We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyzzick Hall Hotel(Under Skiddaw)
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,788)
Filter reviews
1,790 results
Traveller rating
1,077
340
196
96
81
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,077
340
196
96
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe outdoor hot tublake view restaurantarmathwaite hallafternoon teaclub roomhush roomglass of champagnearoma roomcream tealakeview restaurantstately homethermal suiteon arrivalsconescourse mealquichechristmas decorations
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
960 - 965 of 1,790 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were given a voucher for Armathwaite Hall and chose to go for tea on the terrace. What to say? Service was outstanding, cakes, scones lovely sandwiches. Home made cheese cake in a glass and some very nice Spanish sweet wine. We did not use the doggy bag option but did walk in the grounds on a wonderful summers afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Les S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed for two nights for a very special treat to include dinner, bed and breakfast at a special(!) rate and to take in several treatments in the attached spa.

We were welcomed with a glass of sherry and shown to our rooms by a porter. Our room was very comfortable with a huge bed. The other room, overlooking the front and the llamas in the field beyond, had a TV in the bathroom and a single bed on a mezzanine; very quirky!

Dinner was a 5-course affair and nothing at all disappointed.

The next day breakfast was freshly prepared and excellent. Indeed a special request for the next day's breakfast (for an improvement on an already excellent dish) was absolutely no bother.

Then followed the treatments booked in the spa. Such a relaxing experience but the continual (supposedly peaceful) muzak got somewhat annoying after a couple of hours. The gym is small but up to date with various static machines and the two jacuzzis (one indoor, one outdoor) comfortable (drinks served at the outdoor), the pool adequate and various steam rooms and sauna available. My one observation would be the provision of a cold plunge pool would be a welcome respite following being all steamed up!

Lunch was served on the patio with a superb view of Bassenthwaite Lake and the hills. Attached to the hotel is a brasserie which is used for wedding parties etc and on our visit I would suggest many of the guests for a wedding did not really appreciate the surroundings or treat the Hall and grounds with respect being oblivious to the relaxing atmosphere desired by other guests in the main hall (not the hotel's fault).

The evening meal was again excellent and served by more than enough waiters and waitresses most of whom were, apparently, from the Spain and very pleasant and attentive.

The next day more treatments in the spa followed our, again, excellent breakfast before checking out.

One criticism would be the cleaning of the bedrooms. For the quality and price of this hotel you would expect the vanity pouch and shower products to be renewed daily and the used glasses removed. But for this I would have given an "excellent" rating

This is far from a budget experience (a rather fine Cognac was £45 a shot) but fair value for money!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nanook o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here for one night - wished it was longer. Location was excellent, facilities and room were modern and superb, spacious and clean. Food was excellent, local beer and gin was also lovely, breakfast fantastic, views fantastic. Highly recommended - get yourself booked in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnage_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent one night at this wonderful spa hotel and wish it could have been much longer. The location is out of this world, spectacular scenery and so serene. We stayed in a club room overlooking the deer park. The room was beautifully furnished with an extremely comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The spa facilities are wonderful and I think you would be hard pressed to find better. We upgraded to have evening meal in the Lake View restaurant and this was well worth the extra. The food was delicious and all of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just returned from another stay at Armathwaite Hall. This was my longest stay yet. Staff are delightful; friendly and courteous. Rooms are excellent with all the facilities you need and delightful views.I prefer to stay in the main body of the hotel but the spa rooms look good too. Food was superb and the gym, pool and jacuzzis are brilliant. All make it an excellent play to stay, whether it be for one night or a week. I will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JoAdamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews