waiting for you on your next visit to Puerto Rico.

Best Regards

Sincerely,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,810
    1,678
    1,128
    841
    804
See reviews for
2,042
2,410
92
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

After driving over 5 minutes through a beautiful golf course and grounds, we arrived at the entrance to the Gran Melia. We parked our car and were immediately met with a golf cart which carried us and our bags to the front desk. The open lobby is stunning with couches, tables and even a parrot! We were all checked in with 10 minutes by a very friendly woman at the front desk. We indulged in the infused water (watermelon and mango) in the lobby while we waited for a golf cart to take us to our room. The driver took us on a tour of the grounds before dropping us off at our room. We were on the second level and he carried our bags up for us! The room itself was beautiful with a balcony, marble floors, safe, a huge bathroom and a oversized king bed. The only thing it did not have was a fridge. We dropped our stuff and headed out to the beach. It was only a 2 minute walk to the water which was crystal clear and stretched as far as the eye could see. We wandered over to the main pool which was massive and had a bar at water level so you could sit in the water and drink. That night we ate at Nami the japanese cooking tables where the food and service were very nice. Most of the restaurants have great happy hours so we recommend looking into this because the resort is very expensive. The breakfast buffet at Soleil was wonderful with lots of options but it is a bit pricey so go back for round 2 if you can! The beach itself is not very sandy but it didn't matter to use because we found a spot with sand and chairs no problem! Overall the resort was stunning and we loved every minute of our time here!!

Room Tip: If you do not wish to be too far from the main lobby, restaurants and pool request a bungalo close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corlinl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear corlinl18:

Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico. I'm very happy to read the wonderful comments you shared with us regarding your stay, our service and the facilities of the hotel. I also greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the experience you had at our restaurants.

If your traveling plans bring you to Puerto Rico we will more than happy to welcoming you back. Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you book through Priceline you will be hit w/ a $20/person extra resort fee that is not included in the Priceline payment. You are NOT told about this fee upon check in and they will not take it off your bill!!! Don't eat at the Asian Cafe. They advertise 1/2 price rolls for dining before 7PM, but these are NOT sushi rolls! Instead, you can order a cream cheese, jalapeno, chicken roll for $19! If you get stuck at the Asian Cafe, the pad thai was good and plentiful and more fairly priced at $23. The ground of the Gran Melia are amazingly lush and beautiful but just get ready to open your wallet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Dee H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip.

I would like to take this opportunity to clarify that the resort fee is for all guests and not only for the ones that book thru Priceline. Our Resort fee includes the following benefits:

 In-room coffee
 Complimentary use of fitness center
 Complimentary use of our lighted tennis courts including tennis rackets (based upon availability); tennis balls sold separately
 Trolley transportation around resort
 Activities Center with daytime activities program for the entire family
 Complimentary transfers to the Trump international golf course
 Pool concierge
 Complimentary use of in room high speed internet access

I hope you can give us a second opportunity to fully experience the Meliá service and attention for which we are known for.

Sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The grounds of this hotel are absolutely stunning. As we drove in our jaws dropped and our hearts pounded with anticipation. Our attitudes quickly changed as we realized how understaffed, overcrowded, and unapologetic the hotel was. They booked two weddings the same day and there were kids everywhere! Not just preteens, but toddlers. We found that if you were with the wedding group or a large family you were treated great. Smaller groups, not so much. My girlfriend and I travel a lot and have spent time at some of the finest resorts, spas and getaways in the US. The Grove Park in Asheville, NC for example is one of our favorite places. We usually compare anywhere we go to the Grove Park because as far as service, friendliness of staff and overall satisfaction go, you can't beat that place. This was no Grove Park!

Pros: Beautiful property, Great spa, Bartenders Giovani, Juan, Leslie and anyone at the Avenue Bar. Miguel at the check-in desk was great! Noel at Nami (the only place worth eating) was a hoot and such a joy to be around. The chambermaid service was great. Rooms were clean, big and comfy. The beach never felt crowded, and we could always find a private spot.

Cons: Service is horrible and staff are insensitive (room service twice took an hour and half and came cold). Staff is rude and hung up the phone on us several times. If you call and they happen to answer they will transfer you till you give up. Wet bar by the pool? Don't bother! We waited an hour for a cold hamburger. The restaurants are overpriced and you leave under satisfied. Be prepared to wait in lines for everything, including check-in, the breakfast buffet, and the hotel entrance. If you stay here, make sure to rent a car, because there is not much to do at all on the hotel grounds.

Altogether, we will not be going back to this particular resort. That's not to say that everything is horrible; the views are stunning, and some staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. But the resort has major improvements that could be made, and our trip was definitely not everything we expected it to be. I would definitely recommend the island of Puerto Rico to anyone, just not the Gran Melia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eltrunque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear eltrunque,

I would like to thank you for taking from your time to share your experience with us.

I am happy to learn that you loved our facilities and the service from Giovani, Juan, Leslie, Miguel and Noel. We will make sure to pass your kind words to them.

Receive our sincere apology for the difficulties with room service and the Wet Grill. We are taking corrective actions to improve the quality of our services in those areas.

We hope to see you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

It was horrible!
-The room smelled of mildew and humidity.
-There was NO hot water!
-The bed will sink in the middle.
-Getting the bell man to help with the luggage was impossible.
-Getting picked up from the room didn't happen once.
-The checking process was painful. The person who "helped" us was rude and not very helpful. We had arrived form a 24 hour trip from Japan, we where exhausted and welcomed by bad attitudes, charging us extra for things that were already pre-paid for, slow service, waiting time of 30min plus to get driven to our room and after all that ordeal NO HOT water to shower!!!

The next day we had booked a couples massage. What a joke that was! The conditions of the "SPA" where disgusting!
-No Slippers (what Spa doesn't offer slippers/flipflops?
-Everything was wet and mildewy
-No toiletries, not even a shower cap!
-There was NO hot water in the shower!
-The "Jacuzzi"water was not hot either and all around it was unkempt and dried out water.
- there was a beeping noise the whole time in the dressing room! How is that supposed to help you relax.
-The Steam Room was disgusting! Paint peeling from the ceiling and wall! Are people supposed to breathe that in?!?!? Again Mildew was present as well as stuck water!

We had just come from a 3 week trip in Japan and were stunned by the difference in quality and service. We usually stay in La Concha in Condado but decided to give you guys a try because you were close to my sister's house in PR. I will never, ever stay with your hotel gain and I will make sure to post on every review and social media outlet my disgust with your hotel. I had pre-paid this stay, (at a premium I might add), and is the only reason I didn't walk out from this s$%# hole! You guys simply stole my money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
3 Thank Sarima G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear GlennPolite,

We're very disappointed you didn't enjoy your stay with us more. It sounds like you certainly had some challenges and we appreciate the feedback. There are some things we can control and we pledge to work on those immediately.

We hope you give us another chance in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This was our second time in one year visiting Gran Melia. We loved it so much, that this is our resort of choice amd even plan to get married there. Although, our experience wasnt as grand as the first time, I sense that it is due to the time of year. I don't think the resort was capable of handling the crowd of New Year's visitors. We didnt have the "red glove" service we had previously; the wait was pretty long for mostly everything until people started leaving after the holiday. We asked for ice and never received it! The wait for restaurants, even with reservations , was crazy. Overall, we love the place, but we now know to come during the off season to get more personalized attention. Also, the Red Level Pool area is for adults and kids over 10, but i would recommend raising that age minimum because way too many children were making noise, detracting from the relaxing vibe we should have had in thr pool, bar, and cabana area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Delisia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Delisia C,

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience with Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to have been able to provide you with a great experience during the end of 2013 and the beginning of 2014. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!

I'm sorry that the restaurant service experience was not up to the standards and I appreciate you letting us know about it.

We thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to host you again, hopefully to celebrate your future wedding!

Sincerely yours,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I have to say that the Gran Mélia Golf Restort in Puerto Rico is an absolutely beautiful hotel, but that's about all it got. It's a shame that the service doesn't follow. You have to wait for everything. We got there with my best friend at around midnight and only got to our room at around 3AM, after having travelled roughly 24 hours. We had specifically asked for a double room with two beds and when we got there, they were only offering us a king size bed. It took the receptionist almost 2 hours to check what she could do only to find out that there was nothing else available. We finally got the room we requested after 4 days and they called us at 1AM to ask if we wanted to change rooms right away... I don't think so ;o) At the bar you have to wait ages before being served... Patience is a virtue, I think you say that in English as well. The 3 restaurants we had dinner at were excellent, though, quite expensive. We took a Bali bed twice and had to clean it up from the people who were there the day before. It felt like a 5-do-it-yourself* hotel.There are still a lot of things to say about this hotel...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Anneli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Anneli E,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your experience in Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico.
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the less than acceptable arrival experience. I completely understand your frustration after 24 hours traveling.

Regarding the double beds in the room, please have in mind that we guarantee room categories but bed type are subject to availability. Most times we are able to accommodate are guest requests.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, and for choosing to remain at the resort despite our missteps. We look forward to see you in the future and make up for the situations during this trip.

Sincerely,



Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,878 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
19.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,698 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Property: Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing