We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Bodrum, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Heaven”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

What can I say? This place is totally amazing. I booked a spa stay through another company and I couldn't have been more happy with it.
The hotel is a fantastic, an old manor house tucked away on the edge of the lake with beautiful scenery. The Resturant overlooks the lawn and the lake and you can also watch the deer run around the grounds.
The rooms are of an exceptional standard and are extremely clean.
As for the spa, well, I certainly came from the break very.
Both the al a carte and bistro eateries are a touch on the expensive side but with the quality of the food an service, we were happy to overlook this.
This hotel and spa is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachellprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    984
    303
    178
    89
    72
See reviews for
314
909
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
whitehaven
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Another great stay at this hotel ,stayed in a spa room with its own patio area ,bed was very comfy and the room was lovely the only thing that I was not too happy about was the bathroom was on the small side (room 142)compared to the other spa rooms we have stayed in previously We ate in the main dinning room and the food again could not be faulted ,the breakfast was also very good .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I went to Armathwaite Hotel and Spa for a romantic weekend with my partner. It was perfect the staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, the setting was beautiful (I may be biased as I was proposed to on the edge of the lake) and the food was amazing! The room was very large and the bed was huge and very comfortable. Our package included full use of the spa and gym which was very clean and well equipped. This is the ideal place for a total getaway and relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KattyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I recently visited this hotel for lunch with my family. The hotel is very impressive, as you get to the end of the drive, it comes into view quite spectacularly.
We ate our lunch in the dining room overlooking the manicured lawns onto Bassenthwaite and the hills beyond.
The lunch was well presented, delicious and the service was excellent.
This is the first time we have visited this establishment and it certainly will not be the last.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stum574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Beautiful location, superb food, impeccable service and a very relaxing spa - what more could you ask of a hotel? Admittedly wi-fi in the rooms would have been good, but as this was supposed to be a relaxing break, it was probably good for us not to have connectivity.

Room Tip: We loved the tower suite, with its own spiral staircase to a private roof terrace with amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlyGNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMsteele, General Manager at Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for the glowing review of your experience at Armathwaite Hall. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. With reference to your constructive feedback on the Wi Fi facilities, I would like to let everyone know that we are currently in the process of phasing this complimentary service throughout the property. Currently, we have placed Wi Fi in our public areas in addition to our spa bedrooms. Regarding the main house bedrooms, the challenge has been to have the adequate technology to outwit extremely thick walls which date back to the fourteenth century! Rest assured, we will get there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Great location and hotel . Superb facilities spa pool etc . The let down is that there is no wi-fi in the rooms . Many hotels at half these prices have free wi-fi in the rooms not just in the main hotel area.

Room Tip: Try the rooms between main hotel and spa on the ground floor nice outdoor areas in these rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evilmrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We went here first for our 25th wedding aniversary and had such a great time that we went back again this year. The food, the staff, and the management all work so hard to make sure you have a great time. The spa is wonderfull and very relaxing, try the lomi lomi massage this is a real relaxation treat.

Room Tip: The rooms are like chalk and cheese in the old house and the spa area. If you like olde world go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,077 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing