We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST WONDERFUL!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2010

4 girls on a girly night away for proper indulgence and we were certainly not disappointed. we loved every second that we were here. Everyone was so friendly - from the welcome on arrival from the lovely reception staff to the staff we met in the corridors, we mean everyone! The spa is fab and it does get a little quieter on the afternoon. if it's snowing make sure you go in the hot tub, it's surreal!

we went on the overnight sunday spa break package and at £150 pp it might seem a little pricey for 1 night but it is very well worth it when you think that a 2 course meal is about £25 and a 30 minute treatment is £35, not forgetting the scones with jam and cream YUM! we had these before we left at about 1pm and it set us up for our little wander round Trotters, which is free for residents, just keep hold of your room card and show them it on arrival. the only thing i would say is that it would be nice to have a pot of tea or coffee with the scones to complete it.

after the treatments you get taken to the hush room which we weren't expecting (I like to have a treatment when my husband and I go to a hotel which has these facilities) and was lovely...the bed/seats are very snug and relaxing.

We had a spa club room which was down the corridor to the spa. You have your own little seating area outside and a TV in the bathroom. We got a radio in our room while our friends got a fridge. we both got a DVD player on the wall with the TV and you can ask to lend DVD's to watch. 3 however is the channel and we had spiderman on ours instead of ITV and when we asked she said it will be on another channel, which it was, panic over, needed to watch Dancing on Ice haha :-) We got a turn down service on the vening which I've never actually had and wasn't expecting. don't leave your delicates on the bed as they move everything off the bed to prepare it.

We had arrived very early and we left all our bags in the entrance and the receptionist had them put into storage until our room was ready. We finally checked in at about 4pm when we got out of the spa (we had arrived at 10.15 and headed straight for the spa) and everything was there and coats hung up for us.

We had lunch in the courtyard brasserie and it felt weird sitting in a restaurant style place in our robes and slippers but it just added to the whole experience.

EVERYTHING was lush and we are definitely going back. This place really is adorable and an excellent find.

I know I've twittered on, but it was really was phenominal!

I have already recommended it to loads of people. BOOK NOW!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helenandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,508 - 1,514 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2010

My friend and I booked a last minute spa break with this hotel as we had read the reviews and thought it looked lovely. We weren't disappointed. On arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist who explained the hotel facicilities. We made use of the local walking guide the hotel had and also spent time at the pool, jacuzzi etc.. The outdoor hot tub was just brilliant. The room was great and the bed linen so soft and inviting. Our evening meal was 6 course, well thought out and tasted lovely.
The spa was excellent, the staff again couldn't have been nicer. The massage and facial I had was so worth the money. There was nothing to fault I just didn't want to go home.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We have just left Armathwaite again after yet another Fabulous stay.
between the amazing Spa and the attentiveness of all the staff nothing is ever to much trouble, the food is absolutley mouth watering if only we could eat the full six courses every night.
the room we stayed in was in the spa wing and it was beautiful, fully refurbished it even had a tv in the bathroom which was great we had a small outside terrace area which gave us great views out on to the garden.
The views we had from our breakfast table in the Lake View Resturant was mouth dropping it was absoultley breath taking the whole stay was in fact ,and we would advise any one to stay and experiance what we have it was great .

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VSW0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The good: Great location. Curtains that completely blocked out the sun. Decent breakfast served in bed. Oustanding new spa with great outdoor hot tub.

The bad: we got a 6 course meal as part of the deal in the lake view restaurant. We had two nights there and both were desperately disappointing. Food that was trying to be far too clever but actually tasted like school dinners. If you like your scallops served in BBQ sauce with bacon and chicken wings then maybe you'll like it more than us!

The lowdown: go to the hotel but don't book into the lakeside restaurant. They have another restaurant but I have no idea what it is like.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seganaleqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

if this place had not been so expensive, and therefore my expections very high i would have been gushing. however, when one is paying £300 per night you expect every thing to be perfect. the hall itself is very beautiful. the public areas are lovely but the furniture was i feel shabby and a little dated. the service for afternoon tea was slow to say the least and we were told it was going to be 15 to 20 mins, it was 35 mins. not happy.
the room - well we were upgraded to a deluxe double. what was delux about it im not quite sure, but it was dated and some of the furniture i hate to say was shabby. we were told we would be over looking the deer park, however we could see the car park. there was a field with sheep in it so im assuming this was the deer park. the evening meal was top class and the breakfast was lovely too. the veiws from the breakfast room were stunning.
the spa was very nice and the pool was excellent. i can imagine that it would be lovely in the summer as you can sit outside and theres a jacucci out there.
i don't think i would recommend this hotel mainly because i think the basic b&b price is too high. it is not exculsive or maintained enough to warrant it. although the views are lovely one does not see them enough to warrant paying for them. but we did have a nice time. just a short note - we were supposed to go the this hotel on the 2 of jan 2010 but because the pennines were so impassable with snow we had to cancell. we were told that we would lose our deposit of a £100 if we didn't come within january. i think this was mean as i was very dissappointed not to go but the weather was terible and the advice was not to take journeys unless necessary. we did however go to a four star hotel near us called redworth hall co.durham and spa for just £90 for a couple db&b and it was fantastic and certainly as good as armathwaite hall where we shelled out £300 db&b

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandy-68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We really enjoyed our weekend as a party of 8, 4 adults and 4 children. The staff could not do anymore to make us feel welcome. It was the little touches that really made a difference like the glass of sherry on arrival and the extra log on the fire. Nothing was too much to ask.. The spa treatment was excellent and the staff were very polite and friendly. My only critisism would be that the splash time for children was at an inconvenient time and not really long enough.Whilst the staff were very attentive alot of club members were really frowning upon us. One lady verbally abused me for taking my 7 yr old son in the changing rooms. We used a cubicle and she was outside. I was taken aback and shocked,however the young lady at reception was very sympathetic and reported the member. Our room was a large deluxe room,the bed was exceptionally comfortable but the bathroom needed updating and was dis-appointing.. However overall our stay was very pleasant mainly due to the staff and the lovely ambiance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajayCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We booked a one night stay here and it was fabuluous - totally relaxing.
The spa area is great and although quite a few people were in there none of the sauna/steam rooms etc seemed full. Used the spa again on Sun morning and it was deserted.
The 6 course meal was beautiful, I'm quite picky and I still managed to be full.
Drinks in front of one of the many open fires has to be a highlight, the service was exceptional and I can't wait to go back- babysitters permitting, as it's not really a place for children.
We had a refurbished room with its own little courtyard, no complaints at all.
All in all it was spectacular but we don't do this sort of thing that often.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuckersluck71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,151 reviews
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
18.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range: £199 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing