We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Country comfort”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our family had a lovely weekend at this best of both worlds hotel.
A super modern spa set in wonderful countryside but good old
fashioned silver service and wonderful food.
We arrived late from a tortuous journey up the M6 from Cheshire on a Friday night.
We were shown to our family room in the main house which was large and had
character , modern bathroom,separate bunk room for our boys our only complaint was it lacked a proper view and at £390 a night would of hoped for.
We opted on both nights for the lakeside restaurant,which served local produce to a high standard..Our boys of 9 and 11 managed to find choices which were served simply
which they enjoyed and it was a pleasure not to have them given a kids menu with all the usual choices.This made the trip that we were able to sit through a multiple course meal enjoying
great service and attention from the staff and the kids enjoying the occasion too.
Sorbet before the main was a revelation for the 9 year old.
We visited the spa on a number of occasions and found the treatments good and reasonably
priced,the outside hot tub was great particularly when served Champagne.
They do restrict the hours the children can use the pool,which we worked around,not sure really necessary as not lots of kids staying when we were there anyway.
While my wife was having a treatment I walked the kids over to the wildlife park ,this was across the front field and an interesting and good value excursion.
The general areas are great with high ceiling and log fires and panelling as you would expect from an old Hall,so for relaxing with a coffee or Brandy after your dinner just right.The afternoon teas looked great ,and very popular.I wished we had booked one.
Bassenthwaite being only a 10 minute drive from Keswick is a good location, if you want to go and do some shopping and there are a number of good pubs in locality for lunch.

Room Tip: main house,the courtyard rooms were on a busy corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eldentooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    301
    177
    86
    71
See reviews for
311
900
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

sadly only had one night..everything was first class.amazing place with a great history..bedroom beautiful with top quality linen etc..food first class..the spa is second to none ,can,t wait to go back ..I don,t need to mention the views ,where in the world is as beautiful as the lakes,?and this hotel has great views of bassenthwaite lake..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherineG568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We heard good things about this hotel so we were really looking forward to a relaxing stay. The spa is fab, the staff are friendly enough its just we were put in a room in the main house (127) which was very old fashioned and although this is expected due to the type of hotel, we would still say it needed updating (the bathroom was very dated) Looking on line at the other rooms in the hotel it seems we drew the short straw as there does seem to be nicer options. On top of this we were woken very early in the morning by workmen taping wires down and then using an industrial sander in one of the surrounding rooms! Considering we went here for relaxation we were very disappointed in the overall stay.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 127!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I have just returned from the lake district, where my wife and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary. We stayed at Armathwaite Hall Hotel and both really enjoyed our stay.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the fantastic fires were lovely to sit in front and relax.

We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed dinner and breakfast on each occasion. The food was beautifully presented and there was a wide choice each night to suit every taste. We were left very full and satisfied.

We stayed in room 163 which was in the main building and found it very comfortable and roomy. We also had access to the spa and the gym which we used and they were very well equipped and helped you to relax after a walk round the fells or lakes.

We were both sad to be leaving the hotel and have already decided that we would be heading back again in the near future.

Room Tip: I would pick a room in the main house as they were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Armathwaite Hall and we could not have wished for a more perfect place to stay! The main building of the hotel is very imposing when you arrive and when you step in, it is just like an old mansion with lots of oak panelling and open fires and a real olde worlde feel. Just what I wanted to see after a long drive and immediately felt at home. The staff were very helpful and friendly and I was delighted to discover that we were staying in the main house part of the hotel, as has read reviews stating that was the best part of the hotel to stay in. We had only booked a basic club room, but it was outstanding! Very roomy and a lovely bathroom with a tv in it! That was my favourite bit of the room!
Moving on to dinner, we were ushered towards the cocktail bar which is like an old library type room with a lovely little bar area and another open fire. The chap that served us was so friendly and eager to help. He even tried to help us with a running route for the next day as we wanted to run round the lake. We were served olives and nuts with our pre- dinner drink and were given time to choose our food from the menu. I asked for the vegetarian menu and this was no trouble at all, although I ended up ordering the veggie option from the main menu. The food was to die for! The Lakeview restaurant was perfect, wonderful atmosphere and attentive and friendly staff. I cleared my plate on every single meal we ate,which for me is quite unusual! All food we ate there was just wonderful.
I am conscious I am waffling on but just a few more things to say... The Spa was incredible! Very clean and well equipped. We made use of the gym, the pool, the thermo suite and the outdoor hot tub, which we used to go in early in the morning when the sun rose and it was just the best way to start the day! We also both had massages and these were fantastic and the spa staff could not have been friendlier.
Anyway, suffice to say, I would go back at the drop of a hat! Just wish it wasn't so far away for us to travel, but I hope to try and get back next year. We ended up pretty much saying hello to all of the staff as we were walking about the hotel and they were just lovely. Even the ladies who had come in to put all the Christmas decorations up ( which look fabulous by the way) became like old friends that we would chat to each time we passed them.
The best hotel I have ever stayed in!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

First impressions somewhat dismal because of the rather lackadaisical attitude of the receptionist. Further compounded by the room being made up with a double bed, despite request on booking, and at subsequent enquiry, for a twin bed. Receptionist was less than interested when telephoned from the room with this information, advising that "all our rooms are doubles". Of course, subsequent telephone call to Duty Manager resolved the problem with Housekeeping appearing to unzip the beds (as their doubles are all zipped up twins!) and make the room up as a twin. Shame it took so much effort to get it right, from such a prestigious establishment.

On the plus side, the restaurant staff and meal were superb and the Spa therapists were very good, very professional and, moreover, very friendly and approachable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57carolinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the positive. Its a lovely location. Sadly that's where it ends.

I attended a wedding here and I have to say for what you pay per head the food was a huge disappointment. There was no choice of starter, soup or nothing, not even a juice when I asked.

The main course was served and you were presented with a tiny portion of meat. One carrot, one parsnip and a hard bit of potato. I'm glad I wasn't a vegetarian as they were served a lattice with no vegetables in.

People were left hungry and looking forward to the evening food..... Yes another huge disappointment.

To sum it up, lovely location but terrible value and awful food

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnypb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,052 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing