We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Self-catering holiday home cumbria
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Self-catering holiday home cumbria
Fully fitted kitchen with all utensils and equipment
Dining lounge area
Typical Twin Lounge
Typical twin room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lucycarl
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This site was one of the cleanest and most peaceful places we have ever stayed. The caravan was spotlessly clean and really spacious and well maintained. The caravan was also the most well equipped we have ever stayed in. It had tea towels, washing up liquid, bin bags, and every kitchen appliance needed (even a draining board which you never seem to get in caravans anywhere!). There was a children's play area in the field behind which had amazing views of the mountains and countryside. There was a lovely little shop with great local food and gifts at really reasonable prices and a bit where they had animals, including a lovely alpaca called Fidel. The site was so quiet at night and we got a great night's sleep. Although it's a bit off the beaten track, Cockermouth and Keswick are about 20 minutes away and Bassenthwaite lake, Dodd Wood and the MIrehouse are really close and definately worth a visit. It's about a 40 minute drive from there to places like Ambleside and Grasmere, but the drive through the mountains is breathtaking. This site is such good value for money. I would go there again definately.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: THe stunning countryside and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thank you. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, the Skiddaw View team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YorkDougl...
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful break in quiet country side.”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Easy to access, by road. Site well planned out for fit and able people.Not access able by train or bus or those who find walking difficult due to the steep paths and roads within the site.As usual with site shops eg milk etc was more expensive than your average corner shop.Surrounds of the holiday static caravans need a tidy,with rubble strewn around. Place mats in the dining area of the kitchen were "stuck together on arrival and had to be cleaned and wiped before use. The double bed in the main bedroom was .hard and the, occupants were drawn together in the centre by the unstable mattress! Ideal for a short break,but not for a lively family.My wife was recovering from an operation and walking was difficult eg from caravan to the shop. Shop is closed for two days even in the peak season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quietness and location
Liked least: Not able leave the car and use public transport.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newstuff1
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ms”
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Fabulous holiday accommodation. Caravan was spotless, site was lovely and in a beautiful location.

Large field for walking the dog (and kids)
Nice little park for kids
Shop is a great little amenity

I highly recommend this little gem in the Lakes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon. Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretronas
London England
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not Great”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I was really disappointed with this stay as my expectation were high after looking at videos and previous comments.

Firstly the van was not clean, we had to spend 2 hrs cleaning dog hairs out of each room which was really disgusting.

The shop opens when it feels like it and didn't stock milk? Seems a bit crazy?

I think having a van here in the far better 'private owners' area would be nice but the rental vans are sub standard reforms that, as mentioned, are not clean.

Most disappointingly I sent an email to Stay Lakeland Ltd which they to date have completely ignored. They have instead sent me auto-generated surveys to fill in - this isn't customer service.

My advice - only stay here if dog hair is your cup of tea.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We hold cleanliness of utmost importance – as you can see from virtually all of the other reviews left by previous guests. We will be looking into the cleaning prior to your visit.
The shop opening hours are clearly displayed on the entrance to the shop (8:30-11:30 and 3:30-6:30 – Thursday to Monday). In regard to the milk, we do stock milk in the shop. We did open the shop on Wednesday during the half term week (a day we don't normally open) thus our next milk delivery was not due until the next morning.
Finally, having searched through the email we cannot find any correspondence from you in regard to this booking.
Again we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaybel72
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Great 4 days spent in the Lakes. Caravan was spotless and very dog friendly. Loved the fact that they had left a basket with bowls, towels, poo bags and chews for our dogs. Great onsite field for dog walking - the alpaca and goats in the next field were cheery wee souls! Site is great base for touring. We enjoyed a day to St Bees beach and a day down to Ambleside for a boat trip. Also very handy for Keswick!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diannet12...
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Skiddaw view holiday park ......PET FRIENDLY SITE .Amazing views.”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
6
people found this review helpful

Just back from a very very last minute 4 night break( booked on the day of arrival) stayed in maple lodge the view was amazing . Very dog friendly received a dog welcome pack with feeding bowls towel blanket poop bags and a treat for the dog . Also a great information card telling me what places I could take the dog for some food . The girl in the shop was really nice and friendly .shop is very well stocked.
Great to see more parks are becoming pet friendly.......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view was amazing nice and quiet
Liked least: No wifi in accommodation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
breconbea...
england
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 16 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just spent a week here and what a great week we had totally chilled out.We were in the doby lodge which was really comfortable and modern.the staff could not do enough for you very helpful.we took the dog with us and he loved all the walks and on site there was a dog field which was great.the shop on site had all the basic stuff you needed.they also provided a dog pack which had a blanket rug chewie stick bowls ect what a nice touchand free.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Area was great
Liked least: Nothing I can think off
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing