We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Rio Grande
Rio Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful resort”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We vacationed here with our 2 children, ages 10 and 13, and had a great time. This was our second visit to the resort. The resort is beautiful! The main pool is very nice and the poolside grill has excellent food. Our favorite thing was the quiet areas along the beach with plenty of hammocks and beach chairs to relax in. The breakfast buffet was great with plenty of foods to choose from. Our only complaint was the check in process. There were around 10 guests in the check in line ahead of us and we waited in line for 2 hours.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Gregory N,
Thank you so very much for staying with us and for sharing your kind comments regarding our beautiful resort, the Wet Grill, and the hammocks by the beach that make the perfect setting for a relaxing getaway.
We are so happy to learn that you had a nice family vacation. Reading thru your notes, it makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do. We have taken note of your suggestions and we will be working on them to ensure a subsequent great experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your family back again in the near future!

Sincerely yours,
Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,811
    1,679
    1,129
    841
    804
See reviews for
2,044
2,411
92
374
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The food in general was bad quality and way over the top priced. I ordered a chicken entry and it had cartilage and I mentioned it to the watress but she did nothing to fix it. Kid were tired no manag

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Jose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Jose C,

I am grateful you took some of your valuable time to review our hotel. I spent some time reviewing your comments, and I was extremely disappointed to learn that your service expectations fell short of a perfect rating.

Please accept my most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve our products and services. We will be discussing this incident with the waitress for not demonstrating proactivity when the situation aroused.

We have sent you a private message, and would like to speak to you personally about this matter.

We hope to hear from you soon.


Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

we loved the facilities this resort offered, however the water sports which we depended upon were non existent. Apparently due to some business arrangement gone bad, they don't exist anymore. The breakfast was really good, so i suggest the red level for this alone. Book your tours early as we did miss out on some due to our dates., however Daniel the butler was really good in organizing tours for us too!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Oliver G,

Thank you for choosing our property for you recent vacations. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. We commend your comments regarding our beautiful facilities and our friendly staff.

However, reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important topics which we are currently addressing with operational departments to ensure that situations, such as the ones mentioned, are attended with immediate diligence.

We are humbled when a special guest recognizes the efforts of our organization and our employees meeting with grace their particular needs. Note has been taken on your generous recognition, Daniel, one of our butlers in the Gran Melia Resort in Puerto Rico.

We appreciate your business and hope you can give us another opportunity to wow you with an outstanding Meliá experience.

Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Continuing our 3 month vacation in PR...we decided to visit the Gran Melia. It looked great in the pictures.
Some issues. Getting there was no problem. Once there... The parking lot was very full, we got there 30 minutes before the check-in time. Had to wait in line for check in almost 45 minutes ( I've never seen this before in my 28 years traveling the world) management should have pulled more people to move this line. Once in the counter, our room was not ready. Ok? So the helpful young lady gave us a bunch of excuses. Anyway, decided to use the pool. Big pool, with a great bar and view. The hotel was packed, no chairs to sit pool side. The pool was dirty, trash in the pool and nearby. Finally the room was ready. It was a big hike from the main building, there are some employees driving around in golf-carts ferrying people, but all were full. Some weird bugs flying that seemed were meant to enter your nose or mouth. The room seemed outdated, very smelly (like it got wet and never dried properly) the beds are uncomfortable. Has a big bathroom and ours had a fantastic beach view, very quiet.
The ice machine was not working. An employee gave me another bunch of excuses, says people are filling mini-coolers.
Went to dinner at the Asian restaurant, luckily we had reservations, it was packed. The food was ok, expensive, deserts were superb.
Next morning, got early for breakfast, there was another huge line. Decent buffet. The line was even bigger when we got done. Expensive. Coffee was bad.
From there went to the pool, found chairs with umbrellas poolside. People were cleaning the pool. When they were done, the pool and poolside were still dirty and with beer cans? Local fauna swimming inside. We saw a frog and an iguana inside the main pool. Iguanas are everywhere in the property. Ordered 2 piñas coladas, after 20 days in PR and having tasted plenty of this local tasty drink, these 2 were the worst!!
Had dinner at Passion, fantastic local cuisine, amazing staff.
I don't think I'll stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Ralph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ralph A,

I am grateful you took some of your valuable time to review our hotel. I spent some time reviewing your comments, and I was extremely disappointed to learn that your service expectations fell short of a perfect rating.

Please accept my most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve our products and services.Reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important topics which we are currently addressing with operational departments to ensure that situations, such as the ones related to Front Desk, with immediate diligence. . Regarding the restaurant prices, rest assured that we hear our guests and we are making the changes in our menus to ensure all of our guests have alternatives for every budget.

Our ice machines are currently working properly and they have enough capacity to fill the ice buckets that we provide on our guests rooms. We are confronting some situations with guest that fill minicoolers which is causing a delay in the ice making process. We are trying to educate and control this situation so that other guests are not affected. If the guest needs extra ice we have it available for a small fee through our Room Service Department.

We appreciate your business and hope you can give us another opportunity to wow you with an outstanding Meliá experience.

Cordially yours,
Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

More than happy! I must say after I saw reviews that were negative we were nervous leading up to our stay. We are a family of 5 and stayed in Family suite in red level. We disappointed !! It was beautiful and clean. We had a beautiful view off of our patio of the ocean and the pool. A few tips of advice.. Go to breakfast early. Rent a car through Avis on the property don't order room service unless you want to wait 2 to 3 hours

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Rhonda G,

Thank you for your recent visit to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico. We appreciate you have taken your time to share your feedback as it is through these that we can improve our services. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our resort.

Reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay, we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important topics which we are currently addressing with operational departments to ensure that situations, such as the ones related to room service, are attended with immediate diligence. I have no doubt that when you next return to our hotel, you will notice an improvement.

We appreciate your business and hope you can give us another opportunity to wow you with an outstanding Meliá experience.

Cordially yours,
Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolina, Puerto Rico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

- First, this is not an all-inclusive hotel.
- Arrived at 4PM on a Wednesday, ready for the check-in, but the room was not provided until 6PM. Once we were able to get in the room it was musty. A glass broke in our bathroom, I called the cleaning service to ask for someone to come and clean the mess we made, they never came.
- Next day, went to Soleil for breakfast, had to wait in line for 45 minutes. Once we got it, almost 1/3 of the tables were available. Finished around 10:45AM, the same line of people waiting was still there and there were plenty of tables available. No reason for this wait. I would have understood the waiting period if all the tables were occupied, but they were not.
- The hotel was packed, but somehow they did not know how to prepare for all the guests.
- The positive note was the service from one of the waiters at Tempo, "Domingo".
- It will be tough to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORNOfertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ORNOfertas,

Thank you for choosing our property for you recent vacations. We strive to provide an exceptional experience for all of our guests. We do not like hearing that we fell short on delivering on your expectations.

Reviewing the service mishaps you encountered during your stay, we are genuinely sorry about your experience. You pointed in your review important topics which we are currently addressing with operational departments to ensure that situations, such as the ones related to guest services, and housekeeping are attended with immediate diligence. I have no doubt that when you next return to our hotel, you will notice an improvement.

Please accept our humble apologies.

Best regards,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience@granmeliapr.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is so beautiful but we had to wait literately over 3hrs to get to our room. I was standing in a line for over 1hr and half and then once at the desk was told the room was not ready so I waited another 1hr and half. The front desk clerk advised me this is there normal process everyday. I cant believe management has not address this issue. The food was extremely expensive and poor quality. The staff was very nice. I don't plan to return. The pool was over crowed. I don't see the purpose on charging for self parking when there is nothing out there. I have stayed at several hotels and this was unbelievable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran_Melia_PR, General Manager at Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Jeannette B,

I am grateful you took some of your valuable time to review our hotel. I spent some time reviewing your comments, and I was extremely disappointed to learn that your service expectations fell short of a perfect rating.

Please accept my most sincere apologies and know that your feedback is most useful as we strive to improve our products and services. Regarding the restaurant prices, rest assured that we hear our guests and we are making the changes in our menus to ensure all of our guests have alternatives for every budget.

You pointed in your review important topics which we are currently addressing with operational departments to ensure that situations, such as the ones related to Guest Services, are addressed in a promptly manner to keep improving our services. I have no doubt that when you next return to our hotel, you will notice an improvement.

We hope that we can welcome you again in our property and give you more than a perfect stay.

Sincerely yours,

Carlos De Freitas
Managing Director
GMPRGuestExperience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rio Grande
1.8 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
19.4 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,884 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
19.1 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico

Property: Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico
Address: 200 Coco Beach Blvd. | Highway 955-I, Rio Grande 00745, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Rio Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rio Grande
#3 Spa Hotel in Rio Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico 4*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an idyllic location on Puerto Rico's northeastern coast in Coco Beach, Rio Grande, Gran Melia Puerto Rico brings the privacy and exclusivity you deserve and allows you the opportunity to escape from the rest of the world. From the moment you step inside this tropical oasis, you will be enveloped by the beauty and grandeur of Gran Melia Puerto Rico. Boasting a world-class YHI spa, the nearby Trump International Golf Club and the best pool on the island with four integrated whirlpools, Gran Melia Puerto Rico is the place to live the true resort experience in Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Hotel Rio Grande
Gran Melia Rio Grande
Sol Melia Rio Grande
Paradisus Puerto Rico
Gran Melia Golf Resort Puerto Rico Rio Grande

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing