We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's not to Love!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What's not to Love!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from another trip to this wonderful Cumbria country hotel. On arrival you are greeted by professional courteous staff, show to your wonderful room by Porter. The rooms particularly in the old hall are a real treat beautifully decorated and totally in keeping tradition.
The food from breakfast, dinner and cream teas are delicious with homemade jams and scones.
Finally the Spa - the BEST I have ever been to! Had a great treatment too then chilled in the outdoor bit tub .
All of the staff are professional courteous and do all they can to enhance your stay.
We will definitely be back and would recommend a stay at this Cumbrian Gem .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 52nell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    294
    171
    86
    70
See reviews for
306
874
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had a couple of nights at the hotel and loved it. The building and it's location are beautiful . Our room was clean , very well presented with high quality bedding, soft furnishings and towels and very comfortable. We had lunch in the brasserie on arrival ; service was good the food well presented and excellent value for money. We were blessed with sunshine for the whole of our visit so really enjoyed walks to the Lake , in the grounds and further away around Derwent Water and the Borrowdale Valley . Breakfasts were excellent and served in the Lake View Restaurant . Loved the pool and hog tub ! My only reservation would be the evening meal in the brasserie .

Room Tip: We had a club room with no view as we had a special price deal but could not quibble about he qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llwyngwril, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We picked Armathwaite Hall to visit for our 'doggie' holiday as when I spoke to the most helpful young lady on reception she advised me that she would put us into the dog friendly room on ground floor. This was also a bonus as my husband is disabled. We arrived mid afternoon and we received wonderful service from the word go. I was helped with the luggage and dog items into our room which was large with a really nice enclosed seating area overlooking the lawned gardens towards the lake. The food here was excellent with a good choice of menu in the main dining room. Good choice of wine on the wine lists also.The staff here are all so attentive and nothing is too much trouble. Our dogs loved the walks around the grounds the hotel provided doggie treats and maps also.The cute Alpacas across the field were very friendly and loved to come and talk when you went to see them. All in all a very nice four day break with good food and great service.

Room Tip: Ground floor spa room great for disabled and dog owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llwyngwril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I visited Armathwaite Hall earlier this week for my 21st birthday celebrations. Myself & my family had Afternoon Tea followed by myself and my other half staying over night with the 'Lakeland Break' package. I have done a lot of travelling & have stayed in some beautiful hotels all over the UK from 5* in London to Edinburgh & everywhere inbetween. And I have to say, none of them even compare to Armathwaite Hall - in particular, the service from the staff.

The Afternoon Tea was beautiful with a huge selection of sandwiches, cakes, scones, cheesecakes, quiches & biscuits. It's not your basic sandwich, these sandwiches were unreal. I think too many people may expect a baguette and a slice of cake, but this afternoon tea is more 'fine dining' and 'gourmet'.

We had booked to stay in a Deluxe Double room however the staff had obviously got wind of my 21st birthday (probably from my mother...) & upgraded us to thee best room in the hotel. Which was AMAZING. We were on the top floor of the tower, with our private balcony that wasn't overlooked by anything, with a view over the lawns and straight down the middle of the lake. It was just breath-taking. And I only live ten minutes down the road!

We used the spa that afternoon which was very peaceful and relaxing - I had forgotten make-up remover and the receptionist at the spa insisted that she must make me up a little bottle of remover. This was followed by a three-course-meal in the evening which was beautiful. I had the steak (and I have eaten a LOT of steak in some very exclusive restaurants) and I'd say it was well up there in my top 10 steaks. The staff then brought us free champagne & wished me a very happy birthday.

I had walked past a couple of female staff in the corridor who had stopped me to ask how I was enjoying my birthday and how lovely my outfit was. Every staff member I came into contact with always had either birthday congratulations or lovely things to say, even though I'd never seen them before! (How did they ALL know it was my birthday?!) The staffs attention to detail was unbelievable and I have never felt more welcome anywhere in all of my life!

I would 110% recommend this hotel to anybody who is need of a QUIET and RELAXING break. It's a beautifully traditional British estate/'stately home' however the merge between this and the contemporary spa is just seamless..

Thank you so much Armathwaite Hall for making my 21st birthday unforgettable :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CScastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed at the hotel for a few nights away from the hustle and bustle of our busy lives. We have stayed at the hotel before and are always delighted by the quality of service, accommodation and food. We requested a room in the main building and yet again had a lovely room, well presented and very comfortable. We ate at the main restaurant where the quality of the food and service is consistently high.
During the day we visited the spa and had a few treatments. We also used the outside jacuzzi and indoor pool, both of which are excellent facilities. Sitting in the outdoor jacuzzi overlooking the hotel grounds is so lovely!
This hotel is very nice and an excellent place to relax and unwind in luxury.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Had a very relaxing weekend here. Lovely countryside and lake view. Main hotel is country manor style. Traditional style bedrooms but with good modern bathrooms. Very attentive staff. Spa is a real contemporary contrast. Great treatment rooms and once again lovely staff. We will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kahleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Does not understand the poor reviews on this place at all!!!! It's beautiful, lovely staff in a fantastic setting.

We stayed for 2 nights in February. Arriving late around 11pm. The staff couldn't of been more accommodating. Food was delivered to our room within 20mins. With 2 ice cold beers.

Spa treatments and facilities were amazing. Swimming pool was great. And being in the outdoor hot tub whilst it was freezing was great.

Food here is amazing. The guy who greets you on an evening (sorry can't remember name) is a true gentleman. Attention to detail here was superb. Great wine selection. And beers very well priced. Couldn't of asked for a better stay.

Get booking!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_p338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
4.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing