We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Beautiful location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Beautiful location.”
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with 3 young children. The hotel was in a brilliant location, looking out over the lake. The rooms were ok, we had a family suite which had a room with bunk beds in for the children. The hotel for us had a feel that many hotels of its kind do, a nice luxury hotel but needs a little bit of money spending on it, for example one of the carpets in the public rooms didn't join properly and had a big gap in it! Not what you expect from a £350 per night hotel!
We ate in the restaurant on one night and had a meal in our room the next. there is no question the food was some of the best i have tasted in a long time, definitely an experience worth paying for. The hotel also arranged for a babysitter to come and look after the children on the 1st night, she was brilliant and i would recommend her to all other familys.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hecticlifeof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    301
    177
    86
    71
See reviews for
311
900
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed at the hotel to celebrate a special anniversary, after having enquired after many hotels you always hope you pick the right one, well we did. Armathwaite is in a beautiful setting and the approach does not disappoint, a driveway through woodland to the grand frontage of the hotel. On arrival it was apparent that there was a wedding in full swing, which was a bit off putting and we wondered if that was going to overtake our stay, we needn't have worried as the wedding guests were later moved along to the spa area where there are good sized function rooms and they did not impact on the main hotel where guests enjoyed evening meals in the restaurant.
Our room was in the main house on the top floor, one of the smaller rooms i think but well furnished, very comfortable, our only disappointment was the bathroom, this was incredibly small and a larger person may have found the bath difficult to use,was all very clean though and with the usual complimentary toiletries etc. Rooms refreshed each day and each evening beds turned down, trays refreshed and curtains drawn, lamps turned on for our return.
We ate in the restaurant on both our 2 night stay, there is only a table d'hote menu on offer, which we found very adequate with different choices available within the menu . We found the food very good, staff helpful and attentive and wine list not too expensive. Coffee and petit fours served in the lounge which is also very comfortable.
The spa is wonderful, didn't feel the need to have any of the treatments on offer, just enjoyed the swimming pool, outdoor jacuzzi (really lovely to sit in the outdoor hot tub whilst it was raining, not feeling cold, watching the rabbits on the lawns, heavenly) and the hydrotherapy room. But if the spa isn't your thing then the grounds are good to walk around too. You can walk through the woodland right down the the lakeside.
We really enjoyed our stay, even visited Trotters which we loved. This is a country house hotel furnished with old/antiquey style furniture some parts being similar to a National trust house ie snooker room (which even in middle of summer is a cold room, could do with some ambient heating in there) so for those who enjoy ultra modern, this isn't for you.
But it felt special for us and we enjoyed the atmosphere, there were families staying and the children seemed very welcome and were not shunned away from the dining room as in some hotels.
One comment i do feel needs to be said, is the corridoor down to the spa is very creaky and noisy, it seems almost impossible to walk down this passage in a quiet manner which must be very annoying for the people in rooms along there, so glad we didn't have one of those rooms.
Would thoroughly recommend Armathwaite hall to anyone who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of places such as Windermere, this is an altogether quieter and nicer part of the lake district.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talbots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I visited Armathwaite Hall from the US in mid July with my wife, son, daughter and son-in-law. We stayed for 4, 5 or 6 nights depending on the person and paid a total of about UK 5,000 which included meals. The hotel has exceptional views of Bassenthwiate Lake and is very secluded from the hustle and bustle of the touristy parts of the Lakes. It is close to Skiddaw (about 3000 ft) , which is well worth climbing for the incredible views. The best thing that can be said about this hotel is that they have incredibly helpful staff. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and gave us a lore of local information. The evening dinners were not exceptional but quite acceptable and the chef made a special effort to meet our needs. On the downside I think that the management needs to upgrade all of the carpets and furnishings throughout the older, most interesting, part of the hotel. They seem to neglect detailed daily cleaning and I don't think I heard the hum of a vacuum cleaner during the entire time we were there. There is also no air conditioning which is useful in the middle of the summer. This may seem trivial, but the entrance to the hotel is quite awkward and one cannot seamlessly enter from the road. Given the room costs, I think that management should consider the value proposition, especially for those who make little use of the spa.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10k_34_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

A friend treated my husband and I to afternoon tea for my birthday on Sunday 11th July. The greeting was lovely; there was a table ready with our name on it and the whole place had a lovely peaceful feel. There were lovely fresh flower arrangements around the place and all the staff were courteous and efficient. The tea was excellent, plenty of variety and perfectly served; extra fresh tea and coffee being brought without the asking. The cakes left on the stand were prettily boxed for us to take home; I don't think anyone could actually finish all that was offered. I give afternoon tea at Armathwaite Hall 10/10.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LittlemoCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I booked a 3 night spa break to celebrate my 60th birthday. I chose the hotel because of the spa and the special offer. It lived up to my expectations. A charming baronial mansion with a spanking new state of the art spa and leisure complex and brasserie with internet lounge. Staff, food, ambience were excellent. Our room was in the extension nex to the spa and had its oown little garden complete with table and chairs.the nathroom had a television!! The food in the restaurant was very good, the service old fashioned but charming. The brasserie run by a Brazilian chap was a joy!!
I had a hot stone massage,reflexology and a facial as part of the package[used hubby's hour too] and went back the next day for anothe hot stone massage and a maincure. The Hush Room is a great place to relax. Iloved every minute of my stay...as did my husband who spent his time hillwalking while I got pampered!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Red4850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2010

We paid £350 for one night for two adults and two children. As it happened we were placed in the main house and the roomwas spacious, but had it been a room off the corridor leading to the spa, I would have had a fit (it was smelly and cramped). We were lucky with the weather and were able to sit on the terrace overlooking the lake: the view itself was worth the money, as far as I'm concerned. But if it were a cold day, we would have been inside, with the main lounge overlooking the car park and being a bit dark (although there was a 'morning room as well). The kids dinners were not included in the £350 mentioned above. Overall, a grand hotel but too expensive and no guarantee everyone would have the same experience: as far as I am concerned, any room outside the main house would not be worth it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iap1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We love the lakes & visit 3 or 4 times per year to relax & chill with our young daughter. Many of the smaller so called lux hotels are stuffy & not quite right so having just returned from a 4 day break at Armathwaite Hall I am very happy to report that we have found a perfect hotel at last.
From moment one we found this hotel very relaxing. The staff are helpful & courteous without being smug or false. The decor is impecable & I might add, this is one of the cleanest hotels I have visited. Unusually the rooms are spotless & well-equiped. We always have to ask for an ironing board & iron, here it is neatly tucked away in the wardrobe. The food is great & the spa even better. If like us your child likes to spend hours in the pool then this is for you. Again one of the cleanest spa & pool areas that I have seen which makes for a wonderful experience. We took our little dog & had a garden area which was perfect. Lots of comfy lounge areas & great service. We will be back without a doubt & whilst I read some negative reviews about this place which made me apprehensive go & see for yourself as it really is a winner!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UAEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,052 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
17.8 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
19.1 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing