We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Easter at Armathwaite Hall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We love the lakes and nice hotels. We have never stayed at Armathwaite Hall before but had heard about it. We were certainly not disappointed.

This is a lovely country house hotel which is very welcoming and friendly. The staff were helpful and knew our names.

Dinner was five courses and the intermediate courses were nice surprises. There was a god choice on the menu and it suited our carniverous requirements. One night we ate at the Brasserie to accommodate one fussy 13 year old. Different than the main restaurant but equally good.

As we had children our rooms were close by each other. The children's room had been modernised and was therefore better than ours, not that there was anything wrong with ours it was just the comparison that made things stand out.

The spa was great. Many happy hours spent at the beginning and end of each day. Kids loved the pool and it was nice that certain parts were adult only. I had hoped for a couple's massage but didn't book it in time!

We stayed at Easter in a week of heavy snow. We had no problem getting to the hotel and it was always warm. It was great walking around the hotel, down to the lake and also further afield on the fells. Keswick is fairly close by and is a pleasant little town from where boats run on Derwent Water.

Can't wait for next Easter as I would hop we can go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowcockFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

We have just spent my 50th birthday at Armthwaite Hall. It was a last minute treat from my partner. On way down we realised we had one of the few rooms left as it was last minute and booking said "standard" double. We were really surprised when shown our room and it was stunning. The room was in the newly refurbished part of the hotel and was incredible.
Dinner in the formal dining room was a great experience and was like being in an episode of Downtown Abbey. The staff were outstanding and help create a wonderful customer experience.
A truly memorable 50th birthday.

Room Tip: Room 157 is great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottie891963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

The spa is absolutely amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed spending time in whilst staying in the hotel. The facilities are fabulous.

We were extremely disappointed however, that the male cleaner was cleaning the hydrotherapy pool, steam room and sauna before 8.30pm which meant spa members were unable to use those facilities. The stated time for closing is 9.00pm. On the previous evening we were in the hydrotherapy pool and the male cleaner started to mop out the steam rooms...........and it wasn't even 8.30pm. This just feels like really sloppy customer care. Surely no cleaning should take place until spa guests have left the facilities?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A Birthday treat. We had a fabulous room in the main house with lake views. Beautiful country house interior with roaring open fireplaces. Dining was very traditional but made for a glorious atmosphere - we felt like royalty for a few special days. Service was exceptional. The spa was great - outdoor hot pool, tropical showers and jets - modern and well maintained. The spa treatments were very good - I had a great facial / body wrap treatment. All in all, this place deserves 5 stars.

Room Tip: A room in the main house is reccommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Checkmate1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent a weekend there with friends. Good facilities, Spa is modern and well equipped, well placed for Keswick and surrounds. We stayed full board, menu is fairly small but varied, staff very helpful and friendly. Wonderful views from the hotel and an easy walk down to the lakeside.

We had our dog with us so our room was in the corridor to the Spa but had a fenced in outside area where we could sit with the dog. The hotel isn't as dog friendly as it portrays-dogs not allowed in any public areas and should not be left alone in bedrooms. I'd suggest that if you have a dog that won't be left without creating a fuss to stay B&B and go down into Keswick to eat where there are lots of very dog friendly pubs.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have views over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My daughter recently got married at Armathwaite Hall .It was fantastic ,from the moment we set foot in the door they took over and were on hand to help in any way they could.The reception room was set up lovely.and the food and service was excellent.They even tried to co-ordinate our colour scheme with their florist.Special thanks to Danni for all her help and the staff who were polite and courteous.The following day we relaxed in the Spa and that was amazing ,just what we needed after the previous days excitement.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marilynm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have just had our Wedding at Armathwaite Hall, our day was perfect, the staff were excellent and the service we received from Alicia was exceptional! She was brilliant.
The grounds were beautiful and were perfect for our photo's.
Very happy with the everything and would certainly recommend Armathwaite Hall for any occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £127 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing