We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another fantastic holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rowans Lodge

Front of the lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of the lodge
Lounge View from the decking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Front of the lodge
Lounge
View from the decking
Lounge
Kitchen and dining area
Double bedroom
Kitchen
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bassenthwaite, Keswick, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jeffersk
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our third visit, the site and accommodation was excellent, the site shop was well stocked and competitively priced. The weather during our stay was exceptional. We would have no hesitation in recommending the site, and will be returning next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us this past week at Rowans Lodge – the weather was indeed incredible! Hopefully we do see you again soon. Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
328jillia...
Berkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ever”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The site was superbly kept, the accommodation (Rowans Lodge) perfect, the area wonderful for touring the Lakes, everything we could have wished for was provided and even a packet of dog treats for our dog! In over 50 years of renting holiday accommodation this was the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Skiddaw View Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
john_wadd...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge very clean lovely views dog friendly”
Reviewed 25 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to find a dog welcome pack of towels dishes 2 blankets and dog treats, The overall layout of the lodge was very nice and was and welcoming with a lovely decked varanda with furniture and a super view of the mountains,We will definitely be booking it again very soon,ideal break if you like a lovely relaxing holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: No hairdryer which was ok because we brought one with us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoystonBl...
Runcorn
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Outstanding Lodge”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just had a lovely weeks holiday in the Rowans Lodge at Skiddaw Holiday Park.
Usually we stay in the Maple Tree Lodge, but this time it was occupied.
The Rowans is equally as good!
Clean, bright , tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
Would strongly recommend the owners swop the dishwasher for a washer drying machine though!
Would stay here again, and would recommend both the Lodge and the Park to everyone.
4th time on the Park -never had a bad holiday yet.
Had our two dogs with us too and I am sure they enjoyed it too!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike about this Lodge
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jaynevt
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Had a lovely time.Accomodation great.Peaceful and quiet.Couldn't ask for a better holiday.Thanks to all concerned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and view
Liked least: No internet unless u went down to the reception area.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray319
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Quiet and relaxing site"”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this site, the site itself is great for a relaxing stay. We used it as a base to reach parts of the Lake District that are a little too far to travel to in a day. The one drawback for this site is there isn't a shop, So you need to make sure you take anything you need with you or pick it up when out and about in the towns. There's a great dog walking area at the top of the site; the views over the Solway Firth to Scotland and Bassenthwaite lake from the dog walk area are excellent. Fantastic sunsets to be viewed over there as well.
The lodge itself was well equipped with everything we needed, (Apart from having to buy a new tin opener!) :)
Rowans Lodge was quite comfortable, the TV and DVD player were modern, the TV was much bigger than you usually get in caravans and lodges.
The cooking facilities are really good; but unfortunately there wasn't much work top space for laying plates to serve food etc. The dining area was fine; four could sit round the table without too much trouble.
One thing that was a definite plus was the shower: the shower was fantastic, I think this was the best shower we have ever used, unbelievably powerful and the temperature of the water could be adjusted easily without going too hot then too cold.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The Shower
Liked least: Lack of work top space in the kitchen area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven L
Howden, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accommodation, best holiday we've ever had.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Great value for what we paid. It was good to go out every day walking and come back to a comfortable base. Nice to have a tv in the bedroomand to be able to have the gog with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing