We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A girly overnight break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A girly overnight break”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booked an offer on Travelzoo, just an overnight dinner, bead & breakfast. The hotel is beautifully located in the open countryside within ints own grounds. We arrived to a friendly reception, complimentarly glass of sherry and handsome porter to deliver our bags to our room. The room wasn't massive but big enough, beautfully decorated and, most importantly, clean. We had double doors onto our own little patio area and, after leaving the wind andthe rain at home, were able to enjoy our complimentary sherries in the sunshine. Despite it being January and cold, but not freezing, the patio are was sheltered. We unpacked and went to explore. The spa staff gave us a guided tour of the facilities, most helpful and friendly, which we returned to after a short walk before dusk. Although we didn't benefit from any treatments on this occasion, we enjoyed a variety of other relaxing experiences within the spa - steam rooms, saunas, drench/rain/waterfall showers, jacuzzis (indoor and out) before a loveley dinner in the Brasserie. The food was delicious and beatufully presented in casual surroundings. If only we had packed some more formal atire we would have been able to upgrade to the dining room. :( An excuse to return! After a good night's sleep, we took breakfast in the conservatory. Staff again were most helpful, smart and friendly. We managed a short walk down to the lake through the woodland, returning just in time to avoid the rain shower before sadly departing. A (too) short but must enjoyable stay. Until next time. ;)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuddyCat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    962
    295
    177
    86
    70
See reviews for
310
888
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were greeted by very welcoming, friendly and professional staff who seated us and took our order of prefered tea in a seamless manner. Our afternoon tea was delightful and the atmosphere for the whole afternoon was very relaxing. The attention to detail is second to none and the staff where very attentive without being intrusive, we were offered refills of tea without having to ask and we felt that the staff were very keen to provide a very special service to everyone.We would highly recommend taking time to visit this beautiful hotel when visiting the lakes. You will not be disappointed. Well done to everyone for providing an exceptional experience, we will certainly take afternoon tea again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trishased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

We were greeted by friendly, welcoming staff which set the tone for our whole stay. Very impressed with well-appointed room and attention to detail especially dog bed and treats for our spaniel. Would recommend ground floor room for anyone with dog as had access to patio and gardens. We ate in the brasserie one lunchtime and then in the main restaurant for the rest of the time. Food was traditional but very well cooked and good portions for dinner and breakfast. The spa was lovely with great facilities and very relaxing massage and facial. The hotel is in our favourite part of the Lakes, set in beautiful grounds - will definitely become a regular break for us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

As a fan of the Lake District, we were not disappointed with the scenic grandeur of the hotel. We stayed on a 2 day mini break through a travel website.
This included breakfast & an evening meal.
The room was very big with access to a patio area, there bathroom was well fitted out, although it had a strange shower screen arrangement that cocooned you in the bath. I would have thought a room that big could have had a separate bath & shower.
The bed was very uncomfortable & there was no wifi, again slightly disappointing for a hotel such as this.
Meals & service were very good, although tatty wooden pepper grinders on the tables looked out of place. Minor gripes, but there you are.
The Spa, Swimming pool & Gym are very good & the whole atmosphere of the hotel is lovely, so give it a try!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for a romantic break and we were not disappointed, all the staff were very nice, I loved the old fashioned customer service, the proper tea leaves, open fires, turndown service on a night. The rooms were really nice although I do feel the bathrooms need revamped, the spa was really nice and very relaxing, we ate in the restaurant next to the spa really nice food and breakfast was really good too. The whole place is lovely will 100% go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Just come back from a weekend break here. Arrived in the bleak and wet of Friday evening to a friendly welcome at reception and a very good evening meal. Plenty of choice for breakfast and the opportunity for a filling cooked breakfast. Our room, which overlooked the car park, was on the small side which stretched the definition of "superior' which was what we paid for. Overall the staff were friendly and welcoming. The grounds are superb. The spa was also a welcome addition, although the glass of bubbly that was included in our package failed to materialise until prompted ("sorry,forgot").
However, the weekend was spoilt for us by the way we were treated on Saturday afternoon when we arrived for a pre- booked cream tea only to find we had been relegated to the bar or brasserie as it seems they were too busy ( or we were not important enough) to be allocated a table with other guests in the main rooms, even though there were tables spare. We then had to wait 45 minutes for a pot of tea and scones. Definitely a case of 2nd class service in this instance, and very disappointing.
Overall, some isolated experiences of poor customer care stopped this becoming a great experience.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

arrived on a Saturday afternoon for a spa break. Despite the shocking weather first impressions were good as we cruised along a driveway through well maintained grounds to the imposing hotel.

The carpark was already quite full- lots of Audis, BMWs and Range Rovers with personalised number plates.

As the weather was bad, my wife and I were wearing jeans and ( expensive ) ski jackets.

On checking in, the rather matronly receptionist took one look at us and asked sharply " You are aware we have a dress code?? "

I confirmed that we did, as we had formal wear in our cases, whilst wondering whether we should have got changed in the car park....

The overall ambience is that of a stately country house, which is what it is, being owned by the Graves family for 30 years.

To be fair, receptionist aside, the staff ( mainly Eastern European ) were efficient and friendly. After having our luggage portered upstairs we proceeded through to the bar for a few drinks in front of the log fire.

Our room was a deluxe in the main building, and had a kingsize bed with canopy ( which was very comfortable and plenty of wardrobe space .

At this price point, several aspects of the room were sub standard.

The TV had only 5 channels and the reception was poor.

The bathroom was grim- faded yellow antislip flooring, only one sink and would have befitted a 2 star B and B- nowhere near 4 star standard.(see photos )

Retreated to the brasserie area near the Spa- along a narrow corridor which smelt of damp, then up a spiral staircase which leads to the only TV in public areas, where we proceeded to watch the Rugby. Again, efficient bar service, nice surrounds- this is where the £6 million was spent- on the spa/brasserie area.

Then had a quick dip in the outdoor hot tub, again, pleasant, as where the steam rooms and pool.

Back to the main building and to the restaurant for dinner.

The dinners were included in our package but were typically £45 each.

5 courses, 2 of which were fixed ( soup and sorbet ) with a choice of starter, mains and puddings.

Mostly fine- beautifully presented, although the main course of beef fillet was strangely tasteless and more like 2 small medallions of beef than a full serving. Certainly not 28 day matured, and served with a tiny wedge of dauphinoise potato and broccoli.

Coffe and petit fours followed, which was first class.

After a very comfortable nights sleep, full cooked breakfast.

Again, for the price, small quantities- one rasher of bacon, one sausage, one egg, one hash brown, and so on.

I left with mixed feelings- glorious location fabulous spa, yet sub-par rooms and food lacking.

Never quite got over the snobby greeting at check in.

If you dress in tweeds and plus fours, and like hunting, I think this is the clientele they would prefer.

Plus points- location, spa, service.
Bad points- dated room, snobbish attitude, food lacking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
17.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
4.6 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing