We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location but......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We have just returned from a two-day visit to Armathwaite. Lovely hotel with wonderful spa facilities. Sadly the bedrooms are long overdue a make-over as are other areas of the hotel. The foreign hotel staff where courteous, helpful and friendly.....pity about their British counterparts. The staff in reception were particularly poor on both our arrival and departure.....no "hope you've enjoyed your visit"; "have a wonderful Christmas" or "safe journey home and we look forward to welcoming you again".......sadly it tainted our stay. Just a common courtesy but sadly lacking amongst staff who if trained properly should know better. Will we be returning.......sadly no. Great potential but come on........

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SWM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,041 - 1,047 of 1,722 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2013

We visited the Hall for our 29th Wedding Anniversary and it was a Living Social deal....which was just brilliant from start to finish. We were welcomed with a glass of sherry and although our room was not ready we were made to feel very welcome. The lady on reception came and found us when it was ready and we were taken to our room. Our daughter had arranged for a bottle of champagne to be in the room for us and this was there chilled and with glasses ...very nicely presented. The room was lovely and spacious and the bathroom clean and warm. The staircase to the rooms is amazing and with the Xmas decorations up it looks even better. The Xmas trees in the Hall are fantastic and really make you feel Xmassy. We had our Cream tea and lunch in the bistro and this was great. Again made to feel very welcome and the staff were very friendly. We then went to the spa and the outside hot tub is fantastic. The steam room and sauna area is very good too. We had a massage in the afternoon in the couples room and this was one of the best ones that I have ever had. A first for my husband and he thought it was great. It was very professional and very relaxed. The spa area is a must if ever you visit. The fire place is brilliant and the whole atmosphere is soooo relaxed. After the massage we were left all wrapped up in the quiet room. We then had champagne in the hot tub...in the dark it is great and we didn't want the day to end. The evening five course meal was excellent. The staff are very good and nothing could be faulted. We enjoyed our champagne with the meal and everything was first class. The Hall was very busy but it still felt very personal and intimate. Breakfast next morning was excellent and the choice fantastic. I cannot praise the staff enough ...there were so many of them and nothing was too much trouble...made us feel very special. As we did not have to check out of our room unit 11.30 we revisited the spa and hot tub. We then went for a walk around the grounds before leaving. Everything was as good and better than we had expected and we really hope to visit again.....a amazing place and even better as it is in the Lake District!! Thankyou to all the staff for making our stay so good.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 27 in the Old Hall which was a lovely spacious room with nice views over the field...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Arrived at the impressive entrance to the hall and immediately smelt the welcoming aroma of the open wood fires. Following the faultless booking in we were offered us a glass of sherry which set the mood for the rest of the two night stay. The bell boy took our bags and led us through the oak clad hall and up the sweeping stair case to our sumptuous room with super king size bed and TV in the bathroom. The view from our room overlooked the grounds which were fabulous. The bars, lounges and restaurant areas were decked with Xmas trees and tasteful decorations and each room showcased by a roaring open fire. We received afternoon tea in the conservatory on the first afternoon, two six course evening meals, two amazing breakfasts & champagne and strawberries in the outdoor jacuzzi. We had a couples massage in the spa which left us even more relaxed and smug in our timelessly elegant surroundings. We left a few pounds heavier in weight and lighter in the pocket but it was well worth the special pre-Xmas treat to ourselves. Highly recommended for those special times in your life when you simply want to step out of the rat-race and take time for your selves.

Room Tip: If you book a table for the evening meal request a table in the main diningroom other wise you run t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazntoneDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very disappointing, booked and requested a table in the conservatory, but was seated in the lounge and had to ask to be moved. Receptionist not pleasant with her welcoming words. Not enough tea choice and far too many in the sweet selection and not enough savoury. Over rated and not good value for money.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

My friend and I enjoyed 2night break 1st Dec very impressive grounds,hotel,food and service. Enjoyed the spa and especially hot tub outside. Would recommend clay shooting,George was a great guide and good company and made us feel at ease. The only thing I would say and it's really being pinickety the bathroom door in room 161 was worn and shabbyish surprised given how beautiful the room was. Staff were very well trained and attention to detail were second to none. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuTeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have visited this hotel several times and highly recommend it for the food and spa facilities but I think the bedrooms are in need of some attention. On our last stay the heating in our bedroom didn't work at all. However as soon as we reported the problem a heater was placed in the room that did the job just as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbuNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at Armathwaite Hall for three nights in November. We had a lovely room in the main hotel which was beautifully appointed and comfortable. The hotel staff were kind and attentive to our needs and the breakfasts were very good.
We ate at both the brasserie which was less expensive and informal, and also in the main restaurant where the food was exceptionally good and the service was splendid.
We also had a treatment each at the spa and used the indoor pool, sauna, steam room and outdoor hot tub. The spa treatment was excellent and it was exhilarating to sit in the outdoor hot tub on a cold crisp day over looking the hotels lovely grounds.
We had a brilliant short break at the hotel and we were able to find the relaxation we so badly needed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £127 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing