We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure luxury in beautiful surroundings!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed at the hall on a two day package including dinner on one night and afternoon tea on the second night. What excellent value. From the drive in to such a beautiful building which was decorated sumptiously, to the minute we checked out, we had a wonderful time. Every member of staff we dealt with was attentive and helpful. The food was exceptional and made all the better for the lovely dining room. Extremely relaxing, just reading the paper in the lounge and the Spa just topped it all off. Nothing could beat sitting out in the hot tub in the dark. We also took advantage of a couple of classes to burn off all we had eaten. It isnt cheap but as previous posters have said - you get what you pay for. I would rather pay a bit extra and have less nights when this is the quality provided. The owners should be very proud of the hotel and certainly the staff. PS We were lucky to be there as the hall was decorated for Christmas - worth a visit for afternoon tea if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Lake view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,409 - 1,415 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stopped by chance for a weekday lunch and were extremely glad we did.
Greeted with a polite, friendly courteous receptionist had us shown to a sumptious sitting area with a view to take your breath away whilst we had a pre lunch drink.The dining room has a similar view, the service was attentive, efficient and in keeeping with the exceptional surroundings. The food was of a very good standard and we would certainly return.
This is a lovely place, gorgeous grounds and we would like to return to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank acerfOrmby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Just got back from two nights at this hotel. The staff were wonderful. They took the time to talk to us and they offered friendly welcoming advice and information. Our room was lovely, the public rooms were warm, welcoming, extremely clean. Food was lovely. The spa was fabulous. Overall a fantastic place. Thank you!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alico_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

My daughter and her new husband selected Armathwaite for their wedding. I can't thank the staff enough for making what was going to be a special day into a very special day. I could not find fault with anything and will be returning soon.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a lake view and it was beautiful... The placei s expensive but the old adage is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenAndBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I was looking for a complete relax and unwind break for my wife & I and booked the Hotel at the last minute for a 3 night midweek stay. I had been offered a Deluxe Lake View Room with Dinner B&B board and to be honest was a bit worried about how much of a lake view I would have from the room and at being commited to having dinner in the Hotel every night.
I shouldn't have worried, the room was fantastic and opened the curtains on the first morning to spectacular open views across the lake and mountains. The menu, the food and the service in the Lake View restaraunt was first class and the fact that we had to get dressed for dinner made it seem that little bit more special. We used the Spa facilities every day and these are on a par with the best - the outdoor hot-tub overlooking the gardens is something special. The atmosphere in the hotel and the friendly professionalism of the staff just made this the perfect relaxing break that we had been looking for. WELL DONE TO ALL AT ARMATHWAITE HALL - when in need of some true R&R I'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Excellent hotel with first cass staff and delicious food. We only ate in the Lake View Restaurant but other guests comments on the Brasserie were very good. We had a room in the older part which had a small terrace and view of the lake.....stunning! The spa and facilities are fabulous in fact the best we have ever seen. My husband really enjoyed his surprise birthday present and we shall recommend Armathwaite Hall to all friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat227131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We have just spent an amazing weekend break at Armethwaite Hall and already planning a return visit. We only booked 4 days prior to going , requested a club room but got upgraded to a suite (never had this kind of luck before!) and wow what a room- the best in the hotel we were told by the receptionist, the views towards the lake, the size and the bathroom with jaquzzi, his and hers sink and separate shower unit was just the best we have ever experienced.
A note also to congratulate the service of the staff- from the receptionist, butlers, and dining room staff are a credit to the hotel- everyone of them !
The spa was also the best ever- the outdoor hot tub was to die for after a hard days walking!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main Hall with lake views- go for a suite well worth the spacious / luxury accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolwrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £127 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing