We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect from time of booking in to checking out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2009

the service was first class, the accommodation was fantastic and the spa out of this world, between the restaurant & new bistro the menu's are bril catering for all ages. We could find no fault with anything we would just like to say a big thank you to ALL the staff at the armathwaite for making our stay so special roll on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nellieweldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,695)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,547 - 1,553 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2009

This was a curate's egg of a hotel. We were late bookers and the hotel seemed pretty full - there was at least one wedding taking place but it did not intrude upon our stay. Some things about the hotel were excellent for example the spa was absolutely outstanding, a beautiful and, for me on an early Saturday evening, uncrowded pool, steam and sauna room. I would agree that it was not that child friendly but that suited me. The grounds were lovely and the public rooms were very comfortable. The service was friendly if somewhat haphazard - sometimes there was more than one person trying to see to us at the same time, sometimes the staff seemed very preoccupied. It gave the impression that noone was really in charge. Our room was a good size at ground level with a sitting area (2 armchairs and a settee) and a dedicated terrace area outside reached via french doors from the room. The furniture was a little outdated but the bed was comfortable although the duvet was a little heavy for the time of year and the bed cover was not pristine. The bathroom was newly refurbished including TV screen and was very nice but quite small. Difficult to see what else they could do given the constraints of the layout. There was fruit and bottled water provided upon arrival plus robes and slippers. We could hear the people above us but fortunately they were not noisy. We had the 6 course evening meal but I passed on 2 courses - it was just too much. Unfortunately the main dining room was full so we were in the conservatory which lacked atmosphere when it is dark outside and is rather narrow, leaving us feeling as if we were eating in a corridor. I wondered why I had bothered to dress up. That said it was fine for breakfast the next morning. I was surprised that the Cumbrian breakfast was served buffet style and opted instead for scrambled eggs and smoked salmon which was lovely and fresh cooked as was my husband's smoked haddock and poached egg. Our morning paper arrived OK but not our morning call - good thing it was Sunday. Not quite the level of all round professionalism that I would expect from this standard of hotel but I probably would go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGill05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

The hotel is a lovely stately home, with lovely rooms including the bar area, the lake view room. Lovely views to bassenthwaite lake which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Unfortunately, something we didn't realise is that the lake is a private lake and there are no footpaths along the lake at all which was a bit disappointing. The nearest is lake buttermere which is an 8 mile driveaway and is very lovely. Food is rather expensive and with not many other options in terms of dining outside the hotel, as this part of the lakes is much quieter, this was a bit disappointing. Won't be disappointed with the food quality though. The set 6 course meal in the main restaurant is great, although, it seems the only option in this restaurant is to eat the 6 course set meal, there is no a la carte menu which was a little strange. The brasserie is the other option where you have a menu to choose from for your 3 course meal. The spa was great, it's just recently opened and you can easily spend most of the day here. All the staff in the hotel and the spa area very also very attentive too and all made you feel welcome. We did clay pigeon shooting at £60pp on the hotel grounds, and Bryan was extremely nice and entertaining and made the experience very enjoyable. All in all, a great hotel for a short relaxing break, set in a great location. Only disappointing thing was that the nearby lake was private and that the food was a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paramLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

More like a 5star hotel!!!! We have just returned from staying at this hotel for 1 night. Food was lovely, staff very attentive and Spa fantastic! Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I simply could not rate this place any higher. The spa was nothing short of spectacular with the therapists highly professional and amongst, in my view, the best in the world. The service was fabulous - attentive without being overbearing and always friendly. The food was of the highest calibre, great quality cooked very well indeed.

All in all, this was one of the most relaxing breaks we could wish for. I am already planning to go back and have recommended to numerous colleagues, friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rawlesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Positives:
- great location overlooking the Lake
- lovely spa facilities UNLESS YOU HAVE CHILDREN (see below)
- nice old building with traditional ambiance
- most staff are helpful

BUT!
- as per other reviews, breakfast was only a buffet and quite mundane at that
- service in the restaurant was patchy - it took 2 hours for 2 courses to be served on a busy Saturday night.
- watch the language when you book: my verbal request for a lake view room was confirmed using hotel language 'extra superior executive luxury etc', which basically did not translate into a lake view on arrival! Not worth an argument, but they did offer to upgrade me for further £££!
- my room (in the original building) had a very tired bathroom compared to the nice bedroom area.
- the spa has been recently upgraded and only just re-opened to hotel guests and members. It now excludes children from most of the facilities and from the pool except for 4 specific hours of the day. We had no idea of these restrictions when we booked and were unceremoniously asked to leave at the allotted hour - to avoid annoying members - despite there being no one else around! You get the feeling that children are only just tolerated, and that the hotel would really prefer not to have them around at all, if it were not for their profitable parents. Although sign-age is sparse (locating the Spa is a challenge), several doors have 'NO CHILDREN' clearly printed on them, and others have temporary paper signs pointing out in some detail how children are excluded.

The hotel should be adequate for those child-free travellers seeking a traditional English / non child friendly environment . The hotel should not pretend otherwise. Thank GOD the weather was fantastic and we spent all our days away from the hotel in the gorgeous countryside. If you have bad weather (not entirely unheard of in the Lakes) don't count on using the pool to entertain the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HppyWnderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Would like to thank all the staff at armathwaite hall, especially Alison, for a fantastic three days at the hall, our wedding was on the second day, Alison and her staff made our day so special for us and our guests, i would recommend armathwaite to anyone that is thinking of having their wedding in the lakes. The setting is just amazing,the views accross the lakes are stunning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sopyhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
554 reviews
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £197 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing