We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service and too formal for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Slow service and too formal for a family”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

So we have travelled throught the UK tapping into "luxury family hotels" and I made a mess of trying to book the Elms in Warwick for the Bank holiday and ended up googling and finding Armathwaite. They had space and we were good to go.

The hotel itself is an impressive building in beautiful grounds but it's a real shame that they have managed to create a starnge formal, almost silver service approach and yet it doesn't work.

We stayed over the bank holiday and no matter where you go in the public areas, there is piped music in the morning and it seemed only to play Old Blues Eyes himself.

Then, you sit down for breakfast, which I have to say is lack lustre but with the waiters in their uniforms and the white table cloths, you would expect a culinary delight. I asked for the home made granola on the menu and they gave me Alpen! I asked ofr a croissant and it took 15 minutes too arrive. In fact the process of replenishment of the breakfast buffet seemed to be "let it run out, then we'll do something about it".

OK, now we have the staff themselves. Nobody had a pace, nor did they appear to be guest facing, they get to you eventually. The vast majority of the staff were migrant workers, which was a real disappointment in an area of high unemployment such as Bassenthwaite.

Overall, the rooms were clean but the plumbing is only just ok and the decor is beautifully maintained but dated.

Not sure we will be going back, there are much better places for families in the same price bracket but I guess that's why we could book at such short notice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Madg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    295
    177
    86
    70
See reviews for
310
888
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise honeymoon. The scene is set from first entering - nice little waiting area with a glass of sherry! Flowers, champagne and chocolates, television in the bathroom, antique furniture and fantastic views down to the lake. The evening meal, was delicious. One day I hope to go back again, this time in the summer.

Room Tip: There is no lift, that is only tip I can offer. I am sure every room was every bit as good as the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit, Mo
Level Contributor
766 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,280 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a great place to stay in the Lakes District. The service is fantastic and the food is wonderful. Make sure to have the dinner package with your stay as it I well worth it. The people here are truly some of the best in the service industry. Ask for a room that looks out on the lake and make sure to spend time in the bar!

Room Tip: Add the dinner option and ask about a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stopped by in the Lake District on our way back from Scotland on the bank holiday weekend. With such fantastic weather, we decided to stay overnight... and having stayed last year, Armathwaite Hall sprung to mind. We phoned and fortunately they had a room!

This area of the Lake District is totally refreshing and quieter than other parts of the Lakes... especially on a bank holiday. On arrival we checked into our lake view room, which was fantastic! Upstairs in the main hall, the room was huge. The best bit however was the view... straight down to Bassenthwaite Lake, from the centre of the hall. As this was an unplanned visit, I hadn't packed any smart trousers, so we were unable to eat in the main restaurant... which I totally respected. As we had such a great room and view, we decided to chill-out with in-room dining, which was great! We phoned reception when we were ready for each course, and the food didn't disappoint.

The next morning, we used the fantastic spa/leisure facilities, had a great breakfast, then walked down to the lake. With the great weather, it was awesome! Just what the Lake District is all about, without all the people.

We really enjoyed our second visit even more than our first. Last year's visit was for our first wedding anniversary in October. We are now looking to book our second anniversary there too!

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KnutsfordBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just had an intimate wedding service at armathwaite Tuesday 29th August 2013 the service itself the room the food the staff all fantastic could not fault any part of our day or evening very relaxing will return for our anniversary most definitely thankyou for helping to make our day amazing don't change a thing

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Had a perfect afternoon tea. Staff very very Polite and courteous. Afternoon tea gorgeous only one critisism to many cakes would have preferred 2 or 3 more sarnys and I did hear the group next to us say the same. A lady showed us around the Spa heaven on earth, hope to stay over when I have saved up some pennies as the afternoon tea was a gift to me as I saved my friends horse from drowning-long story. Beautiful place. Lovely staff and superb afternoon tea. Give it a try you wont regret it. Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank ALISON M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We booked and made a couple of requests re a table with a view as it was for a special occasion . Once there we had the best table with a wonderful view . We also had a lovely personal touch of a celebratory cake added by the hotel and beautifully presented . It was just the exemplary service and attention to detail that's de us feel very well looked after

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olwen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
17.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
4.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing