We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely village pub”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: we are dog friendly and child friendly with a choice of home cooked meals from burgers to steak pies to light salads, gluten free choices on our menu and Monday night is curry night ( also providing full menu) specials provided daily and lovely desserts to tempt you
Cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely village pub”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I have been to the sun inn sereval times, the food is lovely, very good menu and special board. Bar staff friendly and happy to help, also dog friendly which is great for us, would definalty recommend a visit! Lovely little hide away in bassenthwaite

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Countrychick1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    119
    38
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely place.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Been here a couple of times now. The barmaids/waitresses are happy and friendly. The food portions are on the big side which is fine as the food is great. Good choice in menu as well as speacials board (including kids menu). They have a car park across the road from the pub, and plenty of outdoor seating. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank StuartTurnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spoiled by rudeness”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The meal was reasonable, the waitresses were lovely but unfortunately my birthday meal was spoiled by the utter rudeness of the barman towards both us and the other staff. It did not make us feel welcome at all. Surely common courtesy is the first requirement for such a job? Won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JPGC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice little pub”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice little pub in the village, very popular, food simple bar food, I've had similar veggie lasagne elsewhere. Parking located across the road behind houses and it doesn't open until 4pm. Staff very helpful and pleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quick drink”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stopped off here for a quick refreshment as we had been recommended to visit here as they accept dogs. Plenty parking available across the road in the pubs car park which was probably due to the time of day and also the fact that when we entered the pub we were the only people in there. When we entered the pub the female who was tending the bar was at the entrance stating that she was trying to get a signal on her mobile. We couldn't decide on what real ale to try and were quite surprised that the bar staff weren't forthcoming with any recommendations or advice. After purchasing our drinks we made our way outdoors to sit in the sun. In the short time we were there quite a few people turned up so we reckon this is quite a popular place to visit. The ale was very nice but the hospitality we didn't receive made our visit short and sweet.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smell65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
 
Bassenthwaite, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing