We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keswick Mountain Festival”
Review of Highside Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highside Farm
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Keswick Mountain Festival”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Great BnB, room was faultless with nice en suite. Good breakfast and staff were very accommodating despite me mess the booking up. It is a little far out from keswick (5 miles) cost around £10 in a taxi. Overall, a great place to stay

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    22
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
49
117
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My family and I stayed here for a weekend in the family room (Ullock Pike), the place was brilliant, clean and friendly. We had a great time and will definitely be going back. The local pub in Bassenthwaite village was excellent for a couple (or more) of local beers.
The owners were attentive and couldn't of done more to assist or help out, we felt very at home here.
Would highly recommend for all.

Room Tip: We stayed in Ullock Pike overlooking the lake with the most comfortable bed ever, but all rooms look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmccann733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Really enjoyed our one night stay. Very friendly and pleasant hosts, lovely room with great views. Breakfast was excellent, just what you would want from a farmhouse B&B. Guest sitting room also a very pleasant feature. Would definitely stay again and recommend Highside Farm B&B.

Room Tip: Family room had great views over open fields to Bassenthwaite Lake and peaks in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We chose this Bed and Breakfast after reading the very good reviews on Tripadvisor - we were not at all disappointed. In fact it exceeded expectations.
- It wasn't just the breakfasts which were just as good as others have said.
- It wasn't just the location which is spot on for the quieter northern part of the Lakes.
- It wasn't just the accommodation which was comfortable and comprehensive.
- It wasn't just the facilities on offer.
It was something more important than that but rather more indefinable - it was the attitudes of all that work there. I was left with the impression that, within reason, nothing was too much trouble, and that your enjoyment of the house and the area was at the forefront of all that they do here.
If the opportunity arose again I would have no hesitation in going back.
It is a great location for walkers, climbers and those wishing to tour around.

Room Tip: Although the rooms on the roadside can pick up road noise this is no real problem and they both have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogcollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great little B&B, the staff were very helpful. Room was spotless and comfy, the room had a TV and tea making facilities.

Breakfast was fantastic and made with local produce!



Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I had a great two nights at Highside Farm bnb. Nice room with everything you need and great breakfast. Made to feel welcome by the owners and great views all around. Very nice to look over the lake whilst eating in the morning.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dutchess247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We are walkers and booked the Highside as we were exploring the Northern Fells. The Highside provided a perfect place to retreat to after our expedition. We got a warm welcome, and a lovely, immaculate, tranquil room overlooking Bassenthwaite. The breakfast in the morning was second to none. Staff friendly, chatty and very hospitable. We will stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Struth79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,044 reviews
2.1 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
519 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Pheasant Inn
The Pheasant Inn
#4 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
503 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highside Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highside Farm

Property: Highside Farm
Address: Bassenthwaite, Bassenthwaite CA12 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High side Farm is a luxury farmhouse b&b over looking Bassenthwaite Lake. Situated at the foot of Skiddaw and Ullock pike it makes an idea base for walkers, also only 2 miles from the osprey viewpoint. Highside is a working beef and sheep farm. Highside has been recently renovated to a very high standard receiving the prestigious accolade of the 4 star silver award. You can be assured of a warm Cumbrian welcome at High side farm and we look forward to meeting you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highside Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highside Farm Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing