We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's okay, but just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's okay, but just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We traveled during Christmas week and were very happy with the location. The resort is near the rain forest (spent 2 days there) and near a lot of local restaurants. The resort property is great. It is well maintained and clean (not spotless, but clean). Also the buildings are only two stories tall, we didn't want to stay in a high rise on the beach. If you go you must stay at the Red Level, the included breakfast buffet alone makes it worth the cost because food at this resort is out of control expensive and mediocre at best. Breakfast on the other hand was perfectly fine. We had two dinners at the resort and then ventured out and had great local meals at a fraction of the cost. Make sure you have a rental car, it ends up being cheaper than the resorts transports and offer a lot more flexibility.

Be forewarned, check in is a disaster. The staff is clueless and unresponsive. Our check-in took over an hour. We booked two rooms, they were not near each other. We traveled with our son and daughter and reserved two double beds, they were booked into a king suite. After insisting on a change for over an hour when I was told nothing could be done....something was done.

Do not rely on express checkout. Go over your bill very carefully. I removed quite a few charges we did not make (meals and drinks on the day we spent in Old San Juan) and failure to list a credit I demanded because of the horrible check-in.

Room Tip: I wouldn't pay extra for a beach view room. Everyone on the beach can see your room. How much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Flipper357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Flipper357

Receive a warm “Saludos” from Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico. Thank you for sharing those lovely pictures with the Trip Advisor community.

We will take under very serious consideration your comments which will help us to constantly improve. We are deeply sorry for the wait during the check-in, the check-out billing discrepancies and for not fulfilling your expectations. It is never pleasant to hear one of our guests has encountered dissatisfaction during their stay.

Hopefully you will give us another opportunity in the near future!

Sincerely,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,782
    1,653
    1,110
    829
    791
See reviews for
2,005
2,373
91
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We belong to the vacation club here. This year they signed us a butler. His job is to act as our personal concierge. Our butler is Timothy. He has been fantastic. In just the first few hours of our visit, he fixed my ethernet adapter settings, and then, when the router we had brought with us malfunctioned, he lent us his own router for the duration of our stay. Also room service was in some sort of gefuffle, and Timothy spent hours personally getting them to produce our dinner. If Timothy is any indication the criticisms of the service here are outdated. EXCELLENT!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndySterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear AndySterner:

Thank you so much for choosing Gran Meliá Golf Resort as a destination for your Puerto Rico vacations.

It is a big satisfaction for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay and specially the services of our butlers. Be confident that Timothy will receive recognition for his attentive service and we know that this will motivate not only him but others to continue giving the best customer service every day.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another enjoyable stay.

Sincerely yours,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We had a wonderful time! Beautiful shaded beach! We had no need to rent an umbrella or beach chairs. There are lounge chairs and hammocks throughout the area. Restaurants on the resort property are fairly expensive

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Amanda N,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for your kind review.

There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Your generous words regarding the hotel outside areas are greatly appreciated. Hammocks are one of the main attractions to guest that want to rest and enjoy the ocean view.

Our team will be more than glad to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

The resort is beautiful but the service is unacceptable. You couldn't get a chair, a drink or food at the Main pool. We were Red Level and finally decided to use the private pool where the service was much better. I would only go back there if we stayed RED Level again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Alyssa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Alyssa S,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to let us know your feedback about your stay. We take very seriously all your comments and we'll take actions on them.

Our resort offers our guests a wide variety of facilities and accommodations for a pleasant vacation. As you mentioned, Red Level has personalize services and we are very glad you enjoyed them.

We'll be waiting for you on your next visit to Puerto Rico.

Best Regards

Sincerely,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

After driving over 5 minutes through a beautiful golf course and grounds, we arrived at the entrance to the Gran Melia. We parked our car and were immediately met with a golf cart which carried us and our bags to the front desk. The open lobby is stunning with couches, tables and even a parrot! We were all checked in with 10 minutes by a very friendly woman at the front desk. We indulged in the infused water (watermelon and mango) in the lobby while we waited for a golf cart to take us to our room. The driver took us on a tour of the grounds before dropping us off at our room. We were on the second level and he carried our bags up for us! The room itself was beautiful with a balcony, marble floors, safe, a huge bathroom and a oversized king bed. The only thing it did not have was a fridge. We dropped our stuff and headed out to the beach. It was only a 2 minute walk to the water which was crystal clear and stretched as far as the eye could see. We wandered over to the main pool which was massive and had a bar at water level so you could sit in the water and drink. That night we ate at Nami the japanese cooking tables where the food and service were very nice. Most of the restaurants have great happy hours so we recommend looking into this because the resort is very expensive. The breakfast buffet at Soleil was wonderful with lots of options but it is a bit pricey so go back for round 2 if you can! The beach itself is not very sandy but it didn't matter to use because we found a spot with sand and chairs no problem! Overall the resort was stunning and we loved every minute of our time here!!

Room Tip: If you do not wish to be too far from the main lobby, restaurants and pool request a bungalo close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank corlinl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear corlinl18:

Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico. I'm very happy to read the wonderful comments you shared with us regarding your stay, our service and the facilities of the hotel. I also greatly appreciate your feedback regarding the experience you had at our restaurants.

If your traveling plans bring you to Puerto Rico we will more than happy to welcoming you back. Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Sincerely yours,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

If you book through Priceline you will be hit w/ a $20/person extra resort fee that is not included in the Priceline payment. You are NOT told about this fee upon check in and they will not take it off your bill!!! Don't eat at the Asian Cafe. They advertise 1/2 price rolls for dining before 7PM, but these are NOT sushi rolls! Instead, you can order a cream cheese, jalapeno, chicken roll for $19! If you get stuck at the Asian Cafe, the pad thai was good and plentiful and more fairly priced at $23. The ground of the Gran Melia are amazingly lush and beautiful but just get ready to open your wallet.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Dee H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Gran Meliá Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip.

I would like to take this opportunity to clarify that the resort fee is for all guests and not only for the ones that book thru Priceline. Our Resort fee includes the following benefits:

 In-room coffee
 Complimentary use of fitness center
 Complimentary use of our lighted tennis courts including tennis rackets (based upon availability); tennis balls sold separately
 Trolley transportation around resort
 Activities Center with daytime activities program for the entire family
 Complimentary transfers to the Trump international golf course
 Pool concierge
 Complimentary use of in room high speed internet access

I hope you can give us a second opportunity to fully experience the Meliá service and attention for which we are known for.

Sincerely,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The grounds of this hotel are absolutely stunning. As we drove in our jaws dropped and our hearts pounded with anticipation. Our attitudes quickly changed as we realized how understaffed, overcrowded, and unapologetic the hotel was. They booked two weddings the same day and there were kids everywhere! Not just preteens, but toddlers. We found that if you were with the wedding group or a large family you were treated great. Smaller groups, not so much. My girlfriend and I travel a lot and have spent time at some of the finest resorts, spas and getaways in the US. The Grove Park in Asheville, NC for example is one of our favorite places. We usually compare anywhere we go to the Grove Park because as far as service, friendliness of staff and overall satisfaction go, you can't beat that place. This was no Grove Park!

Pros: Beautiful property, Great spa, Bartenders Giovani, Juan, Leslie and anyone at the Avenue Bar. Miguel at the check-in desk was great! Noel at Nami (the only place worth eating) was a hoot and such a joy to be around. The chambermaid service was great. Rooms were clean, big and comfy. The beach never felt crowded, and we could always find a private spot.

Cons: Service is horrible and staff are insensitive (room service twice took an hour and half and came cold). Staff is rude and hung up the phone on us several times. If you call and they happen to answer they will transfer you till you give up. Wet bar by the pool? Don't bother! We waited an hour for a cold hamburger. The restaurants are overpriced and you leave under satisfied. Be prepared to wait in lines for everything, including check-in, the breakfast buffet, and the hotel entrance. If you stay here, make sure to rent a car, because there is not much to do at all on the hotel grounds.

Altogether, we will not be going back to this particular resort. That's not to say that everything is horrible; the views are stunning, and some staff were very helpful and extremely friendly. But the resort has major improvements that could be made, and our trip was definitely not everything we expected it to be. I would definitely recommend the island of Puerto Rico to anyone, just not the Gran Melia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eltrunque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear eltrunque,

I would like to thank you for taking from your time to share your experience with us.

I am happy to learn that you loved our facilities and the service from Giovani, Juan, Leslie, Miguel and Noel. We will make sure to pass your kind words to them.

Receive our sincere apology for the difficulties with room service and the Wet Grill. We are taking corrective actions to improve the quality of our services in those areas.

We hope to see you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,


Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,769 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
19.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,630 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Property: Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing