We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Fox-Lycetts”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
The_Fox-L...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Fox-Lycetts”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely warm cosy cottage, equipped with everything needed for a perfect break. Spotlessly clean. My husband, 2 dogs & I had a fab time. Easy access to all areas, secure for the dogs to have a roam around the garden whilst we had our morning coffee looking out on the beautiful views. The neighbours German Shepherd liked to make itself heard when our dogs were in the garden but dogs will be dogs! Would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a peaceful place to stay with access to all areas of the Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2017
Thank You for spending time giving us such a wonderful review. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terry G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent cosy, quiet cottage. Ideal for exploring Northern Cumbria.”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Located in the quiet village of Torpenhow, the cottage is ideally located to explore Northern Cumbria or Scotland by car, or for a quiet cosy relaxing holiday. The cottage itself was clean, the kitchen is well equipped, bathroom had hot shower, comfy beds, plenty of space in the living room and a nice seating area outside. The owners were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Thank You for your excellent review Terry. Glad you enjoyed your 2 week long stay and hope to welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandra195...
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sun cottage”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Had very pleasant stay, cottage was clean, good kitchen with lots of bits, nice touch having gaming console for kids. Very nice bathroom and good shower. Only drawback was that garden wasn't secure for dogs or for kids but we managed to prop the gate up. Saw some lovely sunsets and will definitely be coming back to Cumbria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Hello, thank you for the review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The gate isn't attached because guests need access through the garden to the cottage next door, and we felt that it would be easier this way. It does however fit tightly enough to stop children and kids escaping! and no guests have mentioned it as an issue before! Thank You for the comment however and we will note it for future guests. Kind Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyBro...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cosy quiet cottage”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed here for three nights en route to Scotland and it was perfect. Well equipped kitchen, cosy lounge, comfortable beds. Good WiFi. Very clean and well organised recycling. Lovely view from back garden and great to have garden furniture to use while sipping morning coffee. Had reasonable weather so were out and about most days . Would definitely stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank You for this wonderful review. We glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rajatsriv...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent stay value for money”
Reviewed 22 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Nice cottage to spend time in peace. Its in middle of village but quite silent and peaceful village where one can enjoy if wanted to spend some time outside crowded city. 30-40 min drive to all main locations of Lake District.
Cottage will have all amenities including washing liquids, bath towels and kitchen utencils too. Nice owner and great experience....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thank You very much for this great review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thank you for a great review, we really appreciate it! we hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Kind Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NellieEll...
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice clean cottage.”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Situated on the northern edge of the Lake District, this nice clean cottage was well equipped and spacious. Supermarkets only 10 minutes drive in Cockermouth or Wigton. Wifi extremely slow.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Hello, thank You for taking time to leave a review. Apologies for the wifi speed, this is due to the location of the cottage and totally out of our hands. We hope this didn't affect your stay too much!
Regards
Chris & Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing