We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the Lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxury in the Lakes”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, dinner bed and breakfast to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. On arrival (early) we were warmly welcomed and our bags taken care of so we could enjoy the day.
We used the spa facilities which were immaculate and added to the relaxing atmosphere of the hotel.
We also went clay pigeon shooting which was great fun.
Our room (standard) was luxurious and again immaculate. Our bed was turned down each night.
To the food and service. All staff were attentative whilst not intrusive. Dinner each night was fantastic. We had thought we may use the voucher system to eat in Keswick one night but dinner at Armathwaite was too good to miss.
Breakfast was the only slight disappointment in that it was a buffet style breakfast which was plentiful in choice but quality not what we might have expected especially considering the high standard of everything else.
All in all though an excellent hotel which I would recommend to anyone after a touch of luxury in the lakes.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbirlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    300
    177
    86
    70
See reviews for
311
899
19
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed here during April for a short break and were very impressed. A little bit of luxury. Ours was the club room which was extremely comfortable,food was good,views to die for and lovely grounds. The spa was absolute bliss. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Seven of us spent five wonderful days at Armathwaite Hall. We were celebrating my brothers 25th Wedding Anniversary and a friends birthday. We had a fabulous time, The bedrooms and en suites were beautiful, the staff were delightful and helped to make it a marvellous break. There is beautiful countryside all around and we did long walks which prepared us for the delicious food in the restaurant at night. There is also a Spa Suite with everything you need to relax including a swimming pool and a large jacuzzi.Also within the estate is a zoo where we spent a very happy morning.
Can't wait to go back to Armathwaite Hall again. See you there.

Room Tip: All four of our rooms were first class and as its on a large estate very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hatie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed for two nights on a Secret Escapes package during April. The hotel is real old world English Lakes type venue, the wood panelled hall is as you entre is very atmospheric. The grounds are amazing and the view is to die for from the front of the building - directly overlooking the top of the lake and further onto the nearby hills.
Reception check-in was very efficient - we were a bit early and the room wasn't quite ready. We were staying in a Spa room - just along the corridor from the main hall, this was a lovely room, large enough with a walk in wardrobe, and very spacious new bathroom - complete with built in TV. There was also a small terrace at the front which we sat out in the sun later - very pleasant. (One minor comment - where had the room doors come from - a car boot sale?!)
Cream tea was sampled outside and this was lovely on the terrace. Later we went to the spa - this has been done really well - a first class facility - ultra modern and with all the comforts. Indoor jacuzzi, steam room, sauna with outside windows onto the terrace and pool - along with the outdoor hot tub as well - a great early evening relaxer with a glass of bubbly! Later in the weekend, also sampled a hot stone massage which was first class.
We had food in the brasserie on the first night - very efficient service and good food. The drinks are also suprisingly reasonably priced at this hotel - unusual for a high quality hotel where you usually pay a premium.
On the second night, we dined in the restaurant. This was reasonable, the lounge bar service before is unusual - for its more rural location, the hotel adopts a more formal service approach which feels a little uncomfortable. The restaurant food was perfectly reasonable -service was a little unusual - our waiter brought the cheese plate to us - already sliced and allocated without the discussion which is a big part of Cheese board courses - a bit of a shame.
Breakfast in the restaurant was great - a good morning treat. It was a reluctant check out the next morning, this was a fantastic weekend and the hotel maintains its reputation well.

Room Tip: Spa ground floor rooms are lovely - especially with the little terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlodge5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights for our 29th Anniversary. The hotel exceeded our expectations in terms of service, cleanliness, comfort and delicious food. we even indulged in a couple of treatments as part of the package which were great fun and the whole spa area was a delight and of very high standard. Although we live 5 hours away we will certainly try to go back. I am coeliac and they were very knowledgeable about my diet in the restaurant too.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room before the downstairs door to the spa corridor, which was very quiet. I ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyT66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Me & my husband stayed here at the start of April for one night for our wedding anniversary. All I can say is WOW!! The grounds are beautiful, the Spa is amazing, the food is good & the staff are friendly, helpful & very polite - couldn't fault it one bit - just perfect!

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't near the function room if there is a wedding on - there are alot of wedding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladymcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland, tyne and wear
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I took my wife for an overnight stay at Armathwaite Hall and i must admit the place is very impressive! The hotel has fantastic views of the lakes and mountains which just looked like a picture postcard. The grounds are a delight to walk round and you could see all the wild rabbits running round. Staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We were part of a package that was booked through Secret Escapes which included afternoon tea, a glass of bubbly in the hot tub and your evening meal. The only thing i would suggest is that you are told exactly what you can have. We had to ask twice for the drink in the hot tub and we felt a bit awkward having to ask for things that were included. This did not spoil the day though. Our room was on the second floor which was handy for reception. We did not have a very good view from the window, but again this did not spoil our time there! Food was great, but beware the drinks are very expensive, which you expect anyway in this sort of hotel. The spa is fantastic! I would recommend it. Overall a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbs59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,046 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing