We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff, lovely building and stunning views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice staff, lovely building and stunning views!”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

On our way home now:(
Had the best weather which was nice as we could appreciate the hotel and setting at its best!
Stunning views, lovely walks and near to great walks up the hills!
We took our German Shephard Dog and they were very very accommodating even letting us have a cheeky sausage for her as well as free poo bags and treats!
Great spa- best one I have seen! free lotions and potions which were great for my sensitive skin! I had gel nails done and a body wrap which were very well done. The atmosphere was so friendly and relaxed, I couldn't resist lounging around in my dressing gown and slippers which were provided.
Beautiful relaxing lights and fresh flowers everywhere!
Food was brilliant- great choice, great local produce, well presented and tasted yummy!
Waited on hand and foot by lovely smart attentive staff that clearly love working at the hotel!
Well recommend to anyone, you will love it! I would go there every weekend if i had the money to splash out and it didn't take 7 hours to get there!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inknownothin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    303
    178
    89
    72
See reviews for
314
909
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

we have just returned from a one night stay to celebrate my birthday booked as a last minute deal through secret escapes, the location was superb with excellent views of the lake and surrounding hills. Check in was a relaxing experience with a complimentary glass of sherry on arrival, the reception staff were very efficient and our luggage was quickly transported to the room.
the bedroom whilst rucked away at the top of the hotel had a superb view of the lake from the balcony, the room was elegant and spacious with fresh fruit and water on the table on our arrival, the water was replaced when the staff turned down the bed prior to us returning from dinner.
We had a relaxing afternoon in the spa and this is well worth a visit and enjoyed a glass of champange in the outdoor hot tub.
whilst having pre dinner drinks in the lounge area we mentioned to the head waiter that my husband ad a dairy allergy and the chef was able to produce an exellent three course meal as well as a amuse bouche with no problems. the meal was absolutely wonderful and the service could not be faulted and really made the stay special.
I would highly recomend this hotel and will definitely be returning again but this time for a longer stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paula c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2012

we have just spent two wonderful days here. our suite accomodation was superb, the staff were efficient and courteous at all times,
We have just spent two wonderful days here.Our suite accomodation excelled in all aspects. The location with superb views and well maintained grounds were very relaxing. The staff were all efficient and courteous, both breakfast and dinner were of the highest quality. The Spa is worth a visit even if you were not staying here, in short simply the best.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank allan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

When I was a child I was lucky to have visited this magnificent hotel, but just for afternoon tea, delicious as it was. These days, I get to the UK less than I would like, so on this trip I wanted to sample the best of Britain, and the choice of Armathwaite Hall didn't disappoint. We were lucky to be blessed with sunny warm weather, can you believe, so the scenery of the garden, lake and hills was amazing. It's an ancient building so don't expect things modern, but, you will almost certainly feel like an ancient Lord of the Manor! Rooms great, bar great, .. Let's just say everything great! .. I live in Japan, so I'm pretty used to spas .. They're probably the biggest recreational pursuit in Japan, so they're pretty good at it... Having said that, I was extremely impressed with the new spa at this hotel. For geological reasons it can't have hot spring water, but in every other respect it's equal to anything Japan has to offer. When you're sitting in the outdoor Jacuzzi you're in heaven! We had breakfast and dinner in the beautiful Lake View restaurant and both were delicious, with expert service .... A memorable event for me .. Waking up in an ancient room to the sound of lambs bleating .. How much more peaceful can life get? I was expecting an enjoyable experience, but it was more ...

Room Tip: Twins are bigger than doubles ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We booked this hotel as a last minute deal through secret escapes for a 1 night trip away. We have stayed at quite a few hotels over the years and this is without doubt in our top 3 if not the best. the staff were excellent, the food in the brasserie was superb, the hotel is absolutely fabulous in outstanding grounds with great views. Cannot praise this place enough and will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had a pricey room (£200 b&b) for a wedding and absolutely loved the hotel. It has got amazing views. The food is gorgeous. The breakfast was very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs uk
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here over the Jubilee bank holiday weekend and really enjoyed the break. The grounds and lake view are spectacular. We enjoyed the Spa Facilities and found every one of the staff friendly, courteous and attentive. Would recommend this to anyone wishing to have a relaxing break in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoshisMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing