We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely day out in the Lakes - go for the 'experiences'”

The Lake District Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trotters World of Animals has rebranded to become the Lake District Wildlife Park, representing the transition from its early days as a farm park. Today, emphasis is very much on conservation, education and engaging with visitors - our Keepers are keen to talk and enjoy passing on their knowledge and enthusiasm. Wander around our beautiful 24 acre parkland and see over 100 species. The magical Bird of Prey flying displays have been a regular feature since the park opened and we have gathered an eclectic mix of over 100 species from Anaconda to Zebra. The Granddad of the park is Brian the Lar Gibbon - he is the oldest in Europe and has pride of place in the centre of the park where he and his family can be seen swinging from the massive Oak tree. We joined the Zoo Federation (now BIAZA) in 2002 and over the years we have successfully worked with Zoo stud books to breed rarer species like Canadian Lynx, Asian Fishing Cats and Ring Tailed Lemurs to name just three.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lovely day out in the Lakes - go for the 'experiences'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We went to this zoo a couple of times now. The zoo itself isn't very big but well designed and would make a good afternoon out with plenty to do and see for kids. If you have the opportunity I definitely recommend paying extra for the falconry experience and feeding the lemurs. During the falconry experience, you start with a cute tiny little owl inside, the guide then takes you outside and you do a long walk with a falcon. Finally, when you are comfortable, you finish by an other smaller walk with a hawk. Absolutely brilliant! Feeding the lemurs is a very fun experience too. You start by preparing the fruits that you will feed the lemurs. Then the guide takes you to the enclosure. The cheeky lemurs know that they are going to be fed and come straight away! They eve climb on you to get the best pieces (pineapple and bananas :-). Just be careful when they are above you as they have no regard for what's beneath them when they go to the toilet...

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ti_boo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    152
    44
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
974 reviews
462 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Loved the red panda”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Spent a couple of hours here with our teenage daughter and had a good time. We attended the feeding of the otters and the red panda. The information from the keeper was well presented and quite interesting. The red panda was absolutely gorgious when coming down to eat her bamboo. They have a nice mix of domestic animals that you can touch and more exotic animals we enjoyed watching. The birds of prey was taken out to have a flight one by one - nice to watch as well.
We didn't try the cafe.
A perfect place for an outing if your children likes animals.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllenChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We found this attraction very informative. Good talks and lots to see. We had a great day out in a lovely setting with a variety of animals. We also learned many new animals we had never heard of before!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

My wife, our 13 month old daughter and I visited mid week in April. We all enjoyed it thoroughly. It was relatively quiet. We had lunch in the cafe which was ok, nothing to write home about, but not too pricey either. There seemed to be only a few staff who were running the cafe and the gift shop so service was a bit slow, I'd like to think more staff would be there in busier times or things must grind to a halt.
There was a great variety of animals and birds, all enclosures accessible with a pushchair. We went to see the reptile experience. The handler was brilliant with the kids and the interaction was great, I can't remember the last time I had a snake round my neck!

A really nice experience, expect around 3 hours of entertainment.

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went to the Wildlife Park on the 8th March 2014. We had a thoroughly enjoyable morning and probably would have stayed longer if the 8 year old in the group wasn't getting tired and cold.
The encounters and talks were amazing and we thought the bird of prey & owl man (Richard?) was brilliant, he had us laughing away several times. Lots of animals to see and the enclosures seemed nice and suitable. We had lunch in the cafe and found it reasonable at less than £20 for 2 adults and a child.
The only thing that let it down a little was a couple of paths were near inaccessible because of mud due to the recent rains, not entirely the parks fault but it'd be nice to see gravel laid so all the paths can be used.
We'd happily go back but probably wait until summer.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lake District Wildlife Park also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to The Lake District Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing