We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,919)
Filter reviews
1,920 results
Traveller rating
1,150
366
213
104
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,150
366
213
104
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lakeview restaurant the outdoor hot tub armathwaite hall afternoon tea club room aroma room quiche hush room cream tea dress code stately home thermal suite on arrival sandwiches country house hotel course meal main restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 1,920 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just spent my 50th birthday at Armthwaite Hall. It was a last minute treat from my partner. On way down we realised we had one of the few rooms left as it was last minute and booking said "standard" double. We were really surprised when shown our room and it was stunning. The room was in the newly refurbished part of the hotel and was incredible.
Dinner in the formal dining room was a great experience and was like being in an episode of Downtown Abbey. The staff were outstanding and help create a wonderful customer experience.
A truly memorable 50th birthday.

Room Tip: Room 157 is great room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottie891963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The spa is absolutely amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time in whilst staying in the hotel. The facilities are fabulous.

We were extremely disappointed however, that the male cleaner was cleaning the hydrotherapy pool, steam room and sauna before 8.30pm which meant spa members were unable to use those facilities. The stated time for closing is 9.00pm. On the previous evening we were in the hydrotherapy pool and the male cleaner started to mop out the steam rooms...........and it wasn't even 8.30pm. This just feels like really sloppy customer care. Surely no cleaning should take place until spa guests have left the facilities?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A Birthday treat. We had a fabulous room in the main house with lake views. Beautiful country house interior with roaring open fireplaces. Dining was very traditional but made for a glorious atmosphere - we felt like royalty for a few special days. Service was exceptional. The spa was great - outdoor hot pool, tropical showers and jets - modern and well maintained. The spa treatments were very good - I had a great facial / body wrap treatment. All in all, this place deserves 5 stars.

Room Tip: A room in the main house is reccommended
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Checkmate1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent a weekend there with friends. Good facilities, Spa is modern and well equipped, well placed for Keswick and surrounds. We stayed full board, menu is fairly small but varied, staff very helpful and friendly. Wonderful views from the hotel and an easy walk down to the lakeside.

We had our dog with us so our room was in the corridor to the Spa but had a fenced in outside area where we could sit with the dog. The hotel isn't as dog friendly as it portrays-dogs not allowed in any public areas and should not be left alone in bedrooms. I'd suggest that if you have a dog that won't be left without creating a fuss to stay B&B and go down into Keswick to eat where there are lots of very dog friendly pubs.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have views over the lake.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My daughter recently got married at Armathwaite Hall .It was fantastic ,from the moment we set foot in the door they took over and were on hand to help in any way they could.The reception room was set up lovely.and the food and service was excellent.They even tried to co-ordinate our colour scheme with their florist.Special thanks to Danni for all her help and the staff who were polite and courteous.The following day we relaxed in the Spa and that was amazing ,just what we needed after the previous days excitement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews