We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$103
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$119
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$227
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveller rating
1,072
339
196
96
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,072
339
196
96
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe outdoor hot tublake view restaurantarmathwaite hallafternoon teaclub roomhush roomglass of champagnearoma roomcream tealakeview restaurantstately homethermal suiteon arrivalsconescourse mealquichechristmas decorations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,485 - 1,490 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just had the most wonderful stay, the children wanted to sleep in a castle and that is what it feels like. Trotters Animal Park is an excellent extension to the estate as are the pool facilities. The children were made to feel extremely welcome at dinner, providing half portions and an excellent service. We had a thoroughly enjoyable half term break.

Room Tip: Ring for best room but looks fairly well booked. I preferred being in the main house as it feels more special.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This break was fantastic - stayed at Armathwaite 5 years ago and thought it could not get better but it has. Unbelievable spa facility, unbelievable food, fantastic professional service - this is the kind of break you only dream of. Don't let the price put you off if you add the individual costs of all experiences together this turns out to be great value for money.

Room Tip: second floor over looking gardens / lake
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steveh123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed three nights, and had the most amazing time. Our room had a beautiful veiw of the lake, which was stunning. Loved the flat screen in the bathroom...what a treat! I had three treatments in the Spa, all of which were wonderfully soothing. My husband went clay pigeon shooting and loved it. The quad bike safari is a must, I havent had so much fun for years! The food in the Lakeside restaurant is just delicious. The staff were very attentive and did all they could to make sure we had a good time

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I met up with a friend to have a spa break. We had a lovely welcome by the reception team.
We were taken to our room by the porter who was very helpful. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable and extremely clean. We found complimentary fruit and water in the room along with the usual tea and coffee facilities. Our trip was primarily to enjoy the spa. We had lunch at the brassiere which had a great choice and delicious food. The spa area was tremendous and the two of us took advantage of the hot tub set in the beautiful countryside. Inside the spa area, they had a jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and aroma room. Two specialised showers to freshen up. A quick dip in the illuminated pool and a quick rest on the loungers delightful. After a lovely evening enjoyed in the hotel and a good night sleep, we were treated to a full breakfast overlooking Bassenthwaite Lake. Our spa treatment was very relaxing and after we were ushered into the hush room for more relaxation. The hotel was first class and the staff were extremely friendly. I would recommend anyone to enjoy this lovely hotel. I'm already looking forward to my return trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed for 1 night to celebrate our engagement. We had an amazing stay at this beautiful hotel. We stayed in one of the rooms with a lake view and it was beautiful. The food in the Lakeside Restaurant was of the highest standard both for dinner and breakfast. The staff were very attentive and certainly went the extra mile to look after us. The spa facilities were lovely and we particulalry liked the sauna with a window looking onto the gardens and the outdoor hot tub. The little touches made such a big difference and we had such a lovely time that we are even considering have our wedding at the hotel. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews