We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“7 night stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa G
1 review
“7 night stay”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2018

Spacious cottage, clean and well equipped with a few personal touches, situated in a quiet village, 1 mile walk to the local pub and a 5 mile drive to local shops, ideal central location to visit all the Lake District has to offer, within 1 hours drive to most popular attractions, such as Wildlife park, local distillery, Scafell Pike, Railway rides, Lake Windermere boat cruises, Museums, Castles and much more.
Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 9 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Ideal setting if you want to get away from it all.
We had 3 small dogs with us which we thought may go against us but the owner was not put out by this thankfully.
With regard to the dogs we had to keep an eye on them when in the garden as they could have easily got out under the gap in the gate to the side of the property.
We did point this out to the owner and he said he would look into this.
We would certainly recommend this property which was clean and tidy.
Also the owner was only a phone call away should we need him.
Would book again in the future.

Thank you and regards
Andrew & Sylvia Garbett.
Telford Shropshire.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania K
1 review
“2 night stay.”
Reviewed 23 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Lovely area cottage felt home from home with everything you could need. Beds clean & comfy & some great walking areas all around. We ate out in the evenings at the pub up the lane a good mile walk but we had great weather for it & the guys that worked in there are so friendly we felt relaxed & the food was great. We took our 20 week old puppy & he was so good he loved it . Good cottage at the right price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty, perfect, sPotless.”
Reviewed 20 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

As soon as we stepped over the door we smiled - cottage exactly as advertised, big cosy sitting room with log-effect stove, massive squashy sofa, tv, games, and spotless. Torpenhow is a gorgeous little place and we loved the 12c church at the end of the lane that was open every day. Torpenhow was out of this world, a tiny rural hamlet, we could watch farmers going to work from the front windows, hear all the lambs baa-ing from the back and the kitchen (which was bright and fully stocked). The bathroom was fab, really modern with a massive bathtub under the (powerful) shower. We had everything we needed, Val and Chris were there instantly when we'd a couple of questions and nothing was any bother. I cannot recommend it highly enough, such a fab cottage so close to the seaside, towns and countryside of the Lake District.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank You for your wonderful review Frances. Much appreciated! Viv Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 15 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Ok before i start review this cottage would be great with improvements. We booked a three night stay,unfortunately we only managed one night this was mainly due to very uncomfortable bed( not much sleep) also the couch was very uncomfortable so much so you could feel wooden frame and the cusioning was way past it best. In the kitchen the hob wasnt very clean and two of the bowls had damage and couldnt be used.
The kids were very upset not to find any sign of a trampoline as advertised also the back garden as shown in advert was actually number one's.We couldnt and wouldnt see ourselves relaxing so we had to find other accommodation.no matter what you pay you expect a certain standard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2018
Hello, Thank You for your constructive criticism we do welcome and take on board any that our guests give us! This is the first time anybody has complained about the bed, however we do check and if need be replace the mattresses, s and will replace it for future guests! With regards to the sofa, we agree that it isn't the best quality however it is only 18 months old and definitely isn't dirty as said in your email to us, and as with other furniture, we do replace when needed, but you are the first person to point this out to us! I have today personally checked all the bowls and found one with a slight chip in it which I put in the bin, but none of the others were cracked! And finally with regards to the trampoline, the trampoline is not in number 2s garden, but we do in fact own both cottages and the derelict pub on the end in which the trampoline is in and can be used by guests of both properties. We own three rental properties in the area and have never received anything but a 4 or 5 star review, and feel that if you had contacted us (we only live down the road), and it took you two days to email us after I had contacted you! we could have rectified as many of these problems as we could for you and you needn't have found alternative acomodation and paying out extra. Thank You Kind Regards Viv & Chris Bell
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne A
1 review
“Sun Inn cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great little cottage, very clean and homely after a day walking .
Short of nothing lovely area and great pub in the next village would recommend for a short break .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing