We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“...”

Review of The Stables

The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stables
Kitchen Double bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Stables
Kitchen
Double bedroom
Triple bedroom
Bathroom
The Stables
The Games Room
The Full Size Snooker Table
Bassenthwaite Lake
buttermere, crummock water and loweswater
Bassenthwaite Lake, Skiddaw, Ullock Pike & Dodd
Bassenthwaite Lake, Skiddaw, Ullock Pike & Dodd
Ennerdale looking towards Anglers Crag
Glenterra Valley between Skiddaw & Blencathra
loweswater
ennerdale
keswick town centre
cockermouth
derwentwater jetty
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
OnAir5441...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“...”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

I booked a suprize 3 night break staying in the stables cottage for my daughter. its home from home and spotlessly clean. Mark was wonderful he made my booking 100% worry free and sending plenty of information. The surrounding area was very quiet with lovely people and beautiful scenery. Just what was needed. My daughter had a wonderful stay and I wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for your review and we are very glad that your daughter enjoyed her 'Birthday present'!
We look forward to seeing you in the future
Kind regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princess6...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage, amazing location”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent 6 days at The Stables, a lovely cottage perfect for a family of five. We were impressed with its cleanliness and attention to detail. It is like a home from home and you needn't worry about bringing anything you need to run a home. The kitchen is well equipped with a microwave, kettle, toaster, cookware, fridge freezer and even a washer drier. This was an added bonus as we returned home with muddy clothing every day. The bedrooms are immaculate with comfy beds and clean fresh linen and towels. The bathroom was spotless. We love the stone work and the decor throughout. We were even welcomed with a box of chocolates. Thank you very much. Perfect cottage for a family of five. Our 3 children loved the layout of their bedroom too as it allowed them to stay together. Our only criticism is poor Wifi and mobile reception. Wifi works best upstairs.

The area is very quiet and peaceful, yet close to town center and major supermarkets. We even got our Tesco groceries delivered to our door on arrival. The location is easily accessible to all major popular places to visit. This is a very quiet area of the Lake District, not overcrowded by holiday makers for this time of the year. So you really get to experience the peace and quiet of the forests and lakes.

We will definitely choose these cottages again with our extended family in the future. Mark was really helpful with the booking process and responded to all emails fairly quickly. Thank you very much. We loved your cottage!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Maria,
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I have contacted BT to ask if there has been a WiFi issue in our village that affected our allegedly super fast WiFi! Usually our connection is good.

We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.

Best regards
Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my friends really wanted a getaway over the weekend due to the stresses of life. We found this last minute and enquired about booking it. Unfortunately this particular property was booked but Mark advised the one next door was available which we took.
The property is a short drive from Keswick where we did a great hike and had a nice lunch.
Mark the owner is great even though my bank had stopped the payment going through Mark did not pester us about the payment and was completely understanding over the fact, he arranged for us to pay his neighbours in cash. Mark seems to be a great host, he gave us a list of things we could do and even a box of chocolates which was a nice touch.
The area itself is perfect nice and quite perfect to recharge. I left for the cottage stressed and unhappy and came back rested and happy. I would definitely look at coming back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for your kind words!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Just back from an enjoyable 2 night stay here. The Stables offers clean, modern and comfortable accommodation at reasonable rates in a quiet location. Everything we needed was provided and there is even a games room on site with a full size snooker table. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsAniaOr...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Dr”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great cottage, very clean, comfortable beds
Wood burning stove makes it super cosy. Will definitely book again. Very attractive price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piper2320
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My friend and I have just spent 4 days here to celebrate my birthday. Mark the owner was kind enough to leave a very large box of chocolates for us. The cottage is excellent, spotlessly clean,with exposed beams and stonework. It's located down a small quiet lane, in a village close to Cockermouth. We would definitely recommend this as a holiday destination and hopefully will be returning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicey
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great cottage - fantastic location and really good value for money”
Reviewed 9 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed at The Stables for 2 nights in November 2015. The cottage is in a lovely location and is surprisingly easy to find.

The cottage is welcoming, comfortable and spacious and has all the facilities you could need for either a short or longer stay - the box of chocolates left by the owner was a very nice touch. There is also a games room shared between the three cottages which is a really nice addition.

All told, would thoroughly recommend and will definitely stay again when back in the area!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty much everything - the games room was great!
Liked least: Wifi was very slow but didn't come to the lakes for fast Wifi!!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing