We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best wedding attended to date”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Lord and Lady Linthorpe would like to congratulate the Manager and staff of this fine establishment.
They made our very dear friends wedding a day to remember for all.
Excellent attention to detail throughout the whole weekend.
A truly remember-able stay!
Lord Linthorpe does have interesting request of which your staff met all of his needs, Well done!
Kind regards
Lady Linthorpe

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,703)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

969 - 975 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed at Armathwaite for a chilled sunday night. The hotel is a proper olde worlde hotel just need a loud ticking clock in the sitting room for full agatha christie effect. The rooms were good and the food in the bistro was superb. If yiu can get a deal then definately stay or just go for the food!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kuiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed here recently for an overnight stay. The hotel is a lovely building and our room was comfortable and welcoming. Luckily I knew the rooms had TV's in the bathroom otherwise my husband would have thought it was a mirror-very clever! After checking in we visited the spa which I must say was impressive and it was a pleasant enough day to use the outdoor hot tub too. Thoroughly relaxed we changed for a meal in the restaurant after enjoying drinks in the lounge in front of a roaring log fire. The meal was good although not exceptional - anyone wanting to stay on more of a budget I can recommend the less formal brasserie where we had a snack in the afternoon. After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a good and varied breakfast. All in all a very pleasant stay in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HazelH72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked a late break at Armathwaite Hall, we had a lovely Lake View room. We indulged in the Afternoon Tea recommended. We also booked treatments in the lovely spa, all the staff were very pleasant and conscientious. One downside was the contractors fitting a Biomass Boiler for the Spa went thro the gas pipe, therefore no hot water in the Spa that afternoon which was disappointing as it also affected the temp in the pool and jacuzzi . We had our evening meals in the Lake View Restaurant and the meals were of a high standard, although the menu only changed slightly. Overall we had a lovely peaceful time in lovely surroundings with the bonus of the Spa facilities.

Room Tip: The Lake View is spectacular so would recommend any rooms with this view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This could be a 5 star hotel if it were not for a handful of simple yet important aspects.
We did a couples Serenity Spa weekend recently; the location is sublime with the snow-topped prehistoric volcano mountain and lake views. The Hall/House is impressive, especially the main reception area; a large log fire burns from morning till night, the smells are fabulous.
Our lake view room has extraordinary views with huge windows for full advantage, well worth the upgrade. The bathroom is the downside, narrow, cramped and dark with a cumbersome step-in bath shower. The shower is weak, especially when compared to the turbo spa showers which are fantastic. The bathroom decor is perfunctory at best, with little room for toiletry bags, which is a shame for a room of this price and stature, usually the bathroom has a wow factor, but this bathroom belongs to a 3-bed semi-detached, a missed opportunity!
Very good spa facilities, but a curiously shabby connecting corridor from the hotel to the spa. This may sound trivial, but its a very long corridor reminiscent of an old grotty pub, not a 4 start hotel. The approach to the spa should be part of the spa experience, and we found ourselves re-decorating it in our minds, rather than focusing on the spa treatment we were walking toward. This could be such a quick fix too; bright fresh decor with good quality lighting and new clean neutral carpet/floor is all it needs to psychologically prepare us for our spa visit, not the grungy back corridor it currently is. On the initial approach I was dreading what the spa was actually going to be like, but thank goodness the spa is actually fab.
The spa lacks the initial wow factor of say Seaham Hall Spa, the pool lacks imagination and is a bit on the chilly side, but there's a great view of the mountain from the pool. The steam rooms and sauna are great, the sauna has views over the grounds, which feels luxurious. The outdoor hot tub, for us, was the best bit; infinity style, generous size, with views over the gorgeous grounds - at 35 degrees it was comfortable, but everyone commented on the desire for a couple more degrees of heat, which would have made the experience perfectly amazing, such an easy fix. The treatment area and rooms are really lovely, and can highly recommend the Just Be anti-ageing facial, using massage techniques; we let go of a lot of stress in just 30 mins, and a brilliant treatment to start the weekend with.
The Brasserie food options are great for meat-eaters, but poor fish options (battered fish only), no main course salad options or healthy eating options, no fresh green juices, the tiresomely predictable risotto for vegetarians, nothing whatsoever to suggest a spa retreat, and the Brasserie decor is dated and naff, again, with a captive audience this is a hugely missed opportunity.
The formal dining area however is lovely, warm and inviting. The fish dish was nice but dull, lacking imagination, and the desert options were not tempting enough, another missed opportunity. However, the staff are great, really friendly, and very good service all round.
We've gone to the trouble of writing a review because actually we really want to go back and enjoy Armathwaite Hall at its potential best, this hotel could be sensational; we really hope that some simple improvements can be made to notch this up a level to where it truly belongs. All said, this is a very special place.

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are a must, but check the weather, as visibility is poor in heavy rain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catinhatness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend had a spa day round valentines week. The whole day was amazing. Arrived at 10.30 and greeted by friendly staff and a hot tea. The spa facilities are beautiful!! Lunch in the brasserie was gorgeous had two courses and a glass of wine while sat in our robes. The treatments we chose were a couples full body massage which we would highly recommend. The highlight of the day was the outdoor hot tub (even though it was raining) overall a beautiful place and an amazing day. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natnat137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Last week I had my wedding reception at Armathwaite hall and it was perfect. Ever since my husband and I visited the Wedding Fayre in Feb 2013 we knew that Armathwaite Hall was the ideal venue. From day one looking around and deciding the wedding team (and there is a superb team of them) were on hand to help with any queries. Our wedding organiser was Cath and she was truly amazing, during the whole planning time, she was on hand at any time and calmed a slightly stressed bride and mother of the bride down. We visited many times before the big day and there was always someone on hand to help us plan and I can not recommend the afternoon tea enough! It's definitely superb value for money and you won't need to eat dinner at all! On the big day, all of the setting up of the wedding breakfast tables and evening entertainment was carried out but the staff at Armathwiate hall, and they set it up exactly as I wanted. On the day, they were friendly, professional and efficient, on hand to help if they could. The food was delicious and our bridal suite was incredible! They really go the extra mile to ensure you have everything you need from fluffy robes to a huge range of tea and coffee and fruit in your room. I can not thank the team at Armathwaite Hall enough and would recommend them not only as a wedding venue (they are superb value for money!) but also for a romantics stay or just a lovely afternoon catching up with friends. Thanks again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £146 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing