We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, charming with excellent food and service.”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
Durham
Level Contributor
128 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Peaceful, charming with excellent food and service.”
Reviewed 16 May 2011

A perfect hotel to enjoy the Lake District from. We stayed one night and will be going back. The standard of service was excellent, the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and the bathroom big. We ate in the restauant and the food was really good, if you like nice food you will love this. Nice walks around the hotel if you want them. Not cheap but worth paying a little extra for.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rthern_belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    157
    49
    27
    15
See reviews for
100
285
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel in late April and enjoyed it very much. The staff are not intrusive at all, the room was lovely and we had an upgrade, the most comfortable bed and pillows made for a great night's sleep. Breakfast menu is wide with something for everyone and very satisfying. The hotel gardens are very pretty and well maintained although are probably at their best in the height of summer, when I expect they are beautiful. We didn't try the bistro as we preferred the restaurant and that menu was very varied. My fillet of Cumbrian beef attracted a supplement but it was only £3 and the fillet was absolutely delicious. As one other person has commented, I was surprised that coffee was an added extra after dinner, rather than an included item. We will definitely stay here again as the olde world charm is offset by the important modern touches of comfortable beds, warm rooms with good bathrooms, quality toiletries and double glazing to keep any noise to a minimum from the nearby road and the general bathroom facilities in the downstairs of the hotel for general use were of high quality and high standards of cleanliness all round. Quality of this standard isn't cheap but for a hotel of this grading, what would you expect?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frodshamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

The hotel continues to have high standards in all areas, including the gardens. The bistro is a welcome new feature with great ambience and imaginative menus, though prices are only a little cheaper than in the dining room when it's all added up.

Although it's quite an expensive hotel, I would gladly go back again.

Room Tip: Take a walk from the hotel over Sale Fell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnkayKnutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We recently spent the weekend at The Pheasant, from the time of our arrival until the time to leave the service was first class. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
Our room was very well appointed, with extremely comfortable beds and pillows, which can sometimes be a major problem in some hotels.
We dined in the bistro one night and on the other night we dined in the fine dining restaurant, both of which were superb experiences.
A quick summary of our weekend at the Pheasant. EXCELLENT in every way.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs-pie-bun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

This hotel is very good
We spent 3 nights on a mixture of business and pleasure and with two small dogs we could not have picked a better place to stay

The garden rooms are perfect-clean-well appointed very spacious and dog friendly

It is not the cheapest but that should not detract from the excellent service in all parts of the hotel

The weather during our stay was not kind- but the lounge and raging fire is a most comfortable place to relax and unwind

Breakfast choice was very good and served quickly
We ate in the Bistro- good service and more than adequate portions

Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the staff and although TV was defective-so what!

Book a stay here- you wont regret it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester Le Street
Level Contributor
167 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

With the prospect of a cold, dry, bright winter weekend we decided to treat ourselves to a last minute break at The Pheasant. On checking in we were delighted to find a very cosy, relaxing and friendly country inn which appeared as inviting as the website suggests, with efficient and professional staff.

While our room was just a standard one we thought it was lovely and did not regret paying the extra for a superior room. Our room (Derwent) was beautifully appointed and was pretty with a country cottage feel. In the bathroom there was a nice long bath and Molton Brown toiletries – perfect after a long walk on a cold winter’s day! We were particularly impressed to return from dinner to find classical music playing quietly from the radio in our room, the bedside lights switched on, towels changed, bins emptied etc. The small touches make a real difference to the experience.

We were drawn to The Pheasant by its excellent reputation for food and now we can see how well deserved this is. As soon as we were presented with delicious canapés while studying the menu’s in the lounge we knew that we were going to enjoy our dinner. All of the food was excellent and beautifully presented. Overall we thought that the meal was good value at £39.00 per person for four courses (some dishes that we had also came with a supplement) although for this price we did feel that coffee should have been included.

Breakfast was also excellent with delicious freshly squeezed orange juice and an amazing choice of cooked food. This had to be among the best Lake District breakfasts that we have had!

Unfortunately we were only able to stay for one night but we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and plan to return. We would certainly recommend The Pheasant to fellow lovers of the Lake District who are looking for good quality accommodation together with excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MFC17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

We didn't stay at the hotel but had a drink in the bar and meal in the Bistro. We love the location of the hotel and the inside, particularly the old style bar. Although the new Bistro is an improvement in terms of ambience compared with the old restaurant we were disappointed with the food which was overpriced for the quality. The childrens menu was excellent on paper, but my 10 year old son was served a very spicy pasta dish of adult proportions instead of what was indicated on the menu. We'll continue to visit for the bar, but won't bother with the Bistro again...

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco_Ferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,608 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
519 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,052 reviews
1.6 mi away
Embleton Spa Hotel
Embleton Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Embleton
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing