We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The evening meal was ok (bog standard veg and potatoes almost as if they had come out of a tin) but the service was fantastic. Very friendly and attentive.

Was it worth the money? We have eaten at world ranking restaurants that have charged the same price and delivered far more.

Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cumbriangenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    303
    178
    89
    72
See reviews for
314
909
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed here for a 3 night break, mainly to do some walking and enjoy the Spa.

First impressions were excellent, this is the first hotel I've stayed in where the Porter takes you on a tour of the facilities before showing you to your room.

Its not a cheap break location but you get what you pay for here. Both the Lake View Restaurant and the Brasserie served excellent food. The service was attentive without being intrusive.

Our room was a large deluxe lake view - plenty of space, good sitting area and comfy bed.

The Spa is great. 16m pool with outside hot tub and sauna/steam/aroma rooms and jacuzzi plus all the usual spa treatments. Decent gym also

Lots of space to sit and relax. They have a snooker room and plenty of board games if the weather turns bad! Wi fi also available

Its a great location from which to walk the Northern Fells - they will make up a pretty good packed lunch for you.

This was our first stay and we have now got a definite banker in the Lake District when we fancy a break

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PMwhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

we had a lovely weekend here, the hotel is beautiful,large fireplaces, wood panelling, a wonderful atmosphere, and very attentive staff.we had a garden suite, the room was large, bed was enormous with more than ample bedding and pillows, very comfortable,tea/coffee,biscuits,bottled water, grapes and redcurrants! lovely.the bathroom was modern,with a TV in the bathroom wall above the bath, and all very clean.we used the spa twice, the pool is a good size for a swim,as so often the pools look large in the brochure, and are disapointingly not.hot tub outside is great,relaxing and enjoying the views,or any wedding guests passing by!! wehad massages,again very satisfactory, then taken to the quiet room where you are wrapped in a blanket, then a fur throw is put on top aswell..spoilt. we ate in both the main dining room ,andthe brasserie, we prefered the main didning, as more choice, but both were good,the brasserie being more casual.breakfast in the conservatory was lovely, especially if you sit by the window, plenty of choice, and all very tasteful and delicious.i would recomend the hotel, only down side is the expense, but its lovely for a treat.,

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippadina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

It's always hard as a single parent to find somewhere really nice with your child/children that is welcoming and does make you feel a bit odd. However Armathwaite got it just right, I have just returned from a three night break with my five year old daughter and from start to finish we had a great time. Reception staff very very friendly and helpful, giving me tips to keep my five year old occupied in and around Keswick. Room was lovely and the spa amazing! They had lots of board games that we played by the open fire and did not feel as if we were disturbing the peace. Trotters World of Adventure was brill and we got in for free as guests at the hotel. Lovely staff there I might add.

If I was to be picky..... The brasserie was slightly overpriced for a child's meal and you had to have either a two course or three course meal, we just wanted the one!

Overall, we had a great time, my daughter loved it, so did I and will I go back, definitely.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herstory1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We usually choose to stay at the Hand Picked chain of hotels in the UK, but we specifically wanted to visit the Lake District for our last anniversary celebration as single people before our wedding in March 2011. We were dismayed that there was nothing in this region but, a search of the internet found this absolute gem.
We stayed for a long weekend and everything about our stay was perfect, even the weather was kind to us. I cannot praise this hotel or it's staff highly enough. We stayed in the Bousted Suite which had fabulous views over the lake and surrounding landscape. If you get the chance book this suite, you will not be disappointed.
Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, who actually took time to chat and seemed genuinely interested in you.
We had two treatments each in the spa, which was as good as any I've been to previously and then enjoyed champagne in the outdoor hot tub, under the stars, very romantic.
The afternoon tea is a must, it is my weakness and I try to indulge at every opportunity. I can honestly say that Armathwaite Hall afternoon tea is the best I have ever had. The sandwiches were well filled, the homemade cakes and biscuits superb. We had so much we had to take some back to our room with us to eat later.
We ate in both the brasserie and also the main restaraunt, both were excellent in terms of food and service. Breakfast is waiter service in the week and buffet style at the weekend. My preference is for waiter style and if you make this known they will accomodate.
The grounds are lovely for a walk, and if you are up early you will see the deer.
As we were leaving they were getting ready for Christmas, and we decided we must go back there during the festive period as it looked so beautiful.
You are made to feel like a welcome family member rather than just another guest, and it is touches like that which make all the difference.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slimfastlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

Attended for a conference, but was truly spoiled in the luxurious surroundings. Good food, but the friendly and helpful staff were what made it particularly special.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachTheH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

We visited last year and enjoyed it so much we thought we would give it a try again,we wern't disappointed good service ,great room, leisure centre was fab the only minor criticism I have is the food,although very good got cold very quickly during the evening meal perhaps they need to make the plates hot to put the food on. Even so I think we will be back next year

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliet069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing