We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Amazing'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2012

It was a suprise two night stay for me from my husband for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. It was fantastic the staff were really helpful and attentive, food was delicious, room was cosy and a TV in the bathroom was the icing on the cake. The FB body massage in the spa made me so laid back i nearly fell over Ha!. Situated in beautiful landscape gardens on the edge of Bassenthwaite Lake location was idyllic. What a time we had, a big thank you to the staff for making our 25th wedding anniversary one we will never forget. The location is remote, peaceful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Our room was on the ground floor with a small garden area with table and chairs which was ideal for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,705)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,288 of 1,705 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

Stayed at the Hall on 17th August for 1 night. It was a package which include dinner, and spa treatements. The brasserie was pretty standard fair so we decided to pay the extra £40 so we could dine in the main hall.

Generally speaking the hotel is very good, the shared spaces are good and the spa is very good. My partner enjoyed the treatements and I heard from others who'd had a great massage there.

The dinner was very good and like all the staff they were very attentive and good whenever we dealt with them.

My main gripes were about the room. We were in a room which was part of a long corridor towards the spa and not part of the main building. Frankly these rooms are pretty small and certainly having unnecessary furniture in there doesn't help. It's difficult for them to fix this given the design of the building but given the cost they should perhaps review the furniture.

Also we had a particular problem in that only 3 or 4 rooms away was the main function room for a wedding so things were pretty noisy till 12. Again once it reached 12 it all went quite and it wasn't overly bad but they should have mentioned this when booking since we were not part of the wedding party.

So all in all, good but not outstanding. I'm sure the rooms in the main house are much better, the spa is certainly great and service tool.

Room Tip: See if you are in the corridor to the spa, rooms are small and not very private as there is noisy co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had another really nice stay this weekend. However, some staff have changed and we overheard one of/ the wedding planner criticizing the parents of the bride from a wedding the previous day (sat 18th aug) and what's worse is that this comment was made to a young couple seeking a wedding venue - totally unprofessional and very bad for business. Also the standard of food whilst still nice has slipped for the cost and we were disappointed there's no wifi in the rooms (especially the suites - where you'll pay premium prices) - many 2 & 3 star hotels have wifi as standards these days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracey4873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

My wife and I stayed recently on a special offer . Our second stay at Armithwaite .It was a wee surprise for my wifes birthday without the kids. We had a grand time. I thought it was also good value with the special offer, we up graded to dine in the lake view room. The pool /Spa has been ,much improved since our last visit, the dinner was excelent though perhaps not exactly what was ordered on the menu, the service was attentive without being intrusive, the wine was quality.My only comment on a very mildly negative side was at breakfast. Initially offered the conservatory, then said it was not available, then directed to seats , then told to change seats though other places were avalable . The waiting staff were great but the chap who appeared to be responsible didnt appear to be that bothered and sullen..I dont think it would put us off visiting again...for DBB but maybe ifwe hadnt had such a good experience the night before

Room Tip: room 124 was great however we have stayed before and had a lakeside room .the view was beautifull so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

This gracious, lovingly-maintained manor home on a secluded, tranquil, lakeside estate provided a perfect venue for a great break. The new spa is really fabulous, the room beds super-comfy, the food delicious, the staff attentive and the hall and grounds, lovely. Can't find fault with anything, and will certainly return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brionnais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We attended a family wedding at Armathwaite Hall, from the moment you drive up to the front door to leaving late at night the whole experience was something very special.
The approach to the hotel is breathtaking with such character to the building.
Once inside the decor is opulent with lots of comfy sofa's to relax on.
You can either have afternoon tea or lunch or dinner whilst looking out over the gardens and the lake.
For a more contemporary feel The Courtyard and Brasserie are the place to be, this leads to the amazing Spa area, even if you are not staying have a peep, I can certainly understand why they have won so many awards.
As mentioned this was a family wedding and the whole experience was overseen by the hotel staff who ensured everything ran smoothly and the wedding party were looked after the whole day. As with most weddings where numerous guests have to be served food at one time it was fantastic to get food which was hot and great quality, another tick in the box for the hotel team.

If you do get the opportunity or the weather to have a wander around the grounds they are spectacular.

I would definatley return to the Armathwaite for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room, you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahLouJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We decided to stay here for a weekend break (no kids), and came away feeling happy and relaxed.
A glass of sherry on arrival was a nice touch and the staff were charming and helpful especially the resturant lads who were sweet and charming.
The rooms are oldy worldy and what you would expect from such a beautiful building. With the most comfortable bed.
The spa facilities were fantastic, with the outside jacuzzi is a must on a cold night, over looking the landscaped gardens, very romantic.........
The treatments are a must to help unwind and well worth the price, we tried the Indian head massage and the back and neck massage, by a chap who's hands were magic.
On the Sunday morning there was a Harris hawk display, with the keeper giving an informative commentary throughout, very impressive.
Well worth a stay, beautiful hotel, beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthandCraig75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £146 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing