We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Lake District
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

My husband and I recently decided to go for dinner to Armathwaite Hall to celebrate a birthday, we had our wedding reception there over 15 years ago, so we thought it would be nice to go back and see what it was like. The place has never changed in all that time, service was very slow for drinks before dinner. The service in the restaurant was excellent, the food was nice but average, the vegetables were bland and not very exciting. My husband's fish should have been flambe at the table and wasn't. After dinner we retired to the bar area, where we appeared to wait forever for someone to serve drinks, in the end my husband had to go and find someone. All and all a nice evening, but would not rush back, its definitely in need of a 21st century revamp.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DWLLakeDistrict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMsteele, General Manager at Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
I would like to thank you for the positive aspects mentioned in your review and of course the additional constructive feedback. Clearly, service delays are unacceptable.

In addition, I would like to give you my personal assurances that what you experienced during your visit has/and is currently being looked at to further improve guest satisfaction. If you could spare a moment of your time, please call me on 017687 76551 to discuss further.

I do hope that you will consider a visit on your 16th Wedding anniversary! where I can assure you of our very best attention.

Simon Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    292
    169
    86
    69
See reviews for
300
866
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2010

Had a lovely night away the rooms are not massive but nice with very big beds, bathroom has addition of telly in wall probably not needed but a novelty. The hotel is like staying in a country hotel a step back in time with lounges that have open fires and you could easily while an hour or two relaxing and reading. Spa very enjoyable and a nice addition after a strenous walk to relax in. The staff are outstanding very helpful and so nice to see an older gentleman serving our dinner . All in all would return and try to spend more time in hotel you dont really need to leave loads to do (lovely old fashioned billard room). We also had major problems with sat nav best check on map before leaving The gripes i would have are with dinner we were offered bread or rolls , but they were cold and frankly on the way to stale, fresh bread warmed is no cost and makes a big difference, also the vegetable selection was very uninspired limp carrots, small leeks and turnips all would be fine as it lovely to use seasonal veg but obviously microwaved back to temperature and limp and looked very unappealing , its the small often inexpensive things that make a difference

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkshirelass017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMsteele, General Manager at Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
I was delighted to read that you felt the service and staff were outstanding. I have already relayed your feedback to the team who are always gratified to receive such comments.

Thank you for advising others that Sat Nav is not always a trusting tool when finding hotels in such elegant and remote surroundings!

With regards to your dinner experience in the Restaurant, my apologies that this was not quite as you would have hoped. As a team, we have discussed your comments to ensure we see no repeat of these issues in the future as we do pride ourselves in providing the best possible service and hospitality.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Simon Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

We live within an easy reach of this hotel and come across it 8 years ago when my wife and I were married. This was before the spa upgrade and they delivered a superb service all round. The duty manager even personally looked after a young 3 year old child who was unwell so their parents could continue with our wedding party. We have had weekends away in this hotel over the years and I cannot fault it. You should even call in for afternoon tea just to experience the level of service provided. We recently held a christening reception for our daughter which was attended by close family. Again, Armathwaite were very welcoming and delivered a great sunday lunch which was extremely well coordinated. Our thanks to the team.

We will be back next July for a short break when a family member holds their wedding there, so looking forward to it.

In my eyes after travelling the world and staying in very nice hotels, this hotel with the new spa should be rated at 5 stars and not 4 stars as it stands today.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbriaLandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMsteele, General Manager at Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
It is always a real pleasure to read such reviews that recognise our commitment to high standards of service and hospitality. I am proud to say that the management team and staff here at Armathwaite Hall not only enhance our guest stay, they are pivotal in making the experience truly memorable to ensure that guests return time after time.

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back in July..!

Simon Steele
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Hotel ... Great location, stunning views
Spa ... Great fun and beautifully clean and modern with friendly staff
Room ... comfortable, clean tiny bathroom
Service ... reasonable but with bad attitude
Dinner ... Expensive, pretentious with dry overcooked food and rushed service, shame!

A great pity! The chef should be ashamed ... or does he have Sunday nights off?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coulinghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

1 LOCATION: I found the hotel hard to find. I have a great SatNav but I had to call reception two times for help. I guess it's part of the charm. 2 BUILDING: Very Impressive!! This is the reason why I will give this hotel a second chance. 3 WELCOME: Good welcome. Could be slightly better (difference between and 4 and 5 stars). 4 ROOMS: Nice. In need of a little refurb. 5 BATHROOM: Same as for the room 6: DINNER: Good food! We liked it! 7 OVERALL: As explained, I will definitely give it another chance!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lefrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

My sister and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for the 2nd time this year. We got upgraded to a lovely room with a sitting area in the spa wing. The room and decor suits the hotel and the beds were lovely and comfortable.

We had lunch in the brasserie and two wonderful treatments in the fabulous spa and chilled out in my favourite part which is the quiet room. Only downside is when the staff are tidying up in here maybe they could be less noisy and the door does slam when entering and leaving but other than that it is lovely and relaxing.

The highlight of our stay was our meal in the evening in the brasserie, we did book for the main restaurant but having had a large lunch we decided that we couldn't eat such a big meal so opted for the brasserie and thank god we did. Jefferson is a star, we had such fun with him during the course of the evening, his customer service skills are excellent and he certainly exceeded our expectations. We couldn't decide on the wine so he gave us a taster session in between entertaining us with tales, he is a lovely guy and a credit to Caroline and the team who were all lovely.

All in all a wonderful stay yet again, we shall return. The gift vouchers are a great present for a loved one for birthdays, xmas or just as a treat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Great old country house with friendly and helpful staff, particularly Lorraine, Allison, Gabriel, Cosmin Claire in the spa and just about everyone! Marvellous surroundings both in and out of the house, picturesque setting, great food. It may not be cheap but you don't expect this quality of hotel to be, but it is worth the experience of the stay. We were there with friends for a quiet wedding and the time could not have been made more special by the staff or more romantic by the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Severus69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
17.9 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
24.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Castle Inn Hotel
2.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA12 4RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#2 Family Hotel in Bassenthwaite
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Armathwaite Hall Country House Hotel and Spa is a beautiful four red star 17th-century former stately home situated near to Keswick on the shores of Bassenthwaite Lake. The hotel and spa is private owned and features forty six bedrooms of individual character from stylish spa bedrooms to the luxury of studio suites with stunning lake views. The rosette fine dining Lake View Restaurant serves table d’hote lunches and dinners in elegant surroundings to both residents and non resident guests. The Courtyard Bar and Brasserie is a stylish modern alternative serving meals in a relaxed atmosphere. Afternoon teas are served daily and are a great way to celebrate with family and friends. Licensed to hold civil ceremonies for romantic weddings up to 150 guests. The award winning spa, offers the best in facilities from the 16 meter infinity edge pool to the luxurious outdoor spa pool, thermal suite and life fitness gym. Ten treatment rooms including a double treatment room offer relaxing and soothing treatments to guests, day spa and members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Bassenthwaite
Armathwaite Hall Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel Keswick
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing