We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$103
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$227
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,784)
Filter reviews
1,784 results
Traveller rating
1,072
339
196
96
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,072
339
196
96
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe outdoor hot tublake view restaurantarmathwaite hallafternoon teaclub roomhush roomglass of champagnearoma roomcream tealakeview restaurantstately homethermal suiteon arrivalsconescourse mealquichechristmas decorations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,052 - 1,057 of 1,784 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Last week I had my wedding reception at Armathwaite hall and it was perfect. Ever since my husband and I visited the Wedding Fayre in Feb 2013 we knew that Armathwaite Hall was the ideal venue. From day one looking around and deciding the wedding team (and there is a superb team of them) were on hand to help with any queries. Our wedding organiser was Cath and she was truly amazing, during the whole planning time, she was on hand at any time and calmed a slightly stressed bride and mother of the bride down. We visited many times before the big day and there was always someone on hand to help us plan and I can not recommend the afternoon tea enough! It's definitely superb value for money and you won't need to eat dinner at all! On the big day, all of the setting up of the wedding breakfast tables and evening entertainment was carried out but the staff at Armathwiate hall, and they set it up exactly as I wanted. On the day, they were friendly, professional and efficient, on hand to help if they could. The food was delicious and our bridal suite was incredible! They really go the extra mile to ensure you have everything you need from fluffy robes to a huge range of tea and coffee and fruit in your room. I can not thank the team at Armathwaite Hall enough and would recommend them not only as a wedding venue (they are superb value for money!) but also for a romantics stay or just a lovely afternoon catching up with friends. Thanks again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have recently had a three night stay at Armathwaite Hall. We were impressed with every member of staff - all were courteous and friendly - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. We stayed in and around the hotel for three days and had all our meals and snacks there - everything was of the highest standard. We used the pool and spa areas - again it was all of high standard and the staff were welcoming. I enquired about having a pedicure but unfortunately this was not possible - I'd read that it's worth booking treatments in advance, so I would recommend that you book if this is something that's important for you.

Room Tip: We don't know anything about the other rooms, but we can vouch that Room 154 (at the end of the corridor) was lovely. There was very little noise from elsewhere.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plaskitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First class service from entering the door arrived for our 33rd wedding anniversay reception staff wonderful visited the spa lovely sauna pool and the hot tub outside was gorge until we could be allocated our room had lunch in the brassier had burger and home made chip very nice room was beautifuly decorated room 146 in the court yard and the tv in the bathroom was fab loved it didnt want to get out after a relaxing day it was time for our anniversary dinner in the dinning room first class service from start to finish excellent service may I just say mr graves your staff are a credit to your hotel loved my stay carnt wait to return oh by the way loved it in the hot tub first thing in the morning watching the rabbits on the lawn

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keekeeowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Booked an offer on Travelzoo, just an overnight dinner, bead & breakfast. The hotel is beautifully located in the open countryside within ints own grounds. We arrived to a friendly reception, complimentarly glass of sherry and handsome porter to deliver our bags to our room. The room wasn't massive but big enough, beautfully decorated and, most importantly, clean. We had double doors onto our own little patio area and, after leaving the wind andthe rain at home, were able to enjoy our complimentary sherries in the sunshine. Despite it being January and cold, but not freezing, the patio are was sheltered. We unpacked and went to explore. The spa staff gave us a guided tour of the facilities, most helpful and friendly, which we returned to after a short walk before dusk. Although we didn't benefit from any treatments on this occasion, we enjoyed a variety of other relaxing experiences within the spa - steam rooms, saunas, drench/rain/waterfall showers, jacuzzis (indoor and out) before a loveley dinner in the Brasserie. The food was delicious and beatufully presented in casual surroundings. If only we had packed some more formal atire we would have been able to upgrade to the dining room. :( An excuse to return! After a good night's sleep, we took breakfast in the conservatory. Staff again were most helpful, smart and friendly. We managed a short walk down to the lake through the woodland, returning just in time to avoid the rain shower before sadly departing. A (too) short but must enjoyable stay. Until next time. ;)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuddyCat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were greeted by very welcoming, friendly and professional staff who seated us and took our order of prefered tea in a seamless manner. Our afternoon tea was delightful and the atmosphere for the whole afternoon was very relaxing. The attention to detail is second to none and the staff where very attentive without being intrusive, we were offered refills of tea without having to ask and we felt that the staff were very keen to provide a very special service to everyone.We would highly recommend taking time to visit this beautiful hotel when visiting the lakes. You will not be disappointed. Well done to everyone for providing an exceptional experience, we will certainly take afternoon tea again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishased
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews