We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well cared for!”
Review of Highside Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highside Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Well cared for!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are walkers and booked the Highside as we were exploring the Northern Fells. The Highside provided a perfect place to retreat to after our expedition. We got a warm welcome, and a lovely, immaculate, tranquil room overlooking Bassenthwaite. The breakfast in the morning was second to none. Staff friendly, chatty and very hospitable. We will stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Struth79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    22
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
49
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we have stayed at highside farm for the last three years and have booked again this year,,fantastic accommodation, cumfy beds, great breakfast, everything is the best quality and always a warm welcome and a homely feel, would highly recommend this as a top place to stay.

Room Tip: we stay in Skiddow as this is ground floor and ideal for anyone with walking difficulties
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton -Le-Fylde
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Highside Farm on the weekend before Christmas as we were attending a wedding in Bassenthwaite. What a great find ! All three rooms we had were fantastic with designer touches, comfy beds and loads of fluffy towels .When we arrived after driving through storms and flooded roads , the owners kindly made pots of tea and coffee and provided plates of cake and mince pies, very welcome. Breakfast was great with plenty of choice and big portions to satisfy any hungry diner. Would definitely recommend you stay here ......we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seds2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in the Ulllock Pike room which was very luxurious; fabulous view of the lake, wonderful character, Lewis and Cole toiletries, fluffy towels which were changed on both nights and bedding was made.

The breakfast if wonderful and you could have whatever you wanted cooked to order, with big portiions and Denby pottery (what a treat!). Very friendly and warm and couldn't do enough to accomodate.

The Farm inside and out is so immaculately clean and full of character - it's a very tranquil place.

Close to our favourite pub the Snooty Fox in Ulldale, not far from Ennerdale which is an amazing walk and Keswick - definitely return

Thank you.

Room Tip: Room at front fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The room was disappointing as it did not have any view other than that it was very comfortable. The web photos are misleading, the farm is right on the A591 and Bassenthwaite Lake is some distance away. The owner and staff are very pleasant and the breakfasts are excellent. If you are going to climb Skiddaw this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: If you require a ground floor room ask for the Skiddaw room, the only drawback it has no windows, on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Very nice B&B with lovely rooms - we had to swap for our last night and the second room was as good as the first. Excellent breakfast served by a friendly, chatty woman whose name unfortunately escapes me. If you're planning to tackle Skiddaw this is a great place to start from - MUCH better walk and views than approaching it from Keswick! Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickTheHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary weekend and it has to be the best b & b we have ever stayed at. Martyn was very welcoming and more than helpful, even giving us a lift to the start of our walk, above and beyond what we expected. Breakfasts were superb and served by two lovely helpful friendly staff members who were more than happy to stop and chat. Our room was superb and very clean. We were also shown the other rooms which were all equally charming and very clean. We will definately return here and would be more than happy to recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonesmelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,043 reviews
2.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
518 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
501 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highside Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highside Farm

Property: Highside Farm
Address: Bassenthwaite, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High side Farm is a luxury farmhouse b&b over looking Bassenthwaite Lake. Situated at the foot of Skiddaw and Ullock pike it makes an idea base for walkers, also only 2 miles from the osprey viewpoint. Highside is a working beef and sheep farm. Highside has been recently renovated to a very high standard receiving the prestigious accolade of the 4 star silver award. You can be assured of a warm Cumbrian welcome at High side farm and we look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Highside Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highside Farm Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing