We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best in this region”
Review of The Pheasant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Pheasant Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bassenthwaite
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of best in this region”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is easily the best lunch in the Keswick area. I have not stayed in the hotel or eaten on an evening, so can't comment on that, but have eaten lunch on several occasions and it is consistently good. If it is warm, the garden is a lovely setting to eat. If not, the bar is the sort you rarely find these days, with an authentic feel. It is small though, with small tables, but now there is a more modern and airy bistro room (same menu). It is quite an upmarket place, with a calm and rural feel. Most recently we enjoyed excellent queenie scallops in gruyere sauce, fish cakes, linguini with crab and chilli. Twice cooked thick chips. Our daughter enjoyed plaice gujons and chips from children's menu. Fresh, more imaginative than bog standard pub menus, but without trying too hard to be 'modern'. They could maybe showcase more Cumbrian produce as do similar places of this kind in Cumbria ( George and Dragon, Clifton and Drunken Duck are comparable in a if you like those you will like this sort of way). We always enjoy it here though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fennelseed43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    156
    48
    26
    15
See reviews for
99
281
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kelbrook
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

the excellent reviews listed are well deserved. There were plenty of great little touches in the bedroom - biscuits, real coffee, the weather forecast for the following day, magazines, even a mini torch! This family owned gem is an excellent base for exploring and the bistro provides tastey fare for energetic travellers. The breakfast served in the restaurant was first class local fare. 2 lounges and a cosy bar to while away the hours. would def. recommend for a short break or long weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Loved the Pheasant Inn from the mid 1970's and it was so nostalgic to visit again after an absence of 35 years. Still as good as it was then. The bar and lounges are like stepping back to long ago and the well kept rear garden backs straight onto Grizedale Forest. Since the last visit a "bistro" has been added that is relatively modern but fits into the general feel of the hotel/inn quite well. The crab and salmon pasta dishes were excellent as was the service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulBerni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bassenthwaite, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Decided to take a party of 4 for a special meal. We were not disappointed as the service and the restaurant atmosphere were both excellent. The pre- meal canapes were delicious.
The meal was well balanced and of a high standard.
There were only 2 small issues,.... there was a small slither of plastic in one of the desserts and the was that the coffeee was rather watery.
Overall we were very pleased

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mc d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We booked in based on a friend's recommendation following a week of camping in the Lake District. Despite pitching up straight from the campsite in all our grubby glory, we were given a friendly welcome, and were even upgraded for no particular reason other than they said it was a quiet night so we might as well have a nicer room.

The food was excellent, the staff were friendly, and the place was beautiful. The complimentary day passes to the local spa were utterly wonderful and icing on the cake. The Pheasant has set a new benchmark for what we look for in a great inn and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maeve_os
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Had a meal here one evening. Went to the bar first as we were early and had a drink there - the bar area looks really old and dated and small so we were surprised by how modern and posh the restaurant was. The staff were very friendly and accommodating especially as we were dressed in our walking clothes ( we had been for a climb up Catsbells) with muddy boots and we thought they might turn us away but they were unfazed and welcomed us!

Food was quite pricey but well presented. We had a canapés selection first while we were waiting in bar area before going into restaurant and then had an amuse buche as well before our starter. Also offered bread twice which was unusual. Food was beautifully presented - my pork though was a bit dry and tasteless but my son said his duck was delicious. Vegetables were well cooked and lovely.

The meal is well worth it for special occasion.

Room Tip: Only had a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank orchidluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This fine old coaching Inn has plenty of character and good old-fashioned charm. We have visited for Bar meals over several years and have always found the staff pleasant, although this time some were not as fully knowledgeable about their craft as they should be, even in a country establishment. We usually eat in the Bar, but as this was a Bank Holiday Sunday this option was not available to us and we were directed into the Bistro. Despite the room being almost full, the service was good, if a little slow because of the number eating. When it arrived the food was well presented, tasty and of the highest culinary quality. I do have an objection to the use of roofing slates instead of plates. When the food from the kitchen is fresh and well prepared it simply does not need poncifying with fancy platters. But this is a trivial niggle compared with our overall enjoyment. Our experience over several occasions finds the venue consistently excellent in almost all respects. We are sorry for the recent reviewer who found their visit disappointing on what was clearly a bad day for them. On the contrary we found our visit again very pleasant indeed and we shall certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bennett003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bassenthwaite
1.2 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lake District, Keswick, Castle Inn Hotel
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
3.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
8.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant Inn

Property: The Pheasant Inn
Address: Bassenthwaite Lake, Bassenthwaite CA13 9YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bassenthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bassenthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pheasant Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the 17th century, this former haunt of the famous huntsman John Peel has been entertaining guests for the past 300 years in the traditional Cumbrian manner with stunning food and refreshment and good old fashioned values. With an abundance of unique period atmosphere and a sense of timelessness with the clever mix of luxurious, contemporary comforts provides The Pheasant a well deserved national and International reputation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Bassenthwaite
The Pheasant Inn Bassenthwaite/Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing