We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb pet friendly place!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dobby Lodge

Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Our three modern and contemporary style Dobby Lodges Living area complete with kitchen and dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Cosy lounge with wall mounted TV and flame effect wood burner stove
Our three modern and contemporary style Dobby Lodges
Living area complete with kitchen and dining area
Comfortable corner sofa
Double bedroom with picture wall and unique log slice bedside table features
Twin bedroom
Family bathroom
Bath complete with drench shower over
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb pet friendly place!”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

First time visit but will defiantly return. Accommodation pet friendly, but you wouldn't think it as it was totally spotless. Lodge was fully equipped and beautifully presented. The place is set in the most beautuful of settings and only a few miles away from Keswick. Would recommend this site 100%

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene M
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from a wonderful week in this truly lovely lodge. Plenty of room (even with 2 dogs) and everything was very well furnished. The doggy welcome pack was much appreciated :-) Have already been looking at dates for returning later in the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roy_gIpsw...
ipswich
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Dobby 3 and could not fault it the lodge is just the best. Everything you could possibly need is in this lodge the term home from home really fits this place. A really smart and clean lodge exceptionally warm with a great shower and a nice touch is the dish washer who wants to wash up on holiday after all. We had a great week and even took the dog who loved it. A dedicated dog walking area with fantastic views of Skiddaw just topped it off. A nice little shop on the site with everything reasonably priced in case you need anything. The owners here really have thought of everything and I absolutely cannot think of one negative thing about this park which is ideally located in the northern lakes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Wi fi hit and miss
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill B
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Dobby 2 which was as described , modern and everything you needed was in this lodge including a towel for the pooch, biscuit and poop bags. Mattress on bed was amazing brilliant nights sleep.On arrival staff were friendly and polite although didnt see much of them after that as everything was ok in lodge and we were out all day walking. We will book again for skiddaw view but might try a different lodge as dobby lodge didnt really have a view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful and the mattress
Liked least: position of lodge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smaria90
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely lodge, excellent stay.”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in do by lodge 3 for a week. We had a lovely staff, excellent clean lodge and well equipped. We would definitely recommend and return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon! Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexwalker
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed this time :(”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed here for 3 years in a row and reccomended it to everyone as we loved it so much! I even payed for my parents to stay last year because it's so nice! But this time was disappointing, the dobby lodges had recently been refurbished so we had high hopes.. On the first morning I was going to have cheese on toast as I do most days only to find the grill wouldn't work. My husband was fuming so I decided to call maintenance thinking they would just fix it. The guy who I spoke to was lovely and said he would come right away. When he came he basically said it doesn't work and there's nothing we can do about it and it should have been changed in the refit. We didn't get offered it to be fixed or to be moved to another log cabin. My husband then had to fry everything for his full English and I couldn't have cheese on toast so had just toast. The following morning I was woken to a digger and a tipper truck right outside my log cabin. (This happened last year to but I understand they need to do work so didn't say anything) but this time it was early in the morning and I'd gone on holiday to relax as I'm pregnant! On the Wednesday it was our wedding anniversary so we went out for the day but came back around 3.30 to watch a film.. We were all settled and then a man comes down with machinery to flatten out the road he was doing on the Monday.. So we couldn't hear the film and the dogs were going crazy. He then went so we played the film again.. Next thing a guys come to strim the grass!
One thing I do have to say tho, the new mattresses are amazing! We have come away wanting to buy one. Being pregnant I've had bad hips and it really helped. It also helped my husbands back problems. The whole refit looks fab the only thing I would have changed if possible would have been the shower curtain to maybe a glass one as the shower curtain constantly sticks to you when your in there.
All in all we probably won't be coming again which is gutting as we did love it originally but this time was just a disappointment :(

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2016
We are sorry to hear that you found your recent stay disappointing. We can only apologise for what appears to have been some miss-communication and poor timing. Looking back it appears that the grill issue was indeed rectified while you were in the lodge as the gas engineer attended and from the sounds of it, this information wasn't relayed to you while you were still with us. Regarding the strimming/grounds work, it was just again unfortunate that gardener happened to reach the Dobby Lodges just after the grounds work was completed; unfortunately we do have to do this work in order to maintain and improve the park and we do try to complete this in times where it would cause least disruption to everyone. Again we are sorry that you didn't enjoy this recent stay as much as your previous ones. We are glad that you like the new look Dobby Lodges and we will definitely look into the shower curtain issue. We really hope that one day you might give us another chance and that we will see you again. Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MandyJane...
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely comfortable lodge quiet site”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Booked 2 nights with husband and friends well equipped comfortable lodge on a quiet site, not far to travel to Keswick and Cockermouth surrounded by beautiful countryside, good little shop on site. Good deal on price for the weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing