We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wildlife park and lovely staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lake District Wildlife Park

The Lake District Wildlife Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Trotters World of Animals has rebranded to become the Lake District Wildlife Park, representing the transition from its early days as a farm park. Today, emphasis is very much on conservation, education and engaging with visitors - our Keepers are keen to talk and enjoy passing on their knowledge and enthusiasm. Wander around our beautiful 24 acre parkland and see over 100 species. The magical Bird of Prey flying displays have been a regular feature since the park opened and we have gathered an eclectic mix of over 100 species from Anaconda to Zebra. The Granddad of the park is Brian the Lar Gibbon - he is the oldest in Europe and has pride of place in the centre of the park where he and his family can be seen swinging from the massive Oak tree. We joined the Zoo Federation (now BIAZA) in 2002 and over the years we have successfully worked with Zoo stud books to breed rarer species like Canadian Lynx, Asian Fishing Cats and Ring Tailed Lemurs to name just three.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great wildlife park and lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Its a lovely, medium sized wildlife park with the animals having plenty of space in their enclosures (lots of zoos are urban but this one has loads of open spaces). There is a good variety of animals to view - meerkats, lemurs, zebra, wildebeast, otters, birds of prey and many more. The keepers all seem really dedicated, knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions. Particularly enjoyed the birds of prey display - the best one I've seen with lots of frank insights into the training of the birds.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    150
    42
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Small zoo with limited animals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

We visited the wild life park the name was big but the truth was small zoo geared for small kids .not for even grown kids

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Khalid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Many memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I have been here many times as a child and have so many wonderful memories. We still go back there on a regular basis. It's a fantastic place for all the family with very friendly and helpful staff. The animals are clearly well looked after and it's in such a beautiful setting. Definitely worth a look, it's fantastic for an afternoon outside. Make sure you take your Welles though as some of the paths can be a bit wet and muddy. Overall though a great place.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank euanjpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a look ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This park didn't look much from the outside but was nice inside several animals and park is a good walk round spent about 3 hours looking round

Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great little zoo for adults and kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Don't go expecting Chester zoo, but do go to enjoy a stress free day away from the mad summer bustle of Keswick. There are plenty of interesting animals, and the kids loved getting up close to many of them. There are regular free talks - the birds of prey demonstration should not be missed - the keeper is informative and a bit of a comedian. The meerkats and ring tailed lemurs are popular of course. There is a covered picnic area (mind the wasps!) but this is not a rainy day activity. There are a couple of brown signs but the actual entrance (next to Armathwaite Hall hotel) is marked only with a tiny sign. It seems they don't want to develop into a major attraction, but want to concentrate on conservation with what they have. Our ten year old boy girl twins rated it a good day out.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lake District Wildlife Park also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 

Been to The Lake District Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing